Humor logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Carry On S1 E8 • The Good Word

Finney has a good night; Suchin concerns herself with finding files; Bartholomew shows himself approved

By Skyler SaundersPublished 12 months ago 5 min read
Carry On S1 E8 • The Good Word
Photo by Joel Rivera-Camacho on Unsplash

FADE IN

INT. FINNEY MASTER BEDROOM - NIGHT

INGRID moans with delight and lets out a laugh. It is not a laugh of mockery or derision but of supreme joy. She makes it soft and quiet but her body twitches and jerks. At last, she rests.

FINNEY has no sweat on his brow. He finishes and removes himself from the bed and enters the bathroom. INGRID still has a smile on her face and spasms of happiness. FINNEY returns to the bed.

INGRID

I’m amazed. Not surprised, but just…thank you.

FINNEY

By all means, madame.

INGRID

Want me to fix you a hot plate.

FINNEY

It’s too late, babe. Thanks for the offer, though.

INGRID [she leans over and kisses him]

Alright, well, good night, my black man.

INT. FINNEY’S OFFICE - DAY

FINNEY moves just as if last night had not occurred. He is wearing his Alpha’s without the jacket with his glistening gold leaf clusters on his collar. His exact haircut still looks fresh with the low fade and the waves. He shuffles through an index of all of the fallen Mariners who must be processed through his office.

SUCHIN enters and has a look on her face. She smells the air. She smiles.

SUCHIN

You’re wearing your Rak cologne. That can only mean one thing….

FINNEY

You know me all too well.

SUCHIN

At least some of us are getting some action. I struck out at the bar. Those broads don’t know what they’re missing.

FINNEY [switches gears]

No they certainly don’t. Hey, do you have the files for the order of decorations and awards?

SUCHIN

I do. Do you need them now?

FINNEY

As a matter of fact, I do.

SUCHIN

I get them right over, jefe.

SUCHIN walks out of the room as BARTHOLOMEW walks in the office.

BARTHOLOMEW

Good morning, ma’am. Good morning, sir.

SUCHIN looks at BARTHOLOMEW and keeps moving.

Lonnie.

BARTHOLOMEW puts a thumb and the air pointing at SUCHIN as he faces FINNEY. A smirk grows on his face.

BARTHOLOMEW

Back on a first name basis. Is she happy or sad?

FINNEY

With Captain Zhang, you never can tell. What do you have for me, Staff Sergeant?

BARTHOLOMEW

Right, sir. I have the full list of families that will be here for the arrival of the remains. Now, I didn’t hear back from four of the next of kin for the remainder of the Marines coming in on Friday.

FINNEY

She’s probably happy, despite things.

BARTHOLOMEW

Sir?

FINNEY

I’m talking about, Such- Captain Zhang. But yes, that’s good. Did you at least get all of the names in order for the right family?

BARTHOLOMEW

Yes, sir. I have a complete list of everyone that is associated with the deceased that matches the next of kin. All of them have been notated and are readily available for you, the chaplain, and the colonel.

FINNEY

Excellent work, Staff Sergeant. You’re about ready for a promotion now, huh?

BARTHOLOMEW

Sir?

FINNEY

C’mon, you heard me. You can pick up gunny really fast. Get in Captain Zhang’s good graces. She’ll write the letter of recommendation herself. Or I’ll do it.

BARTHOLOMEW [eagerly]

Would you?

BARTHOLOMEW [clears his throat, lowers his tone]

I mean, would that work, sir?

FINNEY

Sure. You’re doing excellent work over here. All you do is show up with an immaculate uniform and put in the work. I bet she was happy.

BARTHOLOMEW

Sir, if I may ask…is everything alright? You seem a bit more chipper….

FINNEY

Me? It’s nothing. I’m just acknowledging your great work and that I can confirm that Captain Zhang is showing her utmost respect for you by calling you by your first name. And don’t think it’s fraternization. As long as we keep our hands to ourselves and don’t speak to each other like we’re off the block, we’ll be fine. You’ll be fine.

BARTHOLOMEW’s eyes light up with that last line.

I appreciate that, sir.

FINNEY

My pleasure. I wouldn’t say it if I didn’t mean it.

BARTHOLOMEW

Roger that, sir.

BARTHOLOMEW exits. Then, the phone rings.

FINNEY [ looks at the caller ID and answers with a resigned tone. It’s the chaplain. FINNEY is an atheist but has a distinct respect for the Navy chaplain LIEUTENANT COLONEL GARY GRAYMAN who served in combat missions with FINNEY.]

FINNEY

Gary. Thank you for calling…I know we’re going to have more than we expected…well, I wouldn’t call myself a ‘praying’ man, sir.

GRAYMAN

I know. I know. I just wanted to let you know, you’re running a machine over there. I hear good things. I’m sorry about the inspection. The general is particular about her candies.

FINNEY

So you know about all of that?

GRAYMAN

I was the first person she told. She’s more of a Christian than I am in some respects. “Cleanliness next to Godliness….”

FINNEY [sighs slightly away from the phone and then puts it back to his face]

It’s going to be just that. Next time I’ll know, it’s not our records system, it’s not our uniforms. It’s the candies.

GRAYMAN [he laughs lightly]

Well, at least you know.

FINNEY [smiles]

That’s right.

GRAYMAN

I wanted to let you know that we’re going to start putting together multimedia packages for the families. They’re going to be able to add photos and videos from home, too. I think it will be a great look for what we’re doing.

FINNEY [brightening]

Yes. That should really work for what we’re trying to do to ensure that the loved ones know that we’re here for them.

GRAYMAN

Absolutely. If we continue down this path, I see stars in both of our futures. It’s nothing to say that we can’t be focused on our careers and still make sure the people we’re serving are comforted in their hour of need. It’s no one wonder that people are so touchy when it comes to the forces. Everyone blames us like we’re supposed to kill ourselves over there. It’s like we’re supposed to keep ourselves stifled to the dictates of whoever is over us. God is over us. I know you don’t say all of this. I’ll say it for you. God has all of this under control and he’s going to change your heart one day, Doug.

FINNEY

I don’t see that happening, but thanks for the good word.

GRAYMAN

Anytime. That’s all I wanted. Go with God.

FINNEY

I’m getting off this phone.

FADE OUT

HilariousFunnyComedyWriting

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have a wide audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Ignacio Davies 12 months ago

    Great tekst

Skyler SaundersWritten by Skyler Saunders

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.