Fiction logo

there's music out there

can you hear it?

By Oneg In The ArcticPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Snow Micro Challenge
Image taken by author

Have you heard the snow?

Drank its waters from the ice hole four feet deep?

There’s clarity to this element, gentleness in feather-falling flakes that drift effortlessly.

I anticipate the taste of each individual snowflake, as my tongue twists upwards to catch each one. The crunch of hardened snow beneath gives way in unpredictable moments unseen to the eye.

This is my walk to work, up snow banks and down snow drifts. Each step a boot imprint to show I was here.

Rabbit and fox tracks litter and skitter left and right. A dog whines and howls in the near distance. The stars sparkle brighter than the new satellite orbiting this tiny speck of a place.

Air huddles on my eyelashes, coating them with the finest frost. I blink rapidly so they don’t stick together; giggle at how I must look.

Upon inhaling, I can feel the pure air pierce my lungs with such a sharpness that I crave more and less instantaneously. It seeps into my bloodstream and invigorates my being. My organs work harder to heat up my body. My hands clench and release in sealskin mitts. I wiggle my toes in clunky boots. I move like the wind that scatters the snow. We are both trying to avoid freezing in stillness.

A raven donned in pitch black caws my arrival.

A symphony plays below my feet. With each step I think about how there are endless sounds to endless snowflakes. And I am grateful for this music.

Stream of ConsciousnessMicrofictionExcerpt

About the Creator

Oneg In The Arctic

A storyteller and poet of arctic adventures, good food, identity, mental health, and more.

Co-founder of Queer Vocal Voices

Some other rad writers to check out:

James ❄️ TheDaniWriter ❄️ Melissa

RiverJoy ❄️ J. Delaney-Howe ❄️

Water is Life ✊

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (25)

  • D.K. Shepard5 months ago

    Lovely orchestration of a beautiful imagery abundant piece!

  • Joe O’Connor5 months ago

    Loved reading this Oneg. You describe the scenery so well in this, and create some vivid imagery! “ I can feel the pure air pierce my lungs with such a sharpness that I crave more and less instantaneously.” is a brilliant line to show how the speaker is feeling in the snow. The raven line is a lovely contrast in both colour and tone as well. Nicely done 👏

  • Carly Bush5 months ago

    Congrats on your place as Runner-Up! This is a very good piece with incredibly unique language to describe the mundane: "My organs work harder to heat up my body. My hands clench and release in sealskin mitts." You placed me right there and sent a shiver of sympathy down my spine. Great work!

  • JBaz5 months ago

    I really enjoyed reading this. your take on the sounds of winter(snow) is beautiful

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    Lovely evocation of the snow. I was there with you, absorbing the sounds and the sights.

  • A. Lenae5 months ago

    Oh I love this snapshot of pure mindfulness and presence, one you're immediately nostalgic for. Stunning imagery. And using descriptors like "gentleness in feather-falling flakes" is just harmonious. Excellent story, and congratulations on placing!!

  • A. J. Schoenfeld5 months ago

    So beautifully descriptive. Congratulations!

  • Wooohooooo congratulations on your challenge win! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Congrats, Oneg! Excellent Micro! I guess it pays to live in the artic, literally. 🥇💖

  • Congratulations Oneg on placing in the Snow Micro challenge!!! Best wishes always!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Awesome! Congratulations on the runner up win!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Melissa Ingoldsby5 months ago

    Absolutely gorgeous my friend you deserve your win and placement!! Congratulations 🎊🎉🎈🍾

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Congrats, my friend.

  • Penny Fuller5 months ago

    You have such a talent for description, for evoking a sense of completely being in a single moment. I really love your writing.

  • Shirley Belk6 months ago

    Excellent Oneg!!!

  • Mariann Carroll6 months ago

    Love the imagery in this story, it’s almost like poetry 🥰

  • Kelsey Clarey6 months ago

    This is such a beautiful and vivid description! Great work!

  • Test6 months ago

    Absolutely beautiful imagery you brought about here Oneg. It is such an enchanting read.

  • Test6 months ago

    Stunning imagery and reall sense of sound and movement, just stunning Oneg -What a magical walk to work! 🤍

  • So am I, Oneg. So am I. When I was a kid, I loved breathing in the cold air so much that mom finally gave up on trying to make me quit sticking my nose right over the freezer chests in the supermarket to breathe it in.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad6 months ago

    This is very poetic with beautiful imagery. Nicely done.

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    I usually encounter black ice, dog waste (I hope it came from a dog) and too much salt. ;)

  • J. Delaney-Howe6 months ago

    Beautiful!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Beautifully descriptive and great entry for the challenge.

Oneg In The ArcticWritten by Oneg In The Arctic

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.