Feast logo

Five Vegetarian Oat Dishes

Being Vegetarian In Japan II

By HeetaPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
1

Introduction

If you prefer watching how I made all these recipes, the video is above.

I love oats because they are so versatile. You can have them sweet or savory (though I do prefer the sweeter version). You can have them warm or cold. You can cook it on the stove or leave it in the fridge (aka overnight oats). You can have them in 'liquidy' form, soft but solid, or something in between.

These are some common ingredients I use in all of my oatmeal recipes (at least the ones discussed in detail) and they are listed as down below:

  • Oats (obviously)
  • Nut milk (Whatever your preference is, I generally avoid oat milk because it feels like way too much oats. But you do you!)
  • Chia seeds
  • Vanilla (in whatever shape, way, or form)
  • Flax seed powder (whenever I have some)
  • Any available nuts (usually almonds or cashews)
  • I am thinking of adding plant-based protein powder to my recipes soon

Apple cinnamon

Ingredients:

  • One apple (diced; the amount really depends on how much apples you want in your oatmeal)
  • Cinnamon (as per taste)
  • Maple syrup (as per taste)
  • Cardamom (optional)

I usually tend to add a small amount of spices and add more if needed. This dish is quite simple to make. First, I will add almond milk and let it warm a bit before adding the apples. Let the apples simmer and wait till they get a bit tender. I don't like mine too soft, so I don't boil them too long. Add the spices and sweetener, and let it mix well. Lastly, add the oats (the amount depends on the texture you prefer).

Raisin & Nuts

Ingredients:

  • Nut of choice (almond, cashew, macadamia work well)
  • Raisins
  • Cardamom powder
  • Saffron (optional)
  • cinnamon (optional)

Note: I've never used saffron & cinnamon together. It's always one or the other. The saffron one gives it a very Indian dessert vibe, while the cinnamon one makes it very raisin bran-like.

Bring the milk and raisins to a boil. Add the aromatics and let it mix. Add the oats. Garnish with your favorite nuts. I prefer a mix of almonds and cashews.

Cookies & cream

Ingredients:

  • Crushed Oreos
  • Chocolate (optional)

This one is perhaps the easiest to make. Boil your milk, and stir in the crushed Oreos. I prefer to have them a bit chunkier or big pieces if I am using the real deal cookies. In the video, I do not use actual Oreo cookies. The soft gooeyness of the Oreos with the oatmeal. Oh la la!

Strawberry & Raspberry

Ingredients:

  • Fresh/frozen strawberries (I didn't have this, so I used my strawberry latte sachet)
  • Raspberry Jam (Didn't have this either, but the syrup actually worked better)
  • Brown sugar
  • Maple-flavored cashew nuts (optional but it goes really well)

Warm the milk. Add the strawberry powder and sugar. Let it mix well. Add in the oats. Garnish with nuts and raspberry syrup. Enjoy!

Note: The fresh strawberry version does taste quite different. This very much tasted like strawberry candy!

Choco-Pistachio

Ingredients:

  • Pistachio essence (couldn't find any, hence I used the pistachio syrup I found)
  • Chocolate (chopped)
  • Pistachios (optional)
  • Cardamom powder (optional)

Note: It was my first time pairing up cardamom and chocolate in this recipe. I wasn't sure how it'd turn out and was pleasantly surprised. I can't wait try the pistachio recipe again with rose petals and saffron next time.

Heat the milk. Add the pistachio syrup and cardamom powder. Let it mix. Cook the oats in. Garnish with chopped chocolate and pistachios. So good! The syrup wasn't as strong as I preferred, but it still was delicious.

Honorable Mentions

Here are some other recipes that are a favorite of mine, but didn't end up showing in the video because I am limiting myself to five recipes per video. But these are coming soon! ^^

  • Banana Walnut
  • Pina Colada
  • Peach Cobbler
  • Kheer (Indian Dessert)
  • Salted Caramel
  • Chocolate Chip

My other vegetarian articles/videos are listed down below:

    • Read Part I (Bread) here
  • You are on Part II right now
  • Part III (Noodles and Pasta) coming soon!
  • Part IV (Store-bought Curries) coming soon!

Follow for more. Like for motivation. Comment for thoughts. ^^

Adios Amigos!

veganvegetarianrecipelisthealthydiy
1

About the Creator

Heeta

Books are a passion. Fashion is a hobby. Sociology is my accomplishment. And thus, I bring you, a little bit of this, and a little bit of that. #Unedited #Freestyle #Wordvomit

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Salman khan4 months ago

    Explore the delicious world of oatmeal with these versatile recipes that offer a range of flavors and textures. Don't miss out on trying these mouthwatering creations!" Zotrim Reviews : https://www.mid-day.com/lifestyle/infotainment/article/zotrim-reviews-is-it-useful-23320233

  • I'm a vegetarian and this immediately grabbed my attention! Thank you so much for sharing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.