Humans logo

What Is The Best Advice For Singles On Relationships?

They say hindsight is 20/20 when it comes to dating advice for singles. In my life, it has undoubtedly been the case. By God's grace, I've picked up a lot of knowledge about love and relationships along the road.

By NizolePublished about a year ago 10 min read
Like

However, just as looking back may teach us a lot about life and love, so can other people's experiences.

We may develop and learn from the knowledge of others as well as from their blunders.

We may choose to adopt the strategies that have helped others achieve and eschew the difficulties that have hindered them.

Thanks to the importance of great mentors in my life, I have learnt so much truth and have been spared so much suffering. Mentors who have welcomed me into their hearts, let me a front-row seat in their life, and provided me with guidance along the road.

ADVICE FOR SINGLES ON RELATIONSHIPS

The other night while I was lying in bed, I considered the advice I would give my single self on relationships that I now know. And I'd be delighted to discuss some of those ideas with you.

UNTIL YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE, YOU CANNOT KNOW WHAT YOU NEED IN A RELATIONSHIP.

On my list, this is unquestionably first. It's simple to get caught up in the search for the ideal partner and lose yourself in it. Spend some time getting to know yourself so that you can determine the kind of people that will and won't fit well into your life.

Just because someone pursues you doesn't always mean they are doing you any favors.

I am aware that this is not the usual relationship counsel. Everybody wants to be loved, pursued, and desired. However, there are instances when we give in to that need and let connections into our lives that are neither healthy nor positive. I made that error much too often, and I ultimately paid with my heart.

IF IT IS OBVIOUSLY NOT WORKING, DON'T TRY TO MAKE IT WORK.

Sometimes, despite the fact that we are aware of how tough and convoluted a relationship is, we still attempt to push it. When we need to be establishing limits, we instead find excuses. Instead of letting things fall into place naturally, we strive to force it into position. As a result, we end ourselves pushing constantly afterwards. However, good relationships require the room to develop spontaneously, gradually, and without pressure.

DO NOT ACCEPT A ONE-WAY RELATIONSHIP.

In several of my previous relationships, I gave much too much while placing way too little value on them. Don't commit that error. Relationships are like living plants, I say in my most recent book, Love in Every Season; offer too little and the connection dies. However, if you offer too much, the relationship WILL be destroyed. Finding the ideal balance is the key. In order to be healthy, partnerships must include equal amounts of giving and taking.

PRESENT THEM WITH YOUR ORIGINAL SELF.

You'll attract someone who falls in love with the false version of you if you pretend to be someone you're not. Don't pretend to be someone you're not out of fear of being rejected. Find a partner that values you for who you are.

DO NOT BELIEVE IN YOUR TIMELINE.

When I was alone myself, seeing the hours pass by was like watching sand trickle between my fingers. I had the impression that time was running out and that I was running late. It's too late to locate the proper partner, build a family, or have children. I was too late to do what I wanted to. My internal clock, though, was off.

I began to distrust God's timing because I placed so much faith in mine.

In the end, I know how mistaken I truly was since, if anything, my marriage would not be what it is today. And I wouldn't exchange my current situation for anything.

INVITE REJECTION.

Oh my my, did it sting when those men turned me down because they didn't like me as much as I liked them. Rejection hurts; that much is certain. But altering your viewpoint about it has a profound impact on everything. Recognizing rejection as a closed door encourages you to go for the open ones. And looking back, I will always be appreciative of those closed doors because they helped me find the guy God had planned for me.

TAKE FRIENDSHIP SERIOUSLY.

Don't let others frighten you away from the friendship stage; choosing friendship for a season won't lead you to lose pals. In actuality, friendship is such an essential base upon which to construct a relationship. Develop a relationship first because the finest marriages are when you marry your best friend.

NOT EVERYONE YOU'RE PHYSICALLY ATTRACTIVE TO IS RIGHT FOR YOU JUST BECAUSE YOU'RE ATTRACTIVE TO THEM.

Physical appeal may be deceitful, so don't rely your dating decisions on how physically attracted you are to someone. It's crucial to keep in mind that although physical attraction is significant, it is just one aspect of attraction. In order to have a successful relationship, look for someone to whom you are also cognitively, emotionally, and spiritually attracted.

DON'T DELAY LIVING.

Spend less time thinking that your life will begin after you get married, have a family, or have children since life is occurring right now. Because you only have today to be certain of, you cannot promise tomorrow. In order to live abundantly in the present, learn to live each day to the best of your abilities.

ONLY IN A RELATIONSHIP WILL YOU FEEL AS COMPLETE AS YOU DO WHEN STANDING ALONE.

I think that would be the most significant relationship advise I could provide. Therefore, be sure to start working on healing now. Get control of your identity, deal with your previous baggage, and pray for God to give you a vision for the future. You will benefit from your current efforts to become full and healthy later on in your relationships. Being the finest version of yourself is never in vain. Advice On Relationships For Singles

They say hindsight is 20/20 when it comes to dating advice for singles. In my life, it has undoubtedly been the case. By God's grace, I've picked up a lot of knowledge about love and relationships along the road.

However, just as looking back may teach us a lot about life and love, so can other people's experiences.

We may develop and learn from the knowledge of others as well as from their blunders.

We may choose to adopt the strategies that have helped others achieve and eschew the difficulties that have hindered them.

