Humans logo

The Strands of my Identity

How the knots have unfurled through the journey of the years!

By Novel AllenPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Top Story - November 2023
50
Novel creation

There was a time long ago

when I may have been born innocent and pure

Such a long time ago in that space within an

alternate universe it seems

When a writhing tiny speck of humanity appeared

pushing its way out of the safety and warmth

Of the amniotic fluid of my mother's womb

Christian Bowen - Unsplash

Such was this beautiful miraculous thing

how was i to know that the beauty would not last

thrusting itself into this vast nothingness of seething bitumen

of humanity

From that ominous moment of the severing of the umbilical cord

i felt the cold hands of a cruel destiny take a grip of my soul

Even then I had known that this farce of an existence

would be driven upon a harsh, evil and unfeeling pathway

Yes, the road has been paved with misery, hardship, pain and loss

twisted at every turn by the tentacles which sought to choke and control

Through the forests, thickets, jungles, traps and snares

i have fought and clawed, ripped the guts out of myself and you

Allowing nothing to stand in my way, a determination to show life

that I would not be beat, controlled or be dictated to

Oh, it has taken a physical toll upon my body and soul

body pays the price in pain, loneliness and isolation

Sometimes self-inflicted, sometimes without a choice

but, I have overcome, I have arrived at myself

Now please don't judge me if my ego swells beyond pride of self

to yet assume that the world seems beneath my consideration

As it mocks and jeers at my audacity and feigned bravado

I now exist solely within the space of my own choosing

or so I tell myself with great audacity

I care not what the quaking world thinks, I am master of my ship

The universe may stop my heartbeat at a finger's snap

but I am ready, let it now do its worse

For I have won, you see

by the obstinate nature of my will......I am still here

Have I evolved into a dark queenliness that makes me feel invincible

that I think somehow sets me apart from the banal and uninteresting.

I feel emboldened, primed, ready to move on to the next phase of me

without apology, explanation or a moment's regret or care

Identity!

Am I the best me that I will ever be right now?

From here is there nowhere else but up.

Death is but another step in my evolutionary process!

The next rung on the ladder is infinity!

Have I have become......life!!!!!!!!!!!

....................................................

Bliss of Identity

All Nature is taught in radiant ways to move,

All beings are in myself embraced.

O fiery boundless Heart of joy and love,

How art thou beating in a mortal’s breast !

It is Thy rapture flaming through my nerves

And all my cells and atoms thrill with Thee ;

My body thy vessel is and only serves

As a living wine-cup of Thy ecstasy.

I am a center of Thy golden light

And I its vast and vague circumference,

Thou art my soul great, luminous and white

And Thine my mind and will and glowing sense.

Thy spirit’s infinite breath I feel in me;

My life is a throb of Thy eternity.

By Sri Aurobindo

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Revelation

No more my heart shall sob or grieve.

My days and nights dissolve in God’s own Light.

Above the toil of life my soul

Is a Bird of Fire winging the Infinite.

I have known the One and His secret Play,

And passed beyond the sea of Ignorance Dream.

In tune with Him, I sport and sing;

I own the golden Eye of the Supreme.

Drunk deep of Immortality,

I am the root and boughs of a teeming vast.

My Form I have known and realised.

The Supreme and I are one; all we outlast.

From ‘My Flute’ by Sri Chinmoy.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

humanity
50

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (32)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is just beautiful. Congrats on the TS.

  • Sid Aaron Hirji5 months ago

    Wow true self actualization in this

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    Beautifully done, I see why it got TS 😁

  • Durga Chikh5 months ago

    well done

  • Test5 months ago

    Stunning. I love the journey through, so well done and emotionally charged. I loved the line 'I am life' Just perfect. And the image you created is beautiful also! Super congratuations on Top story 🤍

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    Novel! This is G L O R I O U S! It stirred so much emotion in me that I was proclaiming each line as I read! Just stunning work here and massively inspiring! Loved every word, as well as the two additional pieces you included, and your images are stellar! 🙌🏽💫💞💫

  • Rene Peters5 months ago

    Beautifully written! Also, congrats on top story!

  • Spark to Shine5 months ago

    Great article! The author has done an excellent job of exploring the various strands that make up our identity and how they interconnect with each other. Keep up the good work!

  • Wonderful piece

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    Fabulous, this throbs with empowerment.

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    What an empowering and inspiring piece! I loved this from you :)

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Such an thrilling read full of honor, respect and celebration of the self. And I absolutely love the likeness of you on the throne in that photo. It displays beauty, power and confidence. 👏👏👏😍

  • Carol Townend5 months ago

    If a person could fit every emotional expression into writing about identity, this is it. You are powerful Novel, keep it going!

  • Umama Zahir 5 months ago

    Wow, that was beautiful.

  • Cyrus5 months ago

    Great job!

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Beautifully written & inspiring! I love your candor, authenticity and warrior spirit! Well done Novel well done.

  • Miss Shamim Akhtar5 months ago

    Insightful

  • Test5 months ago

    Exceptional effort! Keep up the remarkable work—congratulations!

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    Excellent. Congrats on your top story Novel! ☺️👏 Also I completely forgot to comment on that amazing image last time..it is intensely satisfying to look at - good one! 🎉🎉

  • JBaz5 months ago

    What a journey you took us on, holding nothing back. Congratulations

  • Kendall Defoe 5 months ago

    👍🏽

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Wow, this was intense... it was full of vivid imagery and vibrant insights! What a great take on the identity challenge!! Great work Novel and congrats on Top Story!!

  • Whoaaaa, this was so powerful! Such intensity! You did a great job with this!

  • May you find yourself "praus" in one particular usage of the ancient Greek: that of the racehorse. Not the meek, timid gentleness as we usually understand it (as in "the meek shall inherit the earth") but as one totally focused upon their true aim & striving with all their might to attain it (under the gracious guidance & encouragement of the one who directs them).

  • Catherine Nyomenda5 months ago

    This is intriguing. I stayed still while reading it, good work

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.