Humans logo

Becoming Vocal - introducing myself as a creative.

Just a hello and an explanation as to why I’m here on vocal.

By Heather TaylorPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
1
Getting Outside

Well hello,

First things first, who am I? I’m Heather, a newly 30Something from a small town, currently living in an even smaller village, in England, I’m a dog mum and a fiancée, I work in hospitality, I’m a daughter, a sister, an auntie and a friend but so much more!

My daily life includes my part-time job, after working full-time for a long time and an industry change, my time spent with my dog, cosy gaming, with The Sims 4 and Animal Crossing, making meals (although my partner is definitely the chef in our household), trying to get outside, again, usually with my dog, an 8 year old Chocolate Labrador, named Tommy, watching various gaming, lifestyle and vlog channels on YouTube and occasionally an event or exploring with my friends or partner.

Something that is obviously less common, but that I enjoy and honestly love for, is, travelling, long and short term, I enjoy the UK and long weekends around here but have also spent time abroad, from Italy, to Norway, to Australia and a few other wonderful countries.

As for the UK, Cornwall is a huge favourite for holidays, my partner and I both grew up going there and are next there in early June, which I definitely plan to write about and review and share, there are lots of places we have in mind, such as restaurants, dog-friendly days out, walks and anything we discover or revisit this time around.

Tommy, exploring as always

Since Covid, my partner and I don’t have in date passports, but one place we plan to go, once we do, is Japan, all the food, all the shops, all the fashion, all the temples, it’s just such a fascinating place and we both have a major pull to go there one day soon.

We also plan to move out of our rented home and buy soon, I do have many mixed emotions about the housing market and I’ll definitely share the moving process and lessons that I learn throughout that.

By Michal Balog on Unsplash

I’ve had so many mixed experiences, from injury, to school drama, to self-harm and developing depression and anxiety, to travelling for months at a time, to live events and meeting some of the best people in my life. As with many, my journey has been crazy and definitely not linear.

Two of the biggest negatives that I’m ready to share are the loss of my dad, at 14, to suicide and the sudden loss of my grandad, while on holiday with him, at 17. I will go into these losses and my grief process and moving forward in more detail, at another point.

By Nick Fewings on Unsplash

I want to write about my six months in Australia, getting hired for a role in Portugal, my shorter travels in Italy, I want to write about being a Labrador mum, my relationship and friendships, my experiences at certain events, dealing with negative self talk and how I’m learning to develop self-love.

I want to build a community of others that have been through hard times and are overcoming them, I want to write about therapy and other resources that I’ve built up, including mindfulness and manifesting.

I want to share good times and bad times and everything in between, my writing will go between reviews, travel writing and hopefully helpful advice and thoughts with myself and readers in mind.

I specifically want to write and share my thoughts with like-minded people because I’m always looking for my people and I want to use my experiences, both good and bad to help people and give purpose to more parts of my life.

I’d love to get to know both writers and readers and I’ll definitely be back with more life stories very soon!!

Please stay tuned!!

H xx

travelreviewhumorfriendshipfamilyadvice
1

About the Creator

Heather Taylor

I’m Heather, I’m a writer, in that I love journaling, self-expression, self-discovery.

I write for myself usually but I’m looking to share some thoughts and ideas from my many, many, experiences, from travel to loss and all things in between

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.