Feast logo

A Gift For Friends And Family

My daughter and I put together a cookbook for my mothers first year memorial.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 7 months ago 4 min read
5
Authors photo.

This was an easy choice for the first-anniversary memorial of my mother's death. Family will often give away the deceased person's belongings and everyone knew my mother was an excellent cook and baker. There were always a lot of comments about her pies.

We had four memorials for my mother and sister. The first one was the large memorial for my mother. The second year was a memorial for my mother and my sister, who died just a year apart. I needed that amount of time to help me in grieving the two most important women in my life!

For this cookbook, we found many recipes that were handwritten with the date she received the recipe and sometimes there was the person's name that she received the recipe from.

My daughter was close to my mother and she would help me pick the recipes that were her favorites and others favorites as well.

In the recipe book we found her favorite scriptures also. All positive writings. We included them in the cookbook along with family and friends photos.

Here is a sample of a few of her recipes, a bible verse she had in there, and a photo that I remember her doing that matches the bible verse pretty well. I have wondered why I like rhubarb so much. I make sauce and I eat it all winter long.

I eat rhubarb most of the year. There are still another two pages of rhubarb recipes in this cookbook.

Authors photo

Potential Dangers of eating rhubarb

Rhubarb leaves contain oxalic acid which can be toxic when consumed in large doses. Symptoms of poisoning can range from vomiting, nausea, and diarrhea to more serious issues such as convulsions, confusion, and kidney stones.

Additionally, excess oxalic acid has been linked with other health problems such as low blood pressure, skin irritation, and digestive disturbances. Therefore, it is important to exercise caution when consuming rhubarb and to speak to a doctor before consuming it if you have any existing medical conditions. (i.e. pregnant or kidney disease). Bing

It is important to check with your doctor if you are taking antibiotics, blood thinners or certain vitamins, as they may have a negative interaction with rhubarb.

Even if I was told I shouldn't eat rhubarb, I would probably cut back, but not cut it out. I remember those desserts from childhood and picking rhubarb in our yard. We have rhubarb growing in our yard to this day.

Affirmations:

Rhubarb is not a favorite of everyone, but if you haven't tried it, please give it a try. Add whipping cream on top of any recipe, as who doesn't love whipping cream?

Please remember that rhubarb is an excellent source of fiber and it helps to lower the bad cholesterol and raise the good cholesterol.

Rhubarb is a good source of antioxidants and vitamin K. And it is rich in calcium oxalate, if you are prone to kidney stones it can help with that! This is a different message from the one above. I am not sure which one is the right message, but I have never had kidney stones.1`

Rhubarb is a good source of vitamin C, magnesium, calcium, and potassium, which can boost the immune system, strengthen bones and teeth!

Rhubarb can help regulate blood sugar levels, and provide important nutrients like iron, phosphorus, and manganese. It is a rich source of vitamins A, and B-complex.

Regularly consuming rhubarb can provide numerous health benefits as part of a healthy diet.

Bing found some information about rhubarb health benefits. Rhubarb is a good source of antioxidants, vitamin K, and fiber1. It has many health benefits including:

Treating Alzheimer’s

Fighting cancerous cells

Promoting circulation

Supporting weight loss

Strengthening bones

Promoting digestion

Combating cardiovascular diseases

Regulating blood sugar levels

Maintaining kidney health

Preventing early aging23

Bing

A miracle food!! Okay, having said all of that, I wish you the best in trying all the recipes! I gave you a choice of three rhubarb recipes and my favorite was always rhubarb crisp as a child.

Now, as a diabetic, it is rhubarb sauce. I will add green apples, strawberries, blueberries, cherries or a combination. For sweetener if needed I add a bit of maple sugar or honey.

I will mix it in my yogurt, on cottage cheese, in my gluten free waffles or eat it as sauce. Sometimes with added whipping cream and walnuts as a desert. It always reminds me of my mom!

featurerecipe
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Lynda Spargur7 months ago

    Wow! I learned a lot about rhubarb, good things to know. And what a wonderful tribute to your Mother. Creating a cookbook of her recipes. I have a few choice dishes memorized but I wish I had my Mom's chili recipe, it was amazing. Thank you for sharing a little part of your Mom with us.

  • Oh wow, I never knew the oxalic acid from rhubarbs can cause so many scary things. I'm so glad you mentioned that. Putting this recipe book together with your daughter is such a wonderful tribute to your mom!

  • 🥹Nice Article and Thank you for sharing♥️💯👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.