Thanks to the importance of great mentors in my life, I have learnt so much truth and have been spared so much suffering. Mentors who have welcomed me into their hearts, let me a front-row seat in their life, and provided me with guidance along the road.

ADVICE FOR SINGLES ON RELATIONSHIPS

The other night while I was lying in bed, I considered the advice I would give my single self on relationships that I now know. And I'd be delighted to discuss some of those ideas with you.

Before you know who you are, you can't know what you need in a relationship.

On my list, this is unquestionably first. It's simple to get caught up in the search for the ideal partner and lose yourself in it. Spend some time getting to know yourself so that you can determine the kind of people that will and won't fit well into your life.

Just because someone is interested in you doesn't always imply they are right for you.

I am aware that this is not the usual relationship counsel. Everybody wants to be loved, pursued, and desired. However, there are instances when we give in to that need and let connections into our lives that are neither healthy nor positive. I made that error much too often, and I ultimately paid with my heart.

When something is plainly not functioning, don't attempt to make it work.

Sometimes, despite the fact that we are aware of how tough and convoluted a relationship is, we still attempt to push it. When we need to be establishing limits, we instead find excuses. Instead of letting things fall into place naturally, we strive to force it into position. As a result, we end ourselves pushing constantly afterwards. However, good relationships require the room to develop spontaneously, gradually, and without pressure.

Don't accept a one-sided relationship as normal.

In several of my previous relationships, I gave much too much while placing way too little value on them. Don't commit that error. Relationships are like living plants, I say in my most recent book, Love in Every Season; offer too little and the connection dies. However, if you offer too much, the relationship WILL be destroyed. Finding the ideal balance is the key. In order to be healthy, partnerships must include equal amounts of giving and taking.

You should present your true self to them.

You'll attract someone who falls in love with the false version of you if you pretend to be someone you're not. Don't pretend to be someone you're not out of fear of being rejected. Find a partner that values you for who you are.

Your timeline is not reliable.

When I was alone myself, seeing the hours pass by was like watching sand trickle between my fingers. I had the impression that time was running out and that I was running late. It's too late to meet the proper partner, begin a family, and bear children. I was too late to do what I wanted to. My internal clock, though, was off.

5 Expert Tips To Keep In Mind If You've Been Single Forever

I've been single for a long, so I'm accustomed to people attempting to make me feel better. I sometimes feel depressed about not being in a relationship, so I've probably heard pretty about all of the conventional advice for single people. From "you'll meet someone when you stop searching" and "you should let them pursue you," to "you simply haven't found someone who is good enough for you," I've heard it everything. For whatever reason, other single people love to offer me dating advise, so a lot of material comes from them without my asking. Despite the fact that I'm sure it's well-intentioned, I personally prefer to hear it from an expert.

In order to get their best dating advise for folks who have been alone for a while, I spoke with four relationship gurus. As it turns out, you may occasionally improve your odds of meeting an outstanding person by doing the simplest possible step. You may expose yourself to new individuals and more opportunities by stepping outside of your comfort zone and taking risks you wouldn't ordinarily. Even seemingly little actions have a major impact. Here are five sage expert advice items to bear in mind if it seems like you've been alone forever.

1. Be Accessible

Paying attention to what is going on around you is the first thing you can do to increase your chances of discovering someone. Bridgette Hall, Matchmaker at Three Day Rule, says, "Put down your phone, take off your headphones, and chat to others." "You could meet someone new, go on a date, or both. You may need to psychologically prepare yourself, but it will be worthwhile." A simple grin in their way may persuade them to approach you, even if you're too bashful to do so yourself.

2. Remain Open-Minded

There's a good chance that a sizable pool of candidates is standing outside your front door. Do not thus smash it in their faces only because they are not the "proper" height or earn insufficient amounts of money. Try dating folks who aren't in your typical demographic, advises Hall. Go out with someone who doesn't quite suit your "checklist" or, even better, go without it and allow everyone an opportunity to surpass your expectations. Dating apps are useful for weeding out weirdos, but if your hesitation is based on anything trivial, just swipe right. You have everything to gain and nothing to lose.

3. Reduce Stress

Although dating might be unpleasant, try to concentrate on the enjoyable parts. Keep your cool if you're looking for love, advises relationship therapist and co-founder of The Modern Love Box Alysha Jeney. "Remind yourself that you are healthy, and try not to put yourself under too much strain. Make the most of your chance to develop your identity and your sense of self while you are single." The proverb "good things come to those who wait" has some merit.

4. Make an Effort

But don't simply sit there. You should be out on dates and meeting new people if you don't want to remain single. "Do what you like if being single makes you happy. You have to put effort into dating if you want to find love. What you put in, you get out "Evan Marc Katz, a dating expert and the author of Believe In Love It's quite improbable that you'll stumble onto a satisfying relationship. It takes effort to achieve.

5. Enjoy Your Alone Time.

Finally, avoid entering a relationship too quickly or for the wrong reasons. Being alone is preferable than being miserable with someone else. While you're single, date individuals for enjoyment, self-discovery, and growth, advises matchmaker and dating and relationship coach Julia Bekker. "Till you discover what you're searching for, explore your possibilities. Remember, every poor decision will eventually lead you to the right one."

how tolovefriendshipdatingbreakupsadvice
Like

About the Creator

Nizole

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.