Fiction logo

Meltwater

Telltale crimson trail: part 3

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
16
Image: Pixabay

Leaning against the patrol car, I drew deep from the Sonoma, watching CSIs fuss around the hastily-erected tent. They had tried, in vain, to get it up before the now heavy rain had washed away much of the forensics.

  • Read from the beginning
  • Part two

My unmarked car was parked further back, ready to take me and the rest of the evidence away. I threw down the cigarette, already extinguished and wet.

“Another gang killing, they’re saying,” said the patrolman whose squad car I was leaning against.

“I wouldn’t want to speculate,” I said dismissively, before walking away.

“We’ll need your clothing for evidence, lieutenant,” said a white-suited figure, indicating the crime-scene vehicle where he wanted me to change. If they’d thought about it sooner, before the rain had soaked me to the skin, they could have preserved a little more of their evidence. Then again, most had been removed when I'd ‘stumbled’ earlier in deep snow.

Having changed, and given my statement to an unknown young detective, I headed back to my car. Stevie was leaning into her own vehicle, stretching the radio cord to her ear, her eyes still ranging over the scene.

As I watched her in the rear view, she turned. I pulled the car away from the kerb. She ran after me, gesticulating wildly, dropping the handset. I continued at a relaxed pace, but not relaxed enough for her to catch up. She was the only one smart enough.

She’d send a patrol car to my home. They’d have to wait.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

This little story in exactly 250 words continues Telltale crimson trail originally written for the Vocal Snow Micro challenge

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

What will the patrol car officers find? And why would they have to wait?

Find out in part four: Chain of evidence

SeriesMysteryMicrofiction
16

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Dexter would find enough to convict, though he probably wouldn't tell anyone. He does like taking care of such matters himself, lol.

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Hmm. I worry about Stevie. Sometimes too smart isn’t good!! This is a fab series!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    I'm gripped. Part Four - here I come!

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    Getting closer to the end.

  • Oh no, she's on to him! I hope he can get away with it! Hehehehehhe. Waiting for part 4!

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    Keeping readers on tenterhooks over here! Looks like someone could be clever enough to put the pieces together 👀

  • John Cox2 months ago

    I’m with LC on this one, Ray. This has all the makings of a pulse pounding thriller! I’m glad you decided to continue this story post snow micro challenge and look forward to reading more!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    She is the only one smart enough?! I feel like maybe not…who is this young detective? I sense he will return! Damn this is so good! So excited for more!

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Ooooh I am all over this! I can't wait for part 4!

  • Test2 months ago

    Brilliantly creative and fantastic entry! Enjoyed this a lot! 🤍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.