Poets logo

I loved You Enough

A Conversation Poem

By Ali SPPublished 6 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
I loved You Enough
Photo by Christopher Beloch on Unsplash

Look at you. What happened to you?

I look at myself every day. I don't need someone to tell me to.

Life has its way of changing people; it has changed you.

People may have a way of changing people. Sometimes it's up to you.

Do you think you haven't changed?

Do you think you're the same?

This isn't about me, it's about you.

So am I not to ask questions, too?

Ah, you find this amusing. I see.

No, we are quick to point fingers when we should look internally.

I see what you're trying to do.

I am not trying to do anything. This is about me and you.

I remember our first date. You were the one who taught me to skate.

I remember it, too. Your father was mad I brought you home late.

What happened to us—being together felt good.

You're forgetting that your parents wouldn't let you marry a man from the hood.

I didn't care what they said, I wanted a life with you.

You did care because you chose to leave when I told you not to.

What did you expect me to do?

To stand up for me, to stay because I told you I loved you.

So why did you come back after all this time?

The same reason you did. I missed home. A part of me missed you, too.

I am sorry I didn't stay.

I understand. Your children are beautiful, by the way.

I thought you'd come after me. I did try to wait.

I loved you enough to know that another man would be a better mate.

I know you didn't want children.

And I knew having them would make you happy.

You made me happy.

I couldn't let you sacrifice that for me.

I had hoped that I would see you again. I am surprised it became a reality.

I had hoped that if I did, I'd let you know I loved you enough to give you up so you could have a family.

sad poetryFamily

About the Creator

Ali SP

Ali has found a renewed passion for reading and creating. It is now a form of expression for her– another creative outlet which she works to improve upon.

https://www.instagram.com/art.ismyrefuge/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (24)

  • Tiffany Gordon about 8 hours ago

    So Poignant and well-written!!

  • Gloria Penelopeabout 14 hours ago

    Great job, sad but nice and interesting. Congratulations on top story!

  • Darkosabout 15 hours ago

    Beautiful and sad at the same time great poem! Congratulations on the Top story :) !

  • D.K. Sheparda day ago

    Incredible work! This was such an intense conversation with such powerful lines! Congrats on Top Story!

  • Excellent work, such a realistic and well executed piece about postmortems In relationships

  • Nice work!!

  • Sarah Daniela day ago

    Your words are deeply touching and heartfelt. The way you express love through sacrifice and the complexity of your emotions is profoundly moving. Thank you for sharing this beautiful and poignant message.

  • angela hepworth2 days ago

    So painful and powerful. Amazing TS!

  • Sher2 days ago

    👏 Amazing. Very profound.

  • shanmuga priya2 days ago

    Congratulations 🎉 on your top story.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Congrats on top story too! 🤩🥳

  • Aw this brought tears to my eyes, so so relatable 🥰

  • Alyssa Nicole2 days ago

    I love this poem! It is so real and relatable. Congrats on Top Story! 🎉

  • Congrats on TS

  • Ameer Bibi2 days ago

    Really well done job Congratulations on TS

  • Hannah Moore5 days ago

    This really speaks to the complexities of love.

  • Manisha Dhalani5 days ago

    Wow, this one was felt. Great poem.

  • Sometimes, love is doing what's best for the person we love, although it's erasing ourselves from the equation. This was so poignant and emotional. Loved your take on the challenge!

  • Really sweet.

  • Andrea Corwin 6 days ago

    What a conversation! That is love, loving enough to let go so they can fulfill their desires. Nice job!

  • Babs Iverson6 days ago

    Pulls at the heartstrings!!! Loved it!!!♥♥♥

  • Nice perspective about the changes of lives. Liked it Ali.

Ali SPWritten by Ali SP

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.