Humor logo

A comic incident between the judge and the criminal

Donut Doppelgänger Defense

By Barnabas PayamPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
A comic incident between the judge and the criminal
Photo by Isabella Fischer on Unsplash

Judge: (Bangs gavel) Order! Order in the court! We will now proceed with the case of the People versus Mr. John Smith. Mr. Smith, you are charged with stealing a dozen donuts from the local bakery. How do you plead?

Mr. Smith: Your Honor, I plead not guilty. I swear I didn't lay a finger on those donuts!

Judge: Very well, Mr. Smith. We will hear your defense. But first, I have a question for you. Are you aware that there is security camera footage clearly showing you leaving the bakery with a box of donuts in your hand?

Mr. Smith: (Pauses) Your Honor, I... I must have been framed! Yes, that's it. It was someone who looked like me. My evil donut doppelgänger!

The courtroom erupts in laughter, with even the stoic judge cracking a smile.

Judge: (Chuckling) Mr. Smith, I must say, that's one of the most creative defenses I've heard in my career. But I assure you, we will get to the bottom of this. Bailiff, please bring in the security camera footage.

The bailiff plays the footage on the large screen for everyone to see. It clearly shows Mr. Smith walking out of the bakery with a box of donuts in his hand, looking around nervously.

Judge: (Still chuckling) Mr. Smith, it seems your evil donut doppelgänger was captured on camera wearing the exact same clothes as you and even shared your unique hairstyle. Quite a coincidence, wouldn't you say?

Mr. Smith: (Sheepishly) Well, Your Honor, perhaps it was just a really committed cosplayer or a long-lost twin I never knew about.

The courtroom bursts into laughter once again, with the judge struggling to maintain a stern expression.

Judge: Mr. Smith, I must admit, your explanations are becoming more entertaining by the minute. However, I think we've had enough fun for now. Let's proceed with the trial, shall we?

The courtroom quiets down, and the trial continues with a mix of seriousness and occasional lightheartedness. While the incident brought some laughter to the courtroom, the judge ensures that justice is served, ultimately deciding the fate of Mr. Smith based on the evidence presented.

By Ednilson Cardoso dos Santos on Unsplash

Judge: (Gazing sternly at the criminal) Mr. Johnson, you stand before this court accused of stealing 20 pounds of cheese from the local supermarket. How do you plead?

Criminal: (Nervously) Your Honor, I... I plead not guilty.

Judge: (Raises an eyebrow) Very well, Mr. Johnson. Let's proceed with the trial. But I must say, this is a rather cheesy case. (Chuckles)

Criminal: (Confused) Cheesy, Your Honor?

Judge: Oh, yes. Quite literally, Mr. Johnson. We've had cases of grand theft, burglary, and even fraud in this court, but stealing cheese? Now that's a first!

Criminal: (Smirks) Well, Your Honor, I guess I have a taste for the finer things in life.

Judge: (Laughs) Ah, so you're a connoisseur of cheese, I see. Perhaps you were preparing for a big wine and cheese party?

Criminal: (Playing along) Exactly, Your Honor! How did you know?

Judge: (Winking) I have my sources, Mr. Johnson. Now, let's get back to the serious matter at hand. We must determine your guilt or innocence.

Criminal: (Straight-faced) Your Honor, I believe it's important to remember that "when life gives you lemons, make lemonade." Similarly, when life gives you cheese, well, you make a grilled cheese sandwich!

Judge: (Chuckles) Mr. Johnson, I must say you have an interesting way of looking at things. However, let's focus on the law for now.

Criminal: (Smiling) Of course, Your Honor. I promise I won't let the situation become too cheesy.

Judge: (Laughs heartily) Well, Mr. Johnson, I appreciate your sense of humor. However, let's ensure justice is served and not let this case crumble like a weak cheese.

Criminal: (Nods) Absolutely, Your Honor. Let's get to the bottom of this, and I'm sure the truth will come out, just like the smell of a ripe Camembert.

Judge: (Chuckling) Very well, Mr. Johnson. Let the trial proceed, and may the best defense prevail.

And so, the courtroom filled with laughter, setting a light-hearted tone amidst the legal proceedings. Though the incident started with a cheesy twist, both the judge and the criminal maintained a respectful yet humorous atmosphere throughout the trial, keeping spirits high even in the face of a serious accusation.

JokesHilariousGeneralFunnyComedyWritingComedySpecialsComedyClubComedicTiming

About the Creator

Barnabas Payam

I write my writings humorously, poetically and artistically about the changes in the spiritual condition of human beings to live peacefully and cheerfully.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Barnabas PayamWritten by Barnabas Payam

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.