Humans logo

Dormant Desires

Unearthed

By Justin HigginsPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
Dormant Desires
Photo by Clémence Bergougnoux on Unsplash

“I love everything you do for me, but I want you to get help.”

These words were spoken to me by my best friend about five weeks before my life changed forever. I had known her since January 2016, but on March 6th, 2022, she decided that I needed some alone time to figure out who I was.

Since I was 12 years old, I have wanted a girlfriend. Reflecting on that desire, my reasoning was and still is for companionship – someone to talk to, confide in, appreciate, and love unconditionally. I did this all with my best friend and more. She helped me to be 100% comfortable with who I am. Starbucks, lunch dates, and two-hour phone conversations built an undeniable connection and trust between us. I love her more than I have ever loved anyone. She changed my life for the better and I will be forever grateful.

As a child, I was noticeably goofy and cheerful. Consequently, I was confident and fine with expressing myself with mischievous facial expressions and silly behavior. However, my identity began taking hits when I was confronted with the reality of this harsh world. Being told I was weird made me self-conscious. A girl once asked if I was gay because I was reserved around her. Multiple times I was asked, “Why do you look so angry?” Without realizing it, all these small putdowns combined into where I no longer believed in myself. In middle school, I experienced culture shock, and I no longer knew how to connect with my peers. By the time I graduated from high school in 2004, I was a shell of myself who cared too deeply about what others thought about me.

When I turned 18 years old, I desperately wanted to be my own person. But I had no idea where to start, so I went with what was my greatest desire. To have a girlfriend. This was when my identity took its greatest hit. I was obsessed with getting any girl to like me. So much so that I did not care who it was as long as they were petite, short, had a beautiful smile, and long hair. To my own detriment, I overlooked important concepts such as values and character, which are important when looking for a suitable partner. I never successfully got into a relationship during this period because any girl who started having regular conversations with me could sense my desperation, anxiousness, and clinginess. I was stuck in a cycle of 1) seeing a girl I wanted to like me 2) becoming friends 3) praising her to get her validation 4) getting rejected. The problem was that I never healed from the shame and hurt I internalized after each rejection. Therefore, I never gave myself the chance to slow down enough to understand why I behaved in this way.

March 6th, 2022, the day my best friend decided she needed a break from me, is my day of infamy. Because I had formed a true connection with her it was the greatest hurt, I had ever experienced. This too was the wounding I needed to finally experience an identity shift in a positive direction. For the first time in my life, I was able to reflect and process why I behaved the way I did, and I was overcome by what I found.

I genuinely hated myself. I was introverted, quiet, sensitive, romantic, and introspective, and I did not understand how these qualities had ever benefited me. Additionally, I labeled myself as angry and weird because that is what others had called me only confirming the self-fulfilling prophecy. I too was insecure because I was told who I was and what I enjoyed was fundamentally wrong, so I wanted others to tell me what to like to be confident.

Little by little, I began implementing strategies to help overcome the hate I had for myself. It started with admitting that I needed to go to therapy to work out my issues. I placed meaningful quotes around my room that reminded me who I was, was enough. I began to seek out friendships where I was fully accepted. Where I did not need to hide the most vulnerable parts of myself. I began to see what I loved for my own enjoyment. This simple, but brave excursion unearthed dormant parts of myself. For the first time ever, I saw my ability to love others fully, positively. I uncovered my creative side to see that I enjoy poetry, storytelling, and making collages about who I am. I noticed how deeply I am touched by music, love, and genuine connection. I fell in love with myself.

singlelovehumanityfriendshipbreakups

About the Creator

Justin Higgins

Hey everyone!!! I’m looking forward to being inspired. I have always enjoyed the creative aspect of writing but only recently over the past two years have a seriously started engaging in it. I write short stories & poetry.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Rowan Finley 8 months ago

    Justin, you're such a beautiful, amazing, smart, strong, person. I can tell so much by reading this. Thank you for sharing your personal experience here through this piece. You truly are a gem!

  • Sid Aaron Hirji8 months ago

    Self love is such a harsh journey at times but is the most important one. I'm glad you had someone to get you set away on that journey

  • Phil Flannery8 months ago

    I's difficult to be an introvert and an artist in this noisy aggressive world. Fighting against it can turn us into people we shouldn't be; angry, reclusive, scared. It sounds like you found this out early. Now you know your true self, I hope you can live your true life.

Justin HigginsWritten by Justin Higgins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.