Fiction logo

Whispers in the Rain

A Detective's Dilemma, Telltale crimson trail, part 7 prediction

By Kageno HoshinoPublished 3 months ago 2 min read
3
Whispers in the Rain
Photo by Graddes 📸 on Unsplash

The door knob was turned in my hand, but the door wouldn't move. My heart crashed nervously against my chest. Stevie? What was she doing here? I called out her name, but silence only responded.

With a deep breath, I kicked the door open and it slammed shut with a sharp pain coursing through my leg. The living room was empty; the rain mingled with the scent, filling the air together with a smell of an unknown perfume.

On a coffee table lay one white lily next to a folded sheet of paper with “John” written on it in stevie’s handwriting - everything about her calligraphy seemed to be burnt into the center of my eyes as I unfolded it.

“John,” it began, “You can’t run away from your past. Come alone.” At midnight at the docks.”

A shiver went down my back for Stevie knew; she had unraveled what connected the missing cocaine puzzle, staged crime scene and desperation that made me do all that.

Panic overwhelmed me. I felt trapped and exposed. But somewhere inside me ignited a small spark of resistance that would burn until my demise without giving up easily on our relationship.

In the rain, I took my coat and hurried out of the door. It was as if a thousand needles were pricking my face because of the lashing rain.

The docks were encased in mist and there was that eerie light from sodium lamps; it seemed they were waiting for something to happen.

A single form emerged from the shadows as I stepped on to the pier that creaked under my weight. In the dim lighting, Stevie’s face assumed a blank expression while she held a small shining object in her hand.

“You came.” whispered Stevie.

“What is it Stevie?” I said.

She looked at me not offering any response while still holding that one thing in her palm. Suddenly she flicked her wrist and threw it into the churning water below.

A splash filled the silence. The burden lifted off my stomach, went away, replaced by emptiness. The evidence was gone!

Turning towards me, she had those eyes with mixed feelings-anger, disappointment and something else unnoticeable.

“John, let's talk,” she quietly said this but wind howling made it impossible for me to hear clearly what she said.

Fan FictionthrillerPsychologicalMysteryMicrofiction
3

About the Creator

Kageno Hoshino

Mistakes are not shackles that halt one from stepping forward. Rather, they are that which sustain and grow one's heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Test2 months ago

    Outstanding! Awesome story,

  • Oooo, what does she wanna talk about? So intriguing!

  • Raymond G. Taylor3 months ago

    This is a really well thought out episode that is full of atmosphere and promise. A great way to dispose of the evidence and an interesting plot twist for Stevie to cover for John. Well done and thanks for joining the fun

  • Telltale Crimson Trail as delightfully written by Raymond G Taylor(It has the links to the original episodes): https://vocal.media/writers/where-is-the-snow

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.