Humor logo

20 Minutes of Babble

Blame Judey

By Cathy holmesPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - July 2023
47
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

This is my attempt at an unofficial challenge shared by Judey Kalchick to write 100 thoughts in 20 minutes. I cannot guarantee that I will succeed, but I will give it my best Holmes effort.

Here is Judey's version:

  1. Let's go!
  2. How can I have 100 thoughts in 20 minutes when I have less than 100 brain cells?
  3. Does one thought equal one brain cell, or can I get a 2 for 1?
  4. Am I going off the rails already?
  5. Why do cats have teeth?
  6. Cats would be easier to deal with if they didn't have teeth, or claws for that matter?
  7. Will constantly back spacing to fix my spelling errors cause me to fail?
  8. Do I really give a shit?
  9. Why am I asking so many questions?
  10. Cats are assholes! Well, at least some of the time.
  11. I have a cat and dog on my mousepad.
  12. My mousepad is filthy. I think I need a new one.
  13. It's a beautiful sunny day today. I hope it doesn't get too hot though.
  14. I used to love summer when I was younger, but now I'm more a spring/fall type girl.
  15. What's your favourite season?
  16. Don't say summer or we can't be friends.
  17. Do you even want to be my friend?
  18. Paul should do this. He could do 100 thoughts about donuts. No problem.
  19. Actually, I think Heather mentioned donuts. You should read hers as well.
  20. No, I'm not wasting my 20 minutes trying to link Heather's entry. Look it up.
  21. Did you know my brothers tried to hang me?
  22. It's true. You can read about it in his interview with Heather.
  23. Look it up.
  24. I have family pictures all over my walls and they are waiting for me to fail.
  25. One quarter through, 8 minutes already.
  26. This is hard.
  27. Judey, what have you done to me?
  28. My brain is starting to hurt
  29. Little bitchy brain is calling me a failure already.
  30. I shall push through, with or without support from the useless walnut in my skull.
  31. How can I get this done faster.
  32. I really need to stop worrying about typos and edit later.
  33. I'm not sure if that allowed though.
  34. I'm getting hungry.
  35. I don't know why though, it's not that close to lunch.
  36. Maybe I need a donut. Right, Paul?
  37. The damn phone is ringing. That's not gonna help.
  38. Why do spiders have 8 eyes?
  39. Hold on. Maybe that's 8 legs.
  40. How many eyes to spiders have?
  41. I swear it's 8.
  42. Is anyone entering the Vocal awards?
  43. I'm considering it, but not sure.
  44. I need to get a drink, but I can't get up right now.
  45. Why am I so slow at this?
  46. I've given up on fixing typos.
  47. I don't even care if it's cheating to edit later.
  48. I want some chocolate.
  49. Actually screw that. I need a beer.
  50. I'm half way and have 5 minutes left.
  51. Epic failure.
  52. I think I'm too stressed.
  53. I'm also realizing all these thoughts are about the same.
  54. At least i think they are. I don't remember.
  55. What's my name?
  56. Officially 5 minutes left.
  57. I wonder what Abigail is up to now?
  58. She's too quiet.
  59. I hope she doesn't jump on the keyboard.
  60. I wish it was hockey season.
  61. I miss my Leafs, even though they're losers.
  62. I guess I shouldn't judge them two harshly since I'm about to be a loser on this challenge.
  63. Loser with a big fat L.
  64. Almost 2/3 done.
  65. One step closer.
  66. Okay. 2/3 done. What an accomplishment.
  67. Matthew was supposed to have a pic of an otter but he didn't post it.
  68. I love otters.
  69. I love all animals actually.
  70. I think I like animals more than most people.
  71. I have 30 to go and I am truly running out of brain cells.
  72. Not to mention running out of time.
  73. Remind me not to enter impossible challenges.
  74. Truly though, this is fun, even though I'm about to fail.
  75. 3/4 done and one minute left.
  76. Should I even bother to finish?
  77. Absolutely. I ain't no quitter.
  78. Just 22 more lines of utter nonsense.
  79. I don't even care if the math is wrong.
  80. Loud loser buzz!!
  81. I'm out of time.
  82. What is time anyway?
  83. Hold on! I just had a thought (miracle right?)
  84. What time zone was the person in who presented this challenge?
  85. Maybe I have another hour.
  86. Yeah, yeah I know 20 minutes is 20 minutes.
  87. But what is a minute?
  88. If you say 60 seconds, I'm gonna just....
  89. Never mind. I don't know what I'm gonna do.
  90. Ten more thoughts to go.
  91. Possibly less than 10 remaining brain cells.
  92. There's a warning light flashing in my brain.
  93. "Stop thinking Cathy, or we'll initiate shutdown protocols."
  94. Okay, I've officially gone off the rails.
  95. Was I ever actually on the rails?
  96. If I was on the rails, wouldn't I get run over by the train?
  97. That sounds pretty dangerous. Maybe I'm best off staying away from the rails.
  98. 2 more thoughts after this. I ran out of time 4 minutes ago, but what the heck.
  99. I'm think my brain has officially given up.
  100. You'll be glad to know, I'm finally done!

