Feast logo

Get Close With Quinoa

A Low Grain Alternative

By Ashley TerrellPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Get Close With Quinoa
Photo by Shashi Chaturvedula on Unsplash

One day, a friend invited me over for dinner. He didn't tell me what was on the menu nor did we prepare the meal together. As the time approached the reveal of the meal, I noticed I didn't smell anything cooking. I didn't see any pots and pans in the sink or dish rack to presume he prepared and cooked the meal at home.

The meal appears.

The plate was nicely decorated with blackened-styled tofu, steamed vegetables, and quinoa.

I've had tofu prior while working at an international restaurant. I didn't prefer it to be my protein replacement of choice.

Little did I know, the quinoa sparked my taste buds' curiosity. Prior to the dinner gathering, I'd never eaten quinoa. I didn't know how quinoa tasted, but I was willing and thrilled to try it.

Aside from my thoughts of how I could spruce the flavor of the quinoa, I didn't care for the grain-like taste. On the contrary, I appreciate the health benefits quinoa presents at the dinner table for lovers of the "Mom of grain".

The healthy benefits quinoa brings to the table can boost your favorite meals in the slightest - whether it's in a salad, as a side dish, or your replacement protein.

Here's what you need to know about quinoa.

Scientifically known as Chenopodium quinoa, is known as a "pseudocereal". Pseudocereals don't grow on grass, unlike other oats and rice. Pseudocereals are the botanical outliers from grasses.

Quinoa is indigenous to the Andean region of South American areas, Peru, Chile, and Ecuador.

Quinoa is within the same family as spinach and beets.

The edible seeds of quinoa are flat and oval. Usually, quinoa grows in various colors, such as yellow, pink, yellow, white, or black. The superfood possesses a bitter, yet sweet taste, with a crunchy texture and depth notes of earthly nutty flavor.

There are over 120 varieties of quinoa.

Quinoa is a low-grain alternative.

Quinoa has a low glycemic level of 53.

A study in The Journal of Human Nutrition and Dietetics proved 44% of people suffering from celiac disease preferred quinoa as their preferred grain.

You can count on quinoa to be a low-grain alternative.

Eating quinoa regularly can improve your cardiovascular health.

Heart strokes are the leading cause of various types of cardiovascular disease.

Quinoa can lower low-density lipoprotein and cholesterol levels.

Studies published in The American Journal of Epidemiology, the fiber in quinoa can extend your life!

A study published in The American Journal of Clinical Nutrition proved participants who are magnesium-enriched foods had a reduction in risks of heart stroke.

Packed with antioxidants and protein.

I'd already known that quinoa was a favorite amongst vegans and vegetarians. The Peru food staple is rich in antioxidants, like quercetin.

Quinoa contained more protein than rice, corn, and whole wheat.

According to Healthline, quinoa has more antioxidants oxalates, and flavonoids than cranberries.

Did you know quinoa is packed with amino acids?

Quinoa contains nine essential amino acids.

The low-grain is high in lysine, a compound of methionine and histidine.

A 2017 study published in The Journal of Nutraceuticals and Food Science states quinoa has more protein and amino acids than fortified cereals.

Enjoy quinoa in numerous ways.

I appreciate how versatile preparing and cooking quinoa can be. Though I'm not a fan of quinoa sharing the spotlight as a side dish, however, I do enjoy adding quinoa for texture in my fried cabbage and collards, even my fried green beans recipe.

Enjoy quinoa in protein-alternative burgers, salads, collards, and as a side.

What are your food thoughts about quinoa?

How do you prepare and cook quinoa?

vegetarian
Like

About the Creator

Ashley Terrell

Bestselling author. Entrepreneur. Seasonings and spices saved my life. Where sheep and angels share the same color. Newport News, VA. Conqueror and lover of all things Fine Arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.