Confessions logo

Valentines Day Is Over

Observations On How Valentine's Day Is And How It Was

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
14

Introduction

This is just a general thing about how Valentine’s Day fifty years ago was so much creepier than the current corporate “romance” fest that it has become today. I am not been curmudgeonly about this but if you go into a card shop there are cards for loads of made-up occasions, one for every family member and lots more as well as genuine occasions like birthdays, religious occasions and such. Cards are nice to receive but the plethora we have now is ridiculous and often I just get a blank card for an occasion, although someone was recently shocked that I actually bought, wrote and hand-delivered a card to a close friend.

Origins Of Valentine’s Day

While the European folk traditions connected with Saint Valentine and St. Valentine's Day have become marginalised by modern customs connecting the day with romantic love, there are still some connections with the advent of spring.

While the custom of sending cards, flowers, chocolates and other gifts originated in the UK, Valentine's Day still remains connected with various regional customs in England. In Norfolk, a character called 'Jack' Valentine knocks on the rear door of houses leaving sweets and presents for children. Although he was leaving treats, many children were scared of this mystical person.

You can read a lot more about the origins on the Wikipedia page below that I took the above text from.

Valentine’s Day In My Youth (Fifty Or So Years Back)

In my youth a Valentine’s Day card was sent from an unknown admirer, although I sent one or two, I have never received a Valentine's card from an unknown admirer, probably for good reason.

In my youth that was the done thing, although usually, people did know who the card had come from.

The thing is today sending an unsigned card could be seen as akin to creepy stalking.

Time and attitudes have certainly changed, and for the better. I do feel it is sad that we have to be on our guard against potential predators, but the rise of social media and the world wide web has opened up so many options for bad people to track and stalk vulnerable people.

I honestly cannot say what the answer is. I get requests and emails on a daily basis that I delete and block because they are obviously decidedly untrustworthy. Even some who start off fine, then deteriorate and again you have to block yourself off to protect yourself from predators like this.

Maybe we were more trusting in the sixties and seventies, but it was a time when racism and misogyny were the norm, and I look back horrified at those situations, which we are very slowly addressing today and will hopefully one day overcome.

Valentine’s Day Today

Today I just see Valentine's day as another commercial money-grabbing attempt. It really means nothing. If you love someone you should show that every day, and not just when some commercial event demands that you spend money on things that will last for a day and then disappear.

If the person you love loves flowers, buy them flowers when you see some pretty ones, if they love chocolate buy them some chocolates. Make them a meal or take them to a restaurant. You can do this any day of the week, any time of the year.

Will I be sending Valentine's cards? Not to anyone who doesn’t know me and certainly not anonymously.

If you celebrate Valentine’s Day, enjoy it in your own way and don't let my observations put you off.

The music is “Valentine’s Day Is Over” by Billy Bragg.

Bad habitsTeenage yearsSecretsHumanityFriendshipDating
14

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️❤️❤️❤️

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Good one Mike!!! For decades now we have known that Valentine's is a scam just to get people out to spend their money. And maybe spending money isn't such a bad thing as it helps the economy. But it really is a scam holiday. Although I do love the chocolates and making people happy with fun homemade valentine's cards.

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Yeah, nicely said.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    I have always loved Valentine's Day. ❤️ I know it is cheesy and commercialized, but still my favorite holiday. Maybe it is the chocolate covered strawberries or the hearts given out in the dead of winter. I agree on the creepy past of the holiday and it is awful how much we have to on guard about scammers and predators. Well done Mike ♥️

  • Omgggg, finally someone said it! Valentines day is s scam to rob people of their money. I totally agree with everything that you've said here!

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    I liked this article and agree about the "Commercial money grabbing attempt." For me, Valentine's Day is for the younger crowd anyway. They still have much to learn about love.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Great and interesting read! My husband and I are not doing anything this year 🥰 We did get engaged on Valentine’s Day, which I know is soooo cliche, but it was fun ☺️

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    I would say your observations are fairly tame. The true origins of "Valentine's Day" are very horrific and filled with pagan aspects that were very traumatic for most involved.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Yeah, I've never put much stock in the holiday. I think it's dumb. It's full of pressure, unmet expectations, overspending, exclusion and so much more. Now, if I can get out of cooking as an excuse though, I'll take it - ha!! Great article!!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Superb & sweet!!!💖💖💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.