Confessions logo

Why I Didn’t Write Today

A Few Of The reasons That STop Me From Creating STories On Vocal

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 3 min read
Top Story - February 2023
42
This Was Meant To Be An Empty Library

Introduction

Well, you know that the title is an outright lie because you are reading this piece that I have written. I always feel compelled to write but I thought I would just list a few of the things that stop me from writing certain things. I am not really geared up to write in all Vocal’s Communities although I have written at least one story in every one, and the only way to check that out is to apply all the filters on my Profile page which is below. So I will drop into what stops me and what inspires me.

I write these pieces in case anyone else has the same or similar feelings when they are creating their masterworks. Everyone is different and has different challenges but by seeing how I work it may give you a little inspiration when you are creating stories for Vocal.

The music is "I Will Return" by Springwater

Inspiration

Inspiration comes in many forms, music I listen to, talking with my Muses and the artwork and photographs that they create and share, walking out, animals, landmarks and more. If I don’t get this sort of contact then my ability to create things dries up, a sort of writer's block but it’s more of a dried-up river because once the flow starts it usually doesn’t stop until I hit a day like today.

Repetition

I really don't like doing similar things, if I do a poem, I don’t want to do another poem after it, it’s the same with fiction as well as technical or subjective articles. So that sometimes limits my options, not always but it does.

Negativity

I sometimes feel annoyed by things and feel that I want to write about them, but I always stop myself because I want to put out something positive not negative. I know I have written some dark things pertaining to my own state of mind but that is usually to clear my mind and bring myself back to a positive state.

I am writing a sequence of dark poetry, but that is not negative it is just a particular sequence that was kicked off by my friend Dharrsheena with the aim of putting out a book when I have written fifty dark poems. I have gathered others into anthologies that people have enjoyed, and I have sold about a hundred copies.

I do see many aggressive and irate stories, but I really try my best to avoid that type of article.I always want to inform people, put a smile on their faces, or sometimes give them a fright and always make them think.

To Be Positive

Most of my poetry is positive although there are a few a little more introspective,.but they do make people happy and I would like to do that with some of my fiction but positive fiction is very difficult to write unless it is aimed at small children.

Also if I write something positive it makes me feel better in myself. I don’t want to vent or waste energy on anger, I would much rather put it into producing something worthwhile.

Conclusion

Essentially I want to be a sort of creative whirlwind, always putting out something different even though my four main areas are poetry, music, fiction and practical articles. That does give me a little leeway to vary my output even though sometimes I may write two items in the same community but I would never do two pieces consecutively for the same Muse or consecutive pieces of Dark Poetry, they would be definite no-go areas for me.

SecretsHumanityFriendshipBad habits
42

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Madison Newtonabout a year ago

    This really spoke to me, I can relate so much. I wrote a poem inspired by an argument with someone I care about earlier today, we really have those moments that drive us to write.

  • Rasheek Rasoolabout a year ago

    Realy meaningful

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was a really thought provoking piece! Well done!

  • Wizardabout a year ago

    I think that's useful to share Your thoughts

  • Always Meaningful ❤️💯👍😉congratulations on the Top Story❗❗❗

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    Congratulations on this very honest and thoughtful top story brother

  • Linda Rivenbarkabout a year ago

    Whatever genre you write in, it is always a good read. Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Natalie Wilkinsonabout a year ago

    Congratulations on top story!

  • Testabout a year ago

    Yes! Great and inspiring tips. I do and can work on the positivity aspects to writing. Thanks for sharing, always a pleasure to read your pieces.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Congratulations Mike on an excellent and insightful post! Well deserving of Top Story.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Well Done!!! Congratulations onthw Top Story!!!💖💕

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Good article. congrats on the Top Story.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Congratulations on your Top Story!!

  • philabout a year ago

    Omg your amazing at writing I'll definitely read more of your writing. Wow your verry good keep it up. I didn't fall asleep reading them

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    YAY Mike Congrats

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratulations it is an article that reaches out to many of us.

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Always happy to see a post from you. Congratulations on the too story

  • Edward Jonesabout a year ago

    I admire your aim to be a creative whirlwind, producing different pieces across poetry, music, fiction, and practical articles. Your commitment to variety keeps your output fresh and engaging.

  • KJ Aartilaabout a year ago

    Always interesting to see what goes on in a fellow creators head - :) Thanks for sharing!

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    Hearted this is so relatable 🥰 I do get inspired by the friends from the vocal community Facebook group. Thanks for sharing your love and expertise . Stay nice as you are with healthy boundaries 🥳👌

  • Creative whirlwind, that's exactly what you are! You're so nice to not put out negative stuff. I'm the complete opposite, lol! But it was nice to get to know how you work. Fascinating!

  • Emily Marie Concannonabout a year ago

    I understand, it's hard to stay positive sometimes but I am happy you chose to write!! This was really good 😊

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Your title cracked me up :) I love that you wrote this piece. Your creativity, even when you think you don't have any, is always a joy to read. Thank you for sharing so honestly.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    I'm glad you wrote today! Very relatable!

  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Totally agree with the need to write positive things. We receive what we release after all. Happy writing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.