Fiction logo

Boundaries

Saturday 22nd June, Story #174/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 6 days ago 3 min read
Boundaries
Photo by uday tadphale on Unsplash

I called Joe again yesterday while Adam was out with his mates. Joe's girlfriend answered. The prickly way Evie spoke told me she wasn't happy about me calling. I don't care. Adam and I have a son together. (Callum's four.) She can't stop us talking.

It felt so good to hear his voice. He never crosses the line, whether Evie's there or not. She usually is though. Sometimes I flirt, call his mind to the good times we shared. He doesn't reciprocate, but doesn't shut it down either. Maybe he enjoys the attention. Evie probably doesn't show him enough. I'm a good flirt. I do a good slow burn, easing up the heat and pushing the boundary softly, deliciously... By the time they realise what I'm doing, they're too hooked to stop me.

When Adam left today, I picked up the phone before the door shut.

"Hello?!" Evie's voice was snappish, cold.

"Oh. Hi," I keep my tone warm and pleasant. I'm not the bad guy here. "Is Joey there?"

There's a heavy pause. My casual Joey did it. Everyone calls him Joe, or Joseph.

"He is, actually. But he doesn't want to talk to you."

"Really?" I chuckle. "He's a big boy, he can tell me himself."

"That's the thing," she sounds shrill, "he can't. You can't keep talking like this, every day. You're not together anymore. He's with me now."

"We've a child together," I remind her.

"I know," she clears her throat, her next words sounding firmer. "Of course you need to speak about Callum. But we need boundaries. I've- umm, we've set up an email address. Anything about Callum, you use that. I'll text it to you, but then Jos- Joe will block your number."

I bristle.

"What if there's an emergency?"

"Then you can call me. I'll get the message to him right away."

"And if I can't reach you?" The sneer touched my voice.

"You still have his mother's number?" She sounds smug. I purse my lips. "Goodbye," she says.

What if there's an emergency?

I'm always nagging Callum to put his cars away. I fish one out, red, to match the carpet, and, humming, leave it on the stairs.

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count excluding note: 366

Submitted on Saturday 22nd June at 22.31

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 174 day streak since 1st January.

Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!

Rachel Deeming

Gerard DiLeo

Please do leave me a comment: I reciprocate as many as I can. Leaving a comment makes that easier.

Thank you!

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed!
😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +
+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

familyShort StoryMicrofiction

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • Gabriela Trofin-Tatár4 days ago

    Not fair! I mean, you have a kid together! omg.. the nerve of some people! unbelievable.

  • Novel Allen5 days ago

    Ah, so the ha'penny is you, i been attributing it to Hannah. The ex is worth poor Callum tripping down the stairs? He gone, embarrassing the self for an ex is a no no. Not worth his salt, i say.

  • Dana Crandell5 days ago

    Oh, my. That went dark in a hurry!

  • I used to know people like her. Reading this made me grateful that I no longer do.

  • Paul Stewart5 days ago

    Oh shi...this was really quite dark...subtle...like the way people like her work really. Could sound like you're making a fuss about nothing until it's too late. Superb writing, LC! It made me really angry at the end.

  • What a horror , reminds me of someone I used to know

  • Okay someone is gotta get Callum away from this crazyyyyyy psychotic woman!!

  • Caroline Craven6 days ago

    Holy bloody hell. She’s absolutely terrifying. Poor kid being used as a pawn. This was chillingly brilliant.

  • John Cox6 days ago

    This was convincingly and believably chilling on several levels. Very well written per always, LC!

  • Oof, this one made my blood hot for a second. The worst part is there are people who think like this and think it is alright.

  • Gerard DiLeo6 days ago

    Looks like she’s right.

  • Lana V Lynx6 days ago

    Oh my, that’s quite a narcissist right there, putting her own child in danger for an “emergency.”

  • Hannah Moore6 days ago

    Jesus, reckon they should have blocked this one sooner.

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.