Fiction logo

Telltale crimson trail

You'd think a seasoned homicide detective like me would be used to this kind of thing

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
39
Image: Pixabay

I'd seen gray snow, I'd seen brown, mushy snow on the highway. I'd seen yellow snow too, but this was the first time I had seen pink snow. The sight of it turned my stomach. The crimson stain had grown into a shadow, an outline, like an island. The spatter from the blow had left a telltale bloody trail leading away from the gaping wound in the victim's head.

Nausea welled up inside of me. You'd think that, as a seasoned homicide detective, I would have gotten used to this kind of thing by now. I never did. Violent death always made me want to vomit.

I turned away. Looking over the pristine, white-blanketed hills, I felt calmer. Taking deep breaths, I drew in great draughts of clean air, until my nostrils stung from bitter cold.

Pulse rate under control, I flipped into investigation mode and put on latex gloves. Reaching carefully inside the jacket, I pulled out a large, transparent bag. Weighing about a kilo, the package contained what looked like fine grains of sugar, but I knew it to be cocaine. Street value around $120,000.

Wading through the snow drifts, I returned to the unmarked car and called it in. It would take 10 minutes for the duty team to turn up. During which time I would conceal the bag under the seat and toss the jagged lump of ice I'd used to slug the courier into the storm drain. It would be washed away before they arrived.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

READ the next action-packed instalment: Ten minutes to mask a murder

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

MysterythrillerPsychologicalMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
39

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (40)

Sign in to comment
  • Alexander13 days ago

    wow..... Congratulations on your Top Story

  • Susan Fourtané2 months ago

    Ohh I love this!

  • Susan Fourtané2 months ago

    Ohh I love this!

  • Celia in Underland2 months ago

    Wow- that is so intense- Brilliant twist! Very clever!

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    Congratulations, mystery man!

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Good cop, bad cop. Congrats on TS.

  • The story continues: https://vocal.media/fiction/ten-minutes-to-mask-a-murder

  • Raduxx Radu2 months ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story 💓😘💖❤👍

  • Dariusz 2 months ago

    Congratulations on top story :)

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Great twist. What a fantastic story.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    Back to say CONGRATS 👏

  • E.K. Daniels2 months ago

    Congrats on top story!

  • Rachel Robbins2 months ago

    Nicely done.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Nice twist. You got me.

  • Test2 months ago

    Great story. Congratulations on TS.

  • Part two for anyone who wants to know what happens next: https://vocal.media/fiction/ten-minutes-to-mask-a-murder - Part three includes links to all other episodes: https://vocal.media/fiction/meltwater - or check my profile for new episodes as they are published - each 250 words exactly

  • Ashley Shiflett2 months ago

    Congrats on top story! Well deserved!

  • Anna 2 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Ayyyy, Top Story! Congrats!!

  • Cathy holmes2 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • sleepy drafts2 months ago

    WOAH! This was so freaking good. Amazing twist, masterfully executed (pun intended, heh.)

  • My first thought was, "they killed him but left the cocaine?" Then I understood. Well done.

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    Brilliant twist! Didn’t see it coming at all, and the seasoned and weathered detective turns out to be the bad guy😱” During which time I would conceal the bag under the seat and toss the jagged lump of ice I'd used to slug the courier into the storm drain” -I like how this is matter-of-fact in the way that a detective would tell it. Well done 👏

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.