Confessions logo

That New York Apartment.

It's a love hate relationship

By Nat Published 2 months ago 3 min read
Like
That New York Apartment.
Photo by Zach Miles on Unsplash

I never thought that I would be here I am today. I had so many reasons to run. Of course leaving hurt. It hurt like nothing else in the world and I was supper scared. I was so tired of being the girl that I was. I felt stuck in the place that most others think is so freeing. I’m sorry that I left but it was for the best even though something always felt odd. I watched the city change. I don’t know New York anymore. Someone had to have left first. I knew deep down that it would be me. I don’t think the people I loved knew that I was going to leave the way I did but I knew when I was young that I wouldn’t stay in the city. I did the minimum anyone asked me, always shouting but not to loud. Just trying to blend in with the rage of NYC.

I’m a pretty good ghost. I leave good. I leave how I found it. I left in my nicest jewelry and my pajamas. I went quickly and quietly. I’m sorry for leaving but someone had too. I was so focused on running away I almost forgot what I was running too. I kept thinking that I am flawed if I wasn’t free. Even though I left I still had the feeling like I was in that apartment every time I hear a man yelling.I knew that running away wasn’t going to heal my pain but it was worth a shot. I was ready to spend the rest of my life running if I had too. That apartment didn’t feel like home anymore. The apartment where A lot of good memories happened in was just an apartment now. I still remember the thing my mentor told me that finally pushed me over and made me leave. “Maybe you need to book a plane ticket, leave you will never do it and maybe that is exactly what you need.” So I booked a flight as far away as I could for less than 300 bucks. I finally thought about all of the work I did to get where I am today and it didn’t get me anything. I was doing everything I could to get better but I didn’t feel any better.

There was so much love in that apartment it broke my heart to leave it. Being a person doesn’t come naturally to me the way it seemed for others. People who were so sure of themselves awed me. I studied them and tried to mimic their ease but something never felt right. I am sorry that I left but it was totally for the best. I changed so much but I miss the old me more than I thought I would. I wasn’t afraid of taking the money and what was left of my dignity and getting the heck out. The friends I left behind don’t know what to say.Every time I go back to NYC, I just get angry. I think about everyone I left behind and the people I’ve lost. I never slow down because if I do I and I am all alone, it feels like everything is falling down.Leaving that city changed the helplessness in me. I never pictured me not in that city until I was halfway out the door of that apartment building on the upper east side. When I think about it too much, I could swear that my childhood dog is still a live or that my dead best friend wants to grab a coffee. And I can breathe a little bit easier.

Teenage yearsSecretsHumanityFriendshipFamilyEmbarrassmentChildhood
Like

About the Creator

Nat

She/her/hers

writing about adoption, mental health, and chronic Illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.