Humor logo

But Can A.I. Do This?

A list of distinctly human exploits

By Leslie WritesPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - August 2023
30
Image by Richard Riveiro from Pixabay

Artificial Intelligence is a hot topic. For industries it’s an asset that can get the job done faster and cheaper than any human can. For the workforce, it is a threat to our jobs, of course. Back when A.I. was only science fiction, we believed machines would take care of the dangerous, difficult, tedious and mundane jobs so that humanity could relax and spend more time creating. Sadly, this is not the case. A.I. has an increasing presence in the arts and entertainment industries while us humans continue to toil.

It's getting personal now that A.I. is writing content and screenplays. An actor’s likeness can be replicated on film and licensed for profit. Arts and entertainment are an essential form of human communication. It can comfort us, enlighten us, challenge and motivate us. When you use a machine to scour archives for relevant human works to synthesize into something that is technically new, but hollow and derivative, the result is just not the same.

I agree that for non-fiction articles, A.I. can be helpful for research and finding the perfect quotation, for example. I also admit to using A.I. for some of my cover art when there aren't any images available to match the picture in my mind and I lack the time and money to commission an artist to create it for me. Back when I had more time, I illustrated a couple of my own pieces and it was fun, but my talent in that area is limited.

"The real danger is not that computers will begin to think like men, but that men will begin to think like computers."

- Sydney J. Harris

For better or worse, A.I. is here to stay. But there are still a few things it can’t do. Here I've compiled a cheeky list of distinctly human exploits for your amusement.

  • Have a story idea at an inconvenient time, forget it, then write a dorky little listicle instead. 🙂
  • Develop an actual Achilles’ heel that bleeds like a stuck pig whenever new shoes are introduced. High heels. Flats. Dr. Scholl's orthotics. It seriously doesn't matter. Them puppies gonna bleed!
  • Forget a person’s name immediately after learning it, carry on a friendship with them for months, refer to them as ‘big guy’ or ‘hey, stranger,’ finally pick up their name in conversation, but forget it again!
  • Sneeze and fart at the same time while wearing headphones in an open office environment, then hope to God that the sneeze was louder than the fart.
  • Hold a grudge against a kitchen appliance. I’m lookin’ at you, garbage disposal!
  • Have a strong opinion about mayonnaise and ranch dressing.
  • Have an irrational fear of balloons.
  • Become best friends with this bird by giving him lunch crumbs. Name him Otis, and convince yourself that he’s your faithful companion even though it’s probably a different bird every time.
  • Accidentally sit on a Junior Mint so it looks like you pooped your pants at a 2pm showing of Disney’s Haunted Mansion.
  • Experience the stress of finding gainful employment and the defeat of putting your passion on a shelf in order to survive late stage capitalism.
  • Commune with nature.
  • Have a good cry.

Take that, A.I.!

I’ve only scratched the surface here. If you can think of any other distinctly human abilities, please add them to the comments. I’d love to hear from you.

And if you enjoyed my take on A.I., you might enjoy my post-apocalyptic fiction that deals with exploiting creativity. It was my very first piece on Vocal. I wrote it for the Doomsday Diary Challenge, but it's still one of my favorites and I think it is still pretty relevant.

And if that’s too depressing, here’s a funny little micro-fiction about robots.

Thank you for reading!

JokesWitSarcasmHilariousGeneralFunny
30

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • The Invisible Writer9 months ago

    This was Hilarious 😆 Great article and you are right A.I. is here to stay for better or worse

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    AI doesn't need to be ill to do some of their best work 🤪

  • Davey Przybysz9 months ago

    I love this. A.I. probably never starts writing something, gets a back ache midway through the process, which the pain of the author bleeds through darkening the tone of the overall piece in a thought-provoking way which baffles critics for decades afterward as to why. Take that, ya T-1000-looking Sunny-D slurping Alex Mack motherboarder!

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    The bird one is way to accurate hahah

  • Hahahahahahahahahaha this was hilarious! Freaking awesomeeee!

  • Abdullah9 months ago

    Agreeed Boiiiiiiiiiiii!

  • Iris Harris9 months ago

    Yes! I agree. Stupid AI. 😂😂😂😂

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Loved it! so fun!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Sorry Leslie, AI has already taken us over. I bet they made you write this article not knowing u already in the matrix. 🤣. AI can't have tickle your funny bone.

  • Ha,Congratulations on your Top Story 🤩🎉💯🎊❤️😊🥰

  • Brin J.9 months ago

    I have a theory that a lot of movies that have recently come out the past few years were AI written, which is why no one is interested in watching movies nowadays. They feel so baseless, which is exactly the problem with AI; there's no depth, no emotion, no connection. But that's just my theory. My reason? My sister works as a Product Manager for a design company that revolves around the film industry. She says people throw the term AI around as a means to fill the holes or gaps in places they don't want to spend too much time working on or couldn't figure out themselves. A shame. I'm not entirely opposed to AI. I just hate how it's being used to replace imaginative and creative people, even though it lacks a lot of evocative and relatable elements. But yeah, anyway, good story. I absolutely love reading people's takes on AI products. If you write more, I'll likely read it and say something lol.

  • Lilly Cooper9 months ago

    AI can't taste test food and politely lie about how terrible it is 😆

  • Dana Crandell9 months ago

    Really a great read, Leslie! I wonder if A.I. ever instantly regrets having answered.

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    🤣🤣🤣Lol….. hmmm how bout change a poopy diaper on a toddler/alligator without injuring them or making a huge poopy mess?

  • Melissa Ingoldsby9 months ago

    Lol love this very well written and love this quote: The real danger is not that computers will begin to think like men, but that men will begin to think like computers." - Sydney J. Harris

  • Heather Lunsford9 months ago

    I doubt AI has ever walked into a room and immediately forgotten why,left the room and immediately remember why. Great story made me smile which for the record is something else AI has yet to do.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    😅 Great article that gives us hope that we can never be completely replaced. My two favorites from your 'cheeky' list were, wondering if the fart was louder than the sneeze, and realizing that it could be a different bird every time. Great stuff! And since you asked for input. A.I will never be able to throw you a surprise birthday party where you get to enjoy the family and friends who can never quite sing the bday song on key. Take that A.I...lol. Thanks again for the early morning humor, Leslie.

  • Omg, What a Great Turn around-😂❤️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.