Humans logo

A Road Trip With The Husband

Not much conversation, until I started to doze off!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 8 months ago 3 min read
3
A Road Trip With The Husband
Photo by Ethan Hoover on Unsplash

I plugged in the address on my phone.

He studied maps and would occasionally groan.

We used the GPS on my phone for a map,

and every chance I had, I took a nap.

~

Whoever drives picks the music.

I have not driven yet, oh slick!

Did I have that plan?

No, not me, no flim flam man!

~

As I start to doze I hear, “Another motorcycle!”

There are so many bikes and lots of bicycle.

“Start looking for a DQ!”

We are not eating DQ every day, you!

~

“I can’t look as I am driving.

What time will we be arriving?”

I knew you would drive all the way

when the driver picks the music. “Hey,

look at all those windmills!”

Changing the subject, I get the chills.

~

“Have you ever seen so many semi’s?”

Yes, I drove over the road. I give him the eyes!

“Just look at all those windmills!”

If we could stop for a minute, I would like some stills

of the windmills. “Sure, further up the road a bit.”

By Jurij Kenda on Unsplash

“Hey, I don’t see a DQ, will McDonalds do?” I hit

him on the shoulder. “It is 105 degrees and hardly any trees!"

“This place is huge, see if it is bigger than Minneapolis”

It is large and not as big as Minneapolis, but quite the metropolis.

~

“Does Iowa have the most windmills or Nebraska?”

Iowa is third in the nation, Nebraska 14, 15, or 16th, and Minnesota

is somewhere in between.

What else will I need to glean?

~

“There are more Dodge pickups than Ford, Chevy, and Toyota

all together. Count them for a bit and see if I am even close?” A

plan to keep me awake right? Now, what would be wrong with my

taking a nap? “Nothing! Am I keeping you up?” he says with a big sigh.

By Davis Patton on Unsplash

“It’s 104 and it’s 4:00! It should cool off soon right?”

Maybe not. It may not cool off much. And there is nothing in sight.

“How many farms here? All this land and nothing planted, no crop

no cattle. What a waste!” They get paid to not plant, don’t ask me — stop!

~

Trips with guys are so different than a trip with girlfriends.

The conversations are different, the food is different, friends

are considerate of each other in a way that the men in my life

have not been! I took some notes as a draft for this and as his wife

we both agreed it would be a while before our next trip due to strife!

JK

~

I love this guy all the time, no matter what he does.

He always finds a way to make me laugh! Just cause

he can also be a man, I can’t fault him for that.

Even though he sometimes acts like a brat!

~

100+ trips down for the record.

We survived not in accord

with my standards.

It was a trip with substandards.

But what can I expect with Iowa,

altitude sickness in Colorado, and then Nebraska.

Did I mention a truck down and a plane trip back to Minnesota?

~

Published first by Mercury Press in Medium

marriagetravellovehumor
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    Lol, I really enjoyed this! I liked how you made this into a fun poem!

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    very interesting read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.