Fiction logo

A rat in the cage.

Telltale crimson trail: (a hypothetical continuation)

By Lamar WigginsPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
A rat in the cage.
Photo by Daniil Zameshaev on Unsplash

Written for the Telltale crimson trail by Ray Taylor. Part of his challenge is to write a micro fiction continuation in exactly 250 words for the story he started. Join in on the fun! Details below. If you haven't read his series, my entry will make little sense. Catch up here!

Part 1 Part 2 Part 3 Part 4 Part 5 Part 6

*********************************************************************

How the hell did she get in my place?

I never gave her a key. The quick and obvious answer was - she's a detective! If there's a will, there's a way.

"I heard you were taking the day off and thought you might want some company." she said with apparent sarcasm.

"It was chief Marrin's idea. You know I'm a workaholic. Even when I'm not in the office, my thoughts stay in overdrive."

"I was just kidding about keeping you company. I won't stay long. You do need some time away, but first, I have some developments in the case."

Leave it to Stevie to put me on the spot. I may be quick on my feet but thought I would have the whole day to cover my tracks by continuing to create an impenetrable story. Dealing with criminals all your life, you tend to pick up on the way they think. I was on both sides of the law; there was no turning back.

"We had an alleged witness call the office today, but her story is convoluted. She must be 80 years old, so I don't know how reliable this lead will be. I was hoping you could swing by her place with me on Monday to see if her details click for us. Also, the lab found traces of cocaine in the victim's pants pockets... You okay, John?"

All I could do was stare right through her! I needed more time than I had to process it all...

By Vadim Bogulov on Unsplash

MysteryMicrofiction

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (20)

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    I loveeee how this is being written by more than one author! Amazing ideas flowing on Vocal! Congrats Lamar!! Always a pleasure to read your work.

  • olymoolla4 months ago

    Your stat is challenging your story is so beautiful you write like this you will be a great writer I wish and yes one more thing please open my vocal id and a story come later

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Wel, I read yours, I love detective stories. I imagine you are a detective too, pk, I will read from the beginnng. Isn't that breaking and entering.....yep,,,I go to read the others. Congrats TS.

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!!

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Loved your mystery story!!!💕♥️♥️ Congratulations on Top Story!!!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    How wonderful - a top story! Congratulations and well done Lamar

  • Thanks for the links, Lamar. Marvelous continuation.

  • Mark Gagnon4 months ago

    I'm confused, but that's because I haven't read the previous segments yet. Seems like an interesting challenge.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    Interesting...

  • Daphsam4 months ago

    Very mysterious, you did a great job building the tension. 

  • ROCK 4 months ago

    I feel on edge; what's next from you? Well done Lamar!

  • Tiffany Gordon 4 months ago

    A very intriguing read! Nice work!!

  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    Wow this is brilliant Lamar. So glad you have joined in and you absolutely picked up on how Stevie came to be in the flat. Love that there is a witness and the cocaine traces are a real important consideration. This really feel like I am in the continuing story and wondering whether I should pick up this thread instead of mine to continue the story. Or perhaps you will??? Thanks for joining in.

  • I wonder what exactly that old lady saw or thought she saw. I need moreeeee! Don't leave me hanging!

  • Test4 months ago

    Outstanding work, Lamar!!!

  • Shirley Belk4 months ago

    I just thought Stevie had a thing for the other detective, John.

  • Alex H Mittelman 4 months ago

    I love detective stories! This is a decent beginning, or middle! I’ll have to check out the other stories!

  • Despite all my rage…

Lamar WigginsWritten by Lamar Wiggins

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.