Confessions logo

A Reflection

Some Thoughts On My Mind

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
12
Image by Mike Singleton from Pixabay

Introduction

These are just some thoughts on things. I am working and looking out the window and the birds flying and dodging through the grey skies like the ideas in my head, waiting to be woven into some tale or pattern to flow from my fingers.

The main point of this is just to stimulate me into creating more stories to be published by me on Vocal.

The music is "Reflections" by Diana Ross and The Supremes

One More Step

I keep a positive attitude but am becoming more solitary on Vocal.

I have done a few excellent collaborations with my Vocal Sister Melissa so I know that I can work well with others. This was one of the pieces I worked on with Melissa:

So I will plough on and create pieces that I think are worthy of publication. Many of my regular readers are Vocal only and I try and reciprocate with them.

A Squirrel And Leaves

I love seeing things when I look out of the window or go for a walk and then think about how they could be linked and put together into a story. I love chatting with others to bounce ideas off each other to create stories, poetry, and tales.

Cows On The Town Moor

When I am out I see what the weather does, blowing leaves in swirling patterns reflected in the way the birds fly above, cats and dogs running around in gardens, cows on the Town Moor.

Outside it is raining, which means walking means I need to wear the right clothes, and that in itself could be a stimulation for a story.

I love art books and anything with images because I can look at them and take ideas for stories. Very often a painting can contain more than one story, which will be different for any creator that uses it for inspiration.

The older we get, there is more that we have to inspire us in our creations, such as music, theatre, film, TV, nature, and more.

Music is a good example. In 1967 it was ten years since Rock and Roll properly hit, and we had the Beach Boys, Beatles, Rolling Stones, and more. We expected that they would have a shelf life of three or four years.

The Rolling Stones recently released "Hackney Diamonds", nearly sixty years on, and where we thought ten-year-old music was history, we are looking at music that is fifty years old that we see as still contemporary.

As we get older, our knowledge and experience are continually growing and giving us more and more raw material to create our stories.

As I am writing this I am listening to "Band On The Run" by Wings the 2010 special edition, but recently a fiftieth anniversary edition has been released.

We could look at this as time disappearing from us, but to me it is just showing me that there is much more for me to experience and take notice of.

Conclusion

I will be coming back to this piece to take its prompts for my stories. Every word and event can be a prompt for me.

The more I write the more I see to write about. There are times when I think I have hit a block but a step back often gives me a different perspective, and that different perspective then gives me a path to follow to find the material for a new story.

I do hope that this has given a few ideas to other creators, to make you realise that everything can be a prompt, absolutely everything.

Thank you so much for being here, without you I would not exist.

Stream of ConsciousnessHumanityFriendshipBad habits
12

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Upon further reflection.... Nope, I've got nothing. But I have a feeling you do.

  • Ashley Shiflett3 months ago

    Excellent article! I enjoy reading your work. The music is always spot on! ❤️

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Nicely said.

  • marie e ehlenbach3 months ago

    A nice article, says a lot!

  • Vocal wouldn't be Vocal without you, so thank you so much for being here too Mike! We love you! 🥰🥰🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.