GeneralWitFunny
47

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (38)

Sign in to comment
  • Raihana H.10 months ago

    It was fun to read and was definitely funny! So many random thoughts because of the pressure! Glad you were off the rails or else you would have been run over. Not a bad thing!😂

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨10 months ago

    This was really entertaining to read!!! Thank you for sharing ❤️

  • J. S. Wade10 months ago

    Haha. 😂 congratulations 🥇

  • Colleen Millsteed 10 months ago

    Hahahaha you did this well (but then that shouldn’t be a surprise). Love it and congratulations on top story.

  • Yayyyyy this got a Top Story! Congratulations! Let's hang....out 🤣🤣🤣

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    Very cute I love the donut thoughts lol and cat question! Love it lol well done

  • Heather Lunsford10 months ago

    I am loving these thought experiments, yours is a treat. My favorite season is always the next one. I have such a short attention span that I am always excited about the season changing and then as soon as it does I'm bored and want the next one to come. So I guess Summer is my favorite about a quarter of the time.

  • lol...this is precisely why you are so adored. Congrats, ,my friend

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Yes! Congrats on Top Story, my friend! 🤗❤️

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    What's this? Another Top Story from Cathy? LOL Well done, my friend!

  • LC Minniti10 months ago

    Quite humorous!! Gave me a chuckle

  • Thavien Yliaster10 months ago

    Yup, this was more clear and straight to the point than mine were. That's for certain.

  • I'm having a blast reading the challenge attempts and accomplishments. My favorite one: "Stop thinking Cathy, or we'll initiate shutdown protocols." LOL. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    WTH? I never commented on this? Ah well, here it is...you're funny and witty and just one of my favorite people :) This was a blast!! Congratulations on Top Story, Queen!!

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    Yay - congratulations on the Top Story Cathy!

  • Oneg In The Arctic10 months ago

    These are really entertaining cause everyone’s like HOW WILL I DO THIS?? Congrats on TS 😄

  • Congratulations on your Top Story💯💖🎉🎉📝

  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Great fun. Congrats

  • Matthew Fromm10 months ago

    If I may be allowed to take the stand on point 67, my entry of this challenge was supposed to have an otter at the end, which apparently didn't upload. Then, I was unable to edit it in for reasons of automagical failure of the quick edit. I have repented for this sin by including a cute otter video in the comments...Great work as always Cathy! https://vocal.media/humor/100-things-in-20-minutes-challenge-ct2sb0lqp

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Ah, finally, buddy! a very well-deserved Top Story!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    Go Cathy! Fun stuff!

  • I like animals more than people too! I like fall and yes of course I wanna be friends! We can hang together. Lol, see what I did there 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    You are so funny. With you on 16. I hate summer. Although my skin is moisturized. I’ve got to go find Heather’s. I might give this a go tomorrow.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    OMG, this is awesome! And now, be honest! Abigail helped, didn't she? More seriously, I really enjoyed it. I'll probably give it a try!

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    This was hilarious! I hate summer too. Autumn is my favorite, then winter, then spring. Summer is the absolute worst. I’m definitely entering the Vocal awards, in multiple categories.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.