Fiction logo

Still Using

Belle's Unofficial Challenge, The Conviction June 2024

By Andrea Corwin Published 6 days ago Updated 6 days ago 2 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Still Using
Photo by LinkedIn Sales Solutions on Unsplash

This is for Belle's: The Conviction [an unofficial challenge] June 2024 Write a story that includes, at some point, the sentence, "I did what I had to do."

"Hey, Mom."

"Eddie! Oh, Honey, I am so relieved to hear from you! It's been so long."

"Not that long."

"Eighteen months."

"Nah, it's not been that long, Mom."

"I have been so worried not hearing from you all this time."

"I called."

"You did? When? I never got any messages."

"I don't know, what difference does it make?"

He sounds so anxious. He's still using.

"It's okay, it doesn't matter; I was just worried."

"And now you're not, right? We're talking now, and there's nothing to worry about!"

"So, how are things? Are you working? Where are you living?"

"Uh…yeah, I'm working."

"That's wonderful; where, what are you doing?"

"I don't want to talk about that."

"Okay. Do you want to come for dinner?"

"No, it takes me at least an hour and a half to drive to your place with all the traffic. It costs too much in gas."

"Well, I'll give ya a twenty for the gas. Come for dinner!"

"Ma, I don't want to come for dinner. Anyway, it's too far to drive on an outstanding warrant."

"An outstanding warrant! For what?"

"Doesn't matter."

"What is it for?"

“Oh, for crissakes, Ma. I didn't appear for a speeding ticket."

"Why would there be a warrant for that?"

"I was doing ninety-five in a sixty-five. The ticket required me to come to court before the judge because my speed was so excessive. I didn't go and didn't pay the ticket. It was seven hundred fifty dollars!"

"Eddie, you have to stop this crap. Are you driving on a suspended license?"

"Oh, here we go. I KNEW it. THAT is why I haven't called ya. 'Cause every time I call, I get the third degree. I need three hundred dollars to pay my utility bill. They will cut off the lights if I don't pay it."

By Pepi Stojanovski on Unsplash

"Three hundred! Haven't you paid it in a while?"

"Will you give it to me or not?"

"Give me the utility company's name and your account number, and I will pay it directly to them."

"You are such a bitch! Just give me the money, will ya?"

"I said I would pay the bill for you."

"I want to pay it, so give me the money. You don't trust me."

"Should I trust you, Eddie?"

"Every time I ask you for anything, especially money, you say no. I hate you!"

"I love you." Oh, he hung up, and it was a blocked number.

Well, I did what I had to do.

#addicted #toughlove

PsychologicalShort StoryMicrofictionLovefamily

About the Creator

Andrea Corwin

🐘Wildlife 🌳 Environment 🥋3rd°

Pieces I fabricate, without A.I. © 2024 Andrea O. Corwin

https://atmospherepress.com/interview-with-andrea-corwin/

Instagram @andicorwin

Threads @andicorwin

X - no holds barred! @andiralph

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (18)

  • Denise E Lindquistabout 6 hours ago

    Congratulations on your top story! 🎉🎉🎉

  • Michelle Liewabout 11 hours ago

    Back in to say congrats on your top story!

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • M. Leea day ago

    So real. Too real. Loved it-- Great job, Andrea! :-)

  • Rachel Deeming2 days ago

    Hard read for so many reasons. You just want to take care of them but when that means not giving them what they want for their own good, it takes a strong parent not to succumb to demands. Just realised too that I'm not subscribed to you and have no idea how that's been overlooked. Rectified now.

  • Michelle Liew6 days ago

    Children. Can't live with them, can't live without them! She did it the right way.

  • Whoaaaaa, he called his mom a bitch??? That's soooo rude! I'm so glad she didn't give him the money. Loved your story!

  • CHRISTIAN P6 days ago

    Nice

  • Hannah Moore6 days ago

    It's just so painful. I've known many a parent on this road.

  • ROCK 6 days ago

    Heartbreaking reality for so many parents and families. Well done scenario of an all too relatable tale.

  • Love this, keep up the good work.

  • Carol Townend6 days ago

    I can relate to this. It's the attitude some of my own grown up kids take when I say no, and there is more to why they asked than they let on. This is a great story

  • Caroline Craven6 days ago

    Gosh I forgot this was a story for a second - this was so realistic and so well written I felt like I was eavesdropping. Great work.

  • Mark Gagnon6 days ago

    I wonder how many thousands of phone calls are just like this one? Great portrayal, Andrea

  • Lana V Lynx6 days ago

    This is so hard on everyone, but the mother - the most. So much angst and love, and you can’t help them if they don’t want to stop using. Excellent story, Andrea.

  • angela hepworth6 days ago

    Genuine and absolutely poignant, Andrea! I’m sure many, many people can relate to having once been this person or knowing a person like this. Addiction is no joke.

  • Kodah6 days ago

    Always calling for the wrong things! Love the meaning behind this, incredible story, Andrea! 💌

  • John Cox6 days ago

    This is an exceptional story, Andrea. Absolutely raw and real! Addicts only ever call if they need something.

Andrea Corwin Written by Andrea Corwin

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.