Fiction logo

Long dark night

Telltale crimson trail: part 6

By Raymond G. TaylorPublished 3 months ago Updated 12 days ago 1 min read
10
Free use image: Pixabay

If I’d been a character in a detective story, they’d call this the long dark night of the soul. Drawing deep from the amber leaf, I knew why. I took in another lungful, tasting like a motorman's glove. I laughed at myself, thinking up a Chandler-Marlowe quote at a time like this.

  • Read from the beginning

I threw the butt down, where it joined its buddy left by Stevie. That's not all she left. I felt a ton weight in my stomach that almost floored me.

Looking at the cheery photos on the shelf, I thought about all I'd lost. The only people who meant anything to me. My wife and my brother. Now, I'd lost Stevie too. Betrayed.

I jumped in my skin as the telephone rang. I picked up.

“John? You planning on coming in today?” It could only be the Captain.

“Sure, chief, just making some breakf..”

“Well don’t,” he said. “You need a break… see the strain in your eyes… get some rest… go see your wife or whatever you do when you’re not working.”

When I wasn’t working! I thought. When was that?

I took his advice anyway.

“Hey hon, how ya doing?” I said, holding out some flowers. Three years since we last spoke. After an hour of my inane attempts at conversation, I figured she’d had enough.

I headed home, passing another man clutching lilies, bending over another grave.

Unlocking the front door, I caught a whiff of Miss Dior with a hint of boot black.

“Stevie?”

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

What happens next?

Part seven: Pretty Miss Trouble

O ~ 0 ~ o ~

thrillerPsychologicalMysteryMicrofiction
10

About the Creator

Raymond G. Taylor

Author based in Kent, England. A writer of fictional short stories in a wide range of genres, he has been a non-fiction writer since the 1980s. Non-fiction subjects include art, history, technology, business, law, and the human condition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock2 months ago

    So how'd she take it? Yes, I mean the wife. Though I probably should be wondering about Stevie, too.

  • Lamar Wiggins3 months ago

    Well, I'm all caught up now and man, this could go in so many directions. I will try and publish my attempt in the next day.

  • Kageno Hoshino3 months ago

    My predictions for part 7 : https://vocal.media/fiction/whispers-in-the-rain-doyi01ei

  • Kageno Hoshino3 months ago

    Great story

  • Why has it been 3 years since John spoke to his wife? Also, oooo, is Stevie back?

  • John Cox3 months ago

    Wow! I'm lovin' this Ray. Cannot wait for the next installment!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.