Feast logo

Scrumptious Chicken

Easy & Delicious Chicken Thighs

By KA Stefana Published 13 days ago 3 min read
3
Scrumptious Chicken
Photo by Denis Agati on Unsplash

I am so excited to share this recipe with you! It is one of my family's favorite recipes. Why? The chicken is never dry, and the flavors are amazing and, oh, so yummy!

READY! SET! GATHER!

First, we gather, and then we blend! Or is it the other way around? Who let the engineer in the kitchen? Beware!

I typically like to make a batch of this and keep it with my spices so that I don't have to gather 14 spices every time I want to make this recipe. That said, I did my best to get the volumes right for a single recipe.

Dry Ingredients

Dried shallots - 1 teaspoon

Garlic - 1 teaspoon

Mustard seeds - 1/2 teaspoon

Nigella seeds - 1 teaspoon

Nutritional yeast - 1 teaspoon

Paprika - 1 teaspoon

Onion powder - 1 teaspoon

Parsley - 1 teaspoon

Chives - 2 teaspoons

Wet ingredients

1/4 cup - Water

Honey (drizzle over the chicken)

2 tablespoons - Trader Joe's Chili Crunch Oil or chili oil blend

The Main Ingredient

10 to 12 chicken thighs

Substitutions

Oh, no! Your cupboards are bare, and you are missing key ingredients. What to do? Never fear! You can make a few substitutions without impacting the recipe. It will still be delicious!

~ Mustard Seeds can be replaced with mustard powder.

~ Nigella Seeds are similar to cumin in taste. I recommend blending 1/2 teaspoon of cumin with 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper.

~ Trader Joe's Chili Crunch Oil - If you do not have access to this, you can make a blend with olive oil, dried onion/shallots, and chili oil or powder.

~ Honey - Sometimes, if I don't have Trader Joe's Chili Crunch Oil, I replace the honey with Hot Honey, and I get the best of both worlds.

Preheat Your Oven

Preheat your oven to 375F before you start the chicken on the stovetop. This will allow your oven to be nice and hot.

Grab Your Best Frypan

Heat your skillet and place the chicken thighs in the pan. Sprinkle the dry ingredients over the chicken (about 1 tablespoon of the dry ingredients),

Drizzle the honey over chicken and then add the Trader Joe's Chilie Crunch oil (1 tablespoons).

When the chicken is browned, flip the chicken and add equivalent amounts of the dry ingredients again.

NOTE: If you want to have more juice when you serve the chicken, add 1/4 cup of water to the pan before you start cooking.

Once your chicken is nice and browned, you are ready to put the chicken in the oven.

I use an oven ready frypan, and place the entire pan into the oven. I let the chicken cook for 20 to 30 minutes until the chicken reaches 165F.

NOTE: When you take the frypan out of the oven, please keep a hot pad near the handles of the pan so others don't grab the hot handle and burn themselves.

Mouthwatering, Yummy!

Now It's Time to Enjoy

This is one of our favorite dishes. I love to serve this with mash potatoes and sweet corn or with a hearty salad.

If you give the recipe a try, let me know your thoughts and what side dishes you paired it with!

Author Notes

Thank you for reading my story! It means a lot. If you really loved this story, please check out my other STORIES, leave a comment, or share with other readers.

Here are a few of my favorite recipes.

Rustic Creole Salad

Apple Vinaigrette

Falling in Love with Salad

Spicy Dry Rub

Stuffed Peppers

Finally, if you have a story that you think I might like, feel free to leave a link in my comments, and I will check it out. I really love fantasy stories, if you can tell. Oh, and good food, too!

diyrecipehow tohealthycuisine
3

About the Creator

KA Stefana

I started writing as a hobby during quarantine. From a hobby, a passion bloomed. Author of Dark Fantasy with a twist of romance. Available on KU - The Origins of Darkness, The Daughters of Darkness and The Forgotten.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 13 days ago

    That looks good! Great! I’ll try this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.