Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Jerry's Tale

Friday 21st June, Story #173/366

By L.C. SchäferPublished 6 days ago 3 min read
Created with AI

It's like swimming at the bottom of a muddy lake. I can't think can't think can't think-

They say I can have a phone call. I don't respond. They think I'm being rude. I'm not. I'm just trying to think.

I reach out to pick up the phone and I'm confused to see a hand, not a paw. I dial slowly, and when She answers, I mumble where I am.

I hear her cold fury in the silence on the other end of the line. I hang my head, cringing. I hate it when she's mad. But I also like the simplicity of it. Like an arrow. Cutting through that muddy water.

She collects me. I think she pays money, or scribbles on paper. I'm happy to see her. I relax, smile. She smells nice. Some bit of me remembers I didn't get to finish with the last female because everyone was screaming and hitting me. I paw at her. She scowls and bats me away. People snigger.

At the car, I wait for her to let me in. When she doesn't, I try sinking my haunches to the tarmac. She hauls me up by the armpit with one hand, opens the door with the other, and shoves me inside.

"For god's sake Jerry!"

She drives. I scrabble at the window. Sighing, she winds it down for me. I put my head out and laugh, troubles forgotten.

At home, I feel better. Clearer. I'm on two legs. This is my house. I... I see the hard angles of her rage and I know I am supposed to do something to put it right, to make her soft again. I fight my way up through the muddy water and...

"Sorry."

"It's too late for that, Jerry." She's scowling, and I feel something sink, shrink. Something important. Inside.

"You're never, never! going to do that to a woman again. I'm making sure of it."

The ice in her tone is worse than shouting. Her fury makes her look taller, but no, she is taller, and growing and...

wait.

I look down at my paws, and when I scream, all that comes out is a whine.

"You're getting fixed."

+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

Word count excluding note: 366

Submitted on Friday 21st June at 21.35

*Quick Author's Note*

First, and most importantly:
thank you so much for reading my story! The ha'penny that Vocal will toss in my hat for your eyeballs landing on this humble piece will be well-spent.

If you enjoyed this one, the very best compliment you can give me is to share it, or read another!

A Year of Stories: I'm writing a story every day this year. This one continues my 173 day streak since 1st January.

Please do consider lending your support to the other creators who are also on this madcap "a story every day" adventure. They are putting out excellent content every day!

Rachel Deeming

Gerard DiLeo

The story behind the story: I always try to write these so they work as stand-alone micros. If you like, you can read this one as part of a series. Here are the others:

Please do leave me a comment: I reciprocate as many as I can. Leaving a comment makes that easier.

Thank you!

Thank you again, most sincerely. Especially if you are one of the wonderful people who has been staunchly reading these daily scribbles since the start of the year. I see you, and appreciate you very much indeed!
😁

+ + + + + + + + + + + +
+ + + + + + + + + + + + + + + +

SeriesShort StoryMicrofictionFantasy

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

  • Hannah Moore6 days ago

    There are some marked issues to this dualism, aren't there!

  • Uh oh. He's getting fixed 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • JBaz6 days ago

    It’s not his fault, let him live and be free

  • Caroline Craven6 days ago

    Ouch. Poor Jerry! This was fab.

  • Mark Gagnon6 days ago

    You sure know how to ruin a guy's day L.C. Neutered ouch!

  • Oh jeez! This is the darkest timeline of this series!!! Well written LC!

  • John Cox6 days ago

    Laugh out loud hilarious and an amazing piece of fiction to boot. If I could write like this I’d be impossible to live with!

  • Lana V Lynx6 days ago

    This is great! Is he ever going to get back to his true form?

  • Gerard DiLeo6 days ago

    Jerry has needs, though. Jerry, don't fall for the "getting tutored" line. It's 'neutered.'"

L.C. SchäferWritten by L.C. Schäfer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.