Fiction logo

Ten minutes to mask a murder

Telltale crimson trail continues: part 2

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
16
Dall-E-3 image

In ten minutes, the squad would arrive. I heaved the 'murder weapon', a huge hunk of ice, into the storm drain. As it hit with a smash, the steady stream of meltwater started to push the pieces away, along with the red streaks that had covered one side. I hid the cocaine in the trunk.

Read Crimson Trail from the beginning

Swiftly retracing my tracks back to the body, I knelt over the corpse to retrieve the wallet. Eyes looked up at the sky without seeing, and the skin had already begun to turn gray. I stood and ran a short distance to the right, kicking up as much snow as I could.

By the time the first detective arrived, I had gone through the wallet to find the ID. Just for show, of course.

"CSI are gonna love you, boss, the mess you made of their crime scene," said Stevie, as she looked around, taking in all the details. "What happened?"

"I was just driving by when I saw an affray up here, so stopped the car to assist. The assailant ran off to the right as I approached. I gave chase but he was gone, so I came back and checked for vital signs. There weren't any."

"I'd better take over from here John, you being a material witness."

As she said this I noted, with satisfaction, the patter of raindrops beginning to fall. The mess I had made of the crime scene would be nothing compared with what the coming downpour would do.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

READ the next action-packed instalment: Meltwater

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

thrillerSeriesPsychologicalMicrofiction
16

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    Diabolically clever & fortuitous.

  • Story continues from here https://vocal.media/fiction/meltwater

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Again, this is so good and you've packed so much into so few words. Looking forward to reading the next episodes.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    So, cop as bad guy. I'd like to know his motives. I'm off to read more. That can only be a good sign.

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    This could be the start of a detective show for television or even a series of detective novels.

  • Ramie Lewis2 months ago

    Great start to a suspenseful thriller, crime story. I can only imagine how shady and corrupt your detective turns out to be... or is he?

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    This flows so easily from the first piece! The timing of the rain is excellent for the murderer. Coincidental or well-planned…

  • Tina D'Angelo2 months ago

    More!!!

  • By popular demand! Part Three: https://vocal.media/fiction/meltwater

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    He's a scamp, that MC... I hope this colleague unmasks him though (please tell me there will be more 🙏)

  • And the Oscar Award goes to....MC! Hahahahahahahahaha! I gotta learn from him on how to get away with murder! Would you be doing a part 3?

  • Lamar Wiggins2 months ago

    Nice! He has a lot of lies to keep up with. Makes me nervous cause I want him to get away with it all, lol.

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Next you'll reveal his power over the weather! Damn, he's got eyes on him!! I love how he faked evidence of chasing the "assailant," though the second pair of prints will lead to more suspicion....ooh, I must see Stevie uncover his trickery. :DDD PS, John said it best.

  • This story is part two of Telltale Crimson Trail you can read part One here: https://vocal.media/fiction/telltale-crimson-trail

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Excellent follow up on your last entry. It feels like a tale where the killer is too busy congratulating himself for getting away with it to ensure he has fully covered his tracks. Any plan to continue the story? 🤔

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.