Confessions logo

Seventeen Years On Facebook

And I Still Don't Have A Clue

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 8 days ago Updated 7 days ago 3 min read
Pre Facebook Me on Bass in Shirt, Kryz on guitar and hair and Steve on drums

Introduction

I have been on Facebook for seventeen years, as long as I have been running my blog which you can visit here, and it seems every day that Facebook finds one more way to confound and annoy us. Seven Days In is here if you wish to explore it, although since joining Vocal is has just become a repository for observations on books that I read with the odd extra:

I've included "25 Years" by The Hawklords even though I have only been on Facebook for seventeen years, but no doubt I will still be around in eight years time.

But This Is About My Time On Facebook

Around 2007 my friend Kate sent me an email to join this thing called Facebook and I have been here since then.

In my time on Facebook I have met new friends, lost friends, fallen out with people or rather they have fallen out with me for various reasons but I am still here despite the odd ban.

There have been numerous pseudo alternatives to Facebook which seem to have come and gone (they may still be about) but it seems that Facebook is still the Social Media Hub of choice for most of the world.

I still feel is like a bus service that often deviates from the expected route, breaks down and sometimes drops you in the middle of somewhere that you don't want to be.

One of my problems is that the facilities of Facebook can sometimes work and other times seem to be designed to make you fail. My modus operandi is always to find a way of making it do what I want but I don't always succeed in getting my way.

We are often hit by its seemingly arbitrary censorship while seeing other posters get away with virtual murder.

Sometimes the issues are big and sometimes they are tiny but annoying. There are many times when things behave inconsistently on Facebook and there is no one to ask for the reason that these things happen, so it is up to us to find an acceptable workaround.

Despite the issues we have with Facebook on many fronts, it has many positives, or most people would not stay on here.

It has allowed me to reconnect with old friends as far away as Australia and New Zealand as well my place of origin Preston, and allows me to keep in touch with friends and events on Tyneside and Wearside. I am fairly open on Facebook so often get requests from undesirables but that is the nature of the beast and they are easy to block.

One excellent thing is it reminds me of the birthdays of Facebook friends, and that has often saved embarrassment on my part.

Up til April 2021, Facebook was something that I used sparingly, but then I signed up with Vocal (which is where you are reading this). I then found Vocal Groups where I have made some amazing friends, and my Facebook friend list went up from about three hundred to over five hundred. They and many other Vocal friends who are not on Facebook have helped my writing improve and made me a very successful Vocal Creator.

So the combination of Vocal and Facebook has been amazingly beneficial, and for me, there is no doubt that Facebook and Vocal are far more than the sum of their parts.

Conclusion

I really don't know how much of Facebook works. For this post, I was trying to find when I started on Facebook (which I am sure is available somewhere) but I had to check my friendship with Kate and that started on Facebook in early 2007.

Thank you for reading, and for being a Vocal or Facebook friend or both, I really appreciate your support.

WorkplaceSecretsHumanityFriendship

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Mariann Carroll7 days ago

    Have 17 Facebook Anniversary 🥳🥳🥳

  • Mariann Carroll7 days ago

    Facebook certainly keep us connected. I have not seen any new features since they they are phasing into Meta. Appreciate this story. I love your Birthday greeting post trademark on Facebook, Mike . Thanks for starting my day special with your Facebook post. 🥰🥳

  • Staringale7 days ago

    Your experience with facebook sounds like a wonderful journey. 17 years - that's impressive. I am afraid I can't relate with you. Since I have yet to join facebook. But I must say this post is great.

  • I've been on Facebook since 2009 so it's been 15 years for me. Wow. Time really flies hahahaha

  • Ameer Bibi8 days ago

    Great journey of yours on fb Like your adventures

  • Babs Iverson8 days ago

    Congratulations on 17 years on Facebook!!! Loved your article!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Sweileh 8888 days ago

    hank you, I am happy with your exciting stories. Follow my stories now

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.