Confessions logo

I Have Achieved Nothing On Vocal

This Title Is Clickbait But This Is About All The Good Things I Found On My Tenure With Vocal

By Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Published about a year ago • 3 min read

Introduction

The title is pure clickbait but I look at my friends' profiles and see their Vocal achievements, first place in this challenge, runner up in that challenge and so so on then look at the blank space on mine. This piece is going to be super positive.

I see that space as a place on the mantlepiece waiting to be filled by a trophy.

And so onwards

My Observations On What Achievement Is For Me

I have written many articles on my reasons for joining Vocal and at times have been very despondent about how I saw things going but always came out of those troughs, mainly for the reasons that I will detail in the final paragraph of this piece.

I remember getting bonuses for writing five and ten stories on Vocal, and another bonus for putting a heart on fifteen other creators' stories. I started thinking that even if I didn't get any reads, the bonuses would cover my subscription costs.

The thing is the more you write the fewer bonuses there are for hitting milestones. I got some bonuses for "Awesome Stories" which was a nice thing to get but didn't create extra reads because it was not featured on Vocal like a Top Story, so it was just a tiny pecuniary win and a bit of recognition from Vocal.

I really was not feeling up to scratch then a couple of one-dollar tips (I feel I have mentioned this a million times from Call Me Les and my first Top Story made me field successful and that I had actually achieved something worthwhile on Vocal.

At one time this was my most read and hearted story but now sits on page four of my stats, but I felt that I had arrived.

Since these things happened, generally, my read counts have been more than enough to cover my subscriptions, and when you add Vocal bonuses and Ambassador payments I am not short of coffee money, that is for sure.

In eighteen years of my Seven Days In Blog, I have probably made around a hundred pounds from advertising and links, although it is now primarily a diary though I do need to address the popup adverts, but it is what it is.

Financially my Vocal tenure in two years has blasted that out of the water, so I see that as an achievement and a major success.

Since joining Vocal I feel I have become reasonably proficient in writing fiction and poetry, as well as articles like this, plus many on musical subjects such as playlists and album reviews. I had not done anything like that on Seven Days In.

So again more successes and achievements just from being on Vocal.

I do find Vocal Challenges great for prompting my writing, so more than others, and I think there is only one challenge that I was unable to enter because the subject did nothing for me.

I am also a Top Creator in Confessions and Beat so Vocal definitely do rate me, I see these as more success and achievement.

The Greatest Treasure I Have Gained From Being A Vocal Member

This is the number of incredible friends I have made in my two years with Vocal. My friends have encouraged me, helped me, been there when I needed someone and kept me going when I felt like walking out.

My friends suggest ideas to me, chat with me, and make me feel valued and that my work is worthwhile.

A few of them are on my profile (the idea behind this is about to become a Vocal Resource but you can read the original "At The Touch Of A Button" article at the end of this article)

I will complete this with links to some stories that list many more friends and great Facebook Groups.

Thank you for reading, being my friend and making me feel valued, and that I am successful and have achieved something on Vocal.

The lyrics to the Carpenters' "Top Of The World" is perfect for the way I am feeling at this moment in time.

Bad habitsSecretsHumanityFriendship

About the Creator

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎ ♫

X ÖŽ In ÖŽ YT (0.2m) ÖŽ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me Les ♥ Gina ♥ Heather ♥ Caroline ♥

Babs ♥ ROCK ♥ Dhar ♥ Cathy ♥ Judey ♥ Anna ♥

Daphsam ♥ Misty ♥ Melissa ♥ Ma Coombs ♥

Carol ♥

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    I had no doubt this would have a positive swing, as well as being relatable. Well done.

  • Lol, I knew this would be something positive! It would be nice if they displayed Top Creator on our profiles as well just like Challenge Placements! For example, in your profile, under achievements, they should list that you're Top Creator for Confessions and Beat. That would be nice!

  • Julia Schulzabout a year ago

    An old college friend on Vocal encouraged me to jump on board. I haven't been active in a while, but I like your work and have met lots of encouraging people online even if I am low on reads.

  • Yes, best clickbait ever. Thanks for sharing this, Mike, & just for being the wonderful person you are.

  • Judey Kalchik about a year ago

    I like the way you OWNED the clickbait title. Also, keep on keeping on mentioning the things that give you encouragement- not only for the new creators and readers, but as a reminder to every that encouragement makes a difference!

Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛Written by Mike Singleton 🌜 Mikeydred 🌛

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.