Confessions logo

Love is Avoidance Of Unrealistic Expectations:

Be Upfront With Others If You Want Something In Return

By Mariann CarrollPublished 2 months ago Updated 2 months ago 3 min read
13
Author Collection Photo

I love to give love. This latest Challenge, I decided to enter.

I will figure out what community to submit this story to after its completed.

Many of you may know, I am a sucker for romance. I always wanted a happy ending love story. Happy Ever After sort of speak story.

I come to realize, that it’s important to love ourselves first properly and healthy way before we can hunt for true love.

I had crushes and I fell on my face several times, in an unrealistically search for romance. This time around, I will let the hunter be the hunter. Lol. I thought I was unworthy of being loved because of the traumatic abuse I experienced as a child.

I avoided young men in college like a plague. Some were unavoidable, they tracked down where I lived. I gracefully accept guys pursuing me in college by listening to them but not committing to any relationship.

I wanted to finish college without distractions. ( Without getting emotionally attached that I lost focus of my goals) I am easily distracted. I wanted to prove my mom wrong so I could complete my college and obtain a college degree. I will be honest, I loved college because of the wonderful friends I made. I love being active in helping others. My first volunteer work started in college. We sponsor an Orphanage for Christmas.

I love people. I love to sit and listen to people tell their stories. My first community volunteer work was in hospice care. My mom died of cancer, I was not able to take care of her because I was going through my divorce. My guilt lead me to do hospice volunteer work. I went through the one-day training requirement. My first hospice patient was a retired police officer. He was a delight. He shared so many stories of his life. He knew he was dying but he was always cheerful.

Where am I going with this? Love does not have to stop just with family and friends. It could be with perfect strangers as well.

Having a conversation is love. Love is giving and receiving. My favorite word in the whole wide world is love. It takes a great understanding and compassion to give and receive love. Everyone has something important to tell. Love is just being respectful.

Yes, I found love in many ways but I am still trying to find my romantic love. Who knows it might find me at the right time this time around. I am divorced, I just found out recently my ex-husband was arrested and will be in prison for 12 years according to the person who put him there. It was bittersweet news because I worry the effect it might have on my dearest daughter. My ex-husband's behaviors were never about love but about hurting others in his process of getting what he wanted.

I do not believe in the philosophy, "The End Justify The Means"

What does romantic love mean to me? Sharing my life and enjoying each other company unconditionally. Cooking together and having the same interests. Surprising each other. Traveling with each other without having any standard expectations. Never putting each other down but uplifting each other. If there is something that concerns us, we can discuss it lovingly without malice or controlling the other person.

Love is being in control of your happiness and emotions. I don’t expect others to make me happy. I just expect them to respect me and appreciate who I am as a person.

While I am still living on this earth, I will keep spreading the spirit of love.

Thanks for reading, I love you! Happy Valentine’s Day 2024!

Love has no expectations do you agree unless it was agreed upon and communicated?

Stream of ConsciousnessHumanityFriendshipFamilyEmbarrassment
13

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (13)

Sign in to comment
  • Ali SP2 months ago

    I love your reflection on this topic and how you mentioned different types of love. I hope you are able to one day experience romantic love again but I can tell from this piece that you love with your whole heart and share it with others.

  • ROCK 2 months ago

    I am so into showing love to strangers; it freaks them out! I like your style!

  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Love, a topic I avoid as much as possible. You sound like you have it covered Mariann, all the reasons to expect love to be divided among the many, and yes, self love i believe is the key to it all. Great entry.

  • Matthew Mccahey2 months ago

    Yes! Love comes from many sources and its meant to be shared with everyone

  • Hannah Moore2 months ago

    It sounds like you already have a lot of love in your life.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    You are a beautiful person and I hope someone worthy finds you!

  • Thanks for sharing this story… ‘ Love does not have to stop just with family and friends. It could be with perfect strangers as well. Having a conversation is love. Love is giving and receiving.’ Very true.

  • I don’t believe in the ends justifies the means either. So much evil has been done under that philosophy. This was such an honest piece. Easily my favorite story by you I’ve read. Well done Mariann

  • Oh wowww, he's arrested? That's awesomeeee! Like finallyyyyyy you are free from him! 12 years, I hope he learns his lesson!

  • Happy Valentine's Day, Mariann. May you discover love (including romantic) every bit as abundant & full as the love you exude among us each & every day.

  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Dear Mariann - So will you be 'Cooking up a Cake' with a Hack-Saw for your Ex, Then? Just Lovely to Love and be Loved; never a forced emotion. Jay, Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Mariann, loved your story!!! Respect is an important part if love!!!💕♥️♥️

  • JBaz2 months ago

    Keep on being you, there is nothing wrong with having romance in our lives

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.