Confessions logo

I Put The Coffee In The Washing Machine!

A Confession To My Family.

By Carol TownendPublished 8 days ago 3 min read
I Put The Coffee In The Washing Machine!
Photo by Mike Kenneally on Unsplash

Dear Family,

Yes, I know before I start writing that you are going to laugh at me, so go ahead and do it!

I confess;

Yesterday, I put the coffee in the washing machine!

It was one of those days when I woke up with too many 'to-dos' on my list. You know, those days when your brain walks through a million to-do lists, while your eyes scream at you to go to sleep?

I had just finished putting the clean clothes away.

It took me two hours to put them away because the basket was overflowing with clothes, and then I decided it was time to make a nice cup of coffee. I boiled the kettle, placed my cup on the worktop, and added the coffee, milk, and sugar. I put everything in the right place (or so I thought)!

Anyway, feeling blurry-eyed; I decided to put a load of clothes in the washing machine.

Oops!

Bad mistake when you're tired!!

I picked up a load of dirty towels, but I didn't notice that I was still holding the coffee jar in my hands!

I was certain that I had put the coffee in the cupboard where it belonged!

I threw the towels into the washing machine, and I was just about to add the laundry capsules when I suddenly noticed that, by magic, there was coffee powder all over the towels,

and I had no idea why!

At first, I thought it might have been some rogue coffee powder that had escaped into the laundry basket, and rudely decided to decorate my towels with a new color.

However; given the fact that milk has ended up in the freezer, and sugar has ended up in the fridge before, and given the fact that the coffee jar mysteriously turned up in the bathroom a few days ago, I decided to empty the washing machine and double check, then,

"dum...dum...dum!"

I felt something cylinder-shaped, cold, and hard in the drum, just below the towels.

I thought it might have been one of the grandchildren's toys. I know that kids do that, it was a classic with our own!

I rolled it under the towels, while I tried to work out what it was.

I had to pull over twenty towels out of the washing machine because they had wrapped their smelly cloth fingers around the jar, and tangled around it!

I found the culprit and tried to ease it out without spilling the amazing expanding brown stuff inside the washing machine.

I got it out, but as the coffee jar had decided that my washing machine was the toilet, I had to scrape the stuff out of the drum and clean it three times before we could use it!

I'm not sorry for making you have to go to the shop and replace the jar, even though it was my fault! After all, I am the washer-woman in the house, and I do wash enough smelly socks, underpants, and knickers to warrant it.

Besides mine and my daughter's socks always get lost when my husband decides to use the washing machine, so I can be excused for my daft mistake!

My husband has even tried to put cheese in the kettle before now!

So;

Dear family!

I have a confession to make,

It was me who put the coffee in the washing machine, and no I don't feel guilty for it.

Why should I?

My husband thinks we drink cheese, and washing machines get hungry too. I was only feeding it, just like I feed my family!

Is that a good enough excuse...for you?

Go ahead...laugh at me!

Stream of ConsciousnessSecretsHumanityFamilyEmbarrassment

About the Creator

Carol Townend

Fiction, Horror, Sex, Love, Mental Health, Children's fiction and more. You'll find many stories in my profile. I don't believe in sticking with one Niche! I write, but I also read a lot too.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • The Dani Writer5 days ago

    I'm just rolling and resonating in the "Moms have too much ish to do all the time" part. Sometimes I just wanna run awaaaaaaaaay!!! Glad you wrote this and not laughing at you at all. One time, I was so tired I tried to pour cereal into my herbal tea. Adulting is NOT supposed to be like this. I blame the era we're living in and plan to live off-grid like a wild woman. Wanna come with? 😁

  • shanmuga priya8 days ago

    It's a little absent-minded moments which we all experience....and humour in our little mistakes..... thank you for sharing.

  • XD Well at least it wasn't broken?

Carol TownendWritten by Carol Townend

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.