Fiction logo

Chain of evidence

Telltale crimson trail: part 4

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 2 months ago Updated 28 days ago 1 min read
13
Andover MA Police vehicle: web source

By the time I got back to the house, there was a patrol car waiting. A uniform stepped out of the passenger side and, confirming my ID, asked for my car keys. I prised them apart from my extensive collection and handed them over. As the patrolman drove off in my car, his buddy following him, a third car screeched to a halt outside.

  • Read from the beginning
  • Part two / Part three

The driver's door swung open and Stevie stepped out. Slamming the door behind her, she leapt towards me as if she was going to swing a right. In some ways I wish she had. I deserved it, and some.

"What the fuck do you think you are doing, John? Leaving a crime scene like that? And taking your damn car too!

"Yeah, sorry Stevie," I lied. I'm just all over the place at the moment. You know what it’s like when I’m first on scene like that."

"Sure, I know. You can't handle it, maybe? Ever considered applying for a transfer to Community Outreach section?"

We both laughed at that, breaking the tension. I was glad she agreed to come inside for a coffee.

She took her coffee short and black. Mine was in a big mug with too much sugar and cream.

As she perched on the armchair, she followed my gaze to the framed photo above the fireplace.

“Your brother?”

“Yep.”

I wasn’t in the mood to encourage that kind of conversation.

She looked straight at me, and for just a moment too long.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

What next?

Has Stevie thought of something? Has John slipped up? How come the patrolmen got there before him? Find out in part five.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

TAKE SOME TIME TO READ SOME CRIME

Time for crime? Lots of short stories and other great reading matter, all with criminal intent and all written by yours truly: Raymond G. Taylor

Thanks for reading

Ray

PsychologicalthrillerMysteryMicrofiction
13

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer2 months ago

    So glad you continued this 😁

  • Intriguing.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    This is a great series. I reckon revenge for something and the brother's photo? A clue?

  • Part Five now posted. Look out for part six

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    Nothing like a good mystery.

  • Just for a moment too long. Is she gonna kiss him? Lol. Waiting for part 5!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Oh man, you complicated it! Motive perhaps? Super excited for the next one.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    I got caught up on your stories...very interesting :)

  • John Cox2 months ago

    Another great installment, Ray. On the edge of my seat awaiting the next!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.