Fiction logo

Work to do

Telltale crimson trail: part 5

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
12
Image: Pixabay as edited

Trapped by her steely stare, which seemed to last an age, I felt the need to run and hide. Instead, I reached for the soft pack and tapped out an untipped. Pressing the fibrous roll between my lips I realised, too late, how stagey this must have looked.

  • Read from the beginning
  • Part two / Part three
  • Part four

“Thought you’d given up,” she said.

“That was yesterday,” I replied, feeling she’d just let me off the hook.

She took a step forward. I thought she was going to kiss me. Horrified, I stepped back, but not before she had plucked the coffin nail from my bottom lip, taking a shred of skin with it. Again, she fixed me with those baby blues.

“What took you so long, John?”

“What?”

“Why did it take you so long to get here… after you drove off?”

I was taken aback at this. Was I a suspect already? Even though I had rehearsed my answer to this question, I was expecting it from the prowl boys, not from Stevie. I hesitated for a moment, transfixed, like a rabbit caught in the headlights.

“I went for a coffee, I blurted out,” without conviction. Then, breathing a sigh of relief, I remembered the paper cup I left on the car seat. Sometimes you can be too clever.

I could see she was trying to work it out. Before she turned away, crumpling the cigarette.

“Some of us have work to do,” she said, dropping the twisted remnants onto the floor as she walked out the door.

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

What next? Is John a suspect? What will he do now? Find out in part six:

Long dark night

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

TAKE SOME TIME TO READ SOME CRIME

Time for crime? Lots of short stories and other great reading matter, all with criminal intent and all written by yours truly: Raymond G. Taylor

Thanks for reading

Ray

PsychologicalMysteryMicrofiction
12

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    "With a little bit o' luck, with a little bit o' luck, you'll come up with something quick enough.

  • Mark Graham2 months ago

    Could this be a television detective series kind of like Rizzoli and Isles or even McMillian and Wife from the 70's.

  • Caroline Craven2 months ago

    Ok. I can’t wait for part six!

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Went to look for Part Six and realised it's not there yet. Damn it! I guess I'll just have to subscribe so I don't miss it. Nicely done, Raymond G. Taylor. Nicely done.

  • Rachel Deeming2 months ago

    Love interest too? There's a lot going on!

  • Lol, I hope Stevie bought it! I want John to get away with it! Waiting for next chapter!

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    I like Stevie's spunk!

  • Mackenzie Davis2 months ago

    Woot, go Stevie! I knew she'd be quick. Loving the suspense about the brother and the patrol cars getting there first. Will we see a flashback or get the info in an interrogation? I'm very excited. 😀

  • Very good descriptive writing. I need to start from the beginning!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.