Beat logo

Songs Inspired By The Good Book

Music That Represents the Good In The Bible

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
8
An AI Creation By The Author

Introduction

I bought a fifty-year-old album "The Good Book" by Melanie while on holiday and it inspired this story here.

I think the Bible has some good moral codes but a lot of terrible ideas as well and often the right-wing Christians take those to oppress others.

I know and am friendly with a lot of wonderful religious people who know and practice moral values.

This is a vaguely good playlist to uplift your soul and some may touch on religion but all will make you feel better and give you good feelings, well they do for me and I hope they do for me too.

So here we go, listen to these and you will feel good, I promise.

"The Good Book" by Melanie Safka

I really didn't expect the beauty of this song, lyrically beautiful, I chose one set in my linked post but here are some more.

Give the poet a poem and the singer a song

And then tell us you love us

So we don't feel alone.

"I Still Have Faith In You" by ABBA

When ABBA released "Voyage", I was a little apprehensive. I like a lot of their music, and when they hit they really do hit the target, but I often find their albums patchy, even though I have every one of them.

I played this when I bought it on a recommendation, the first time I thought it was OK. Then I played it again and this song, starts out slightly trit but the chorus is absolutely gorgeous, and the songs on the rest of the album started to fall into place.

I now think this is their best album ever, and this song is just perfect and does not sound trite at all now to me.

I still have faith in you

It stands above the crazy things we did

It all comes down to love

"Converted" by The Alabama 3

This is a fire and brimstone call to worship, probably not what you would expect but I love this band and think they are one of the greatest live experiences that you will ever see.

Lots of their songs have an evangelical feel and below is the story of when I took an atheist friend of mine to see them.

Now all sing

"Let's Go Back To Church

Let's Go Back To Church

Been So Damned Long Since I Sang This Song

Let's Go Back To Church"

"Estimated Prophet" by The Grateful Dead

This is probably the song that got me into the Grateful Dead, it is unusually in 7/4 time and while not religious as such, I think its chorus and the use of the word prophet in the title, deserve its inclusion in this playlist.

California, preaching on the burning shore

California, I'll be knocking on the golden door

Like an angel, standing in a shaft of light

Rising up to paradise, I know, I'm gonna shine

"Lazarus" by David Bowie

I think this was written when David realised the end of his time on earth was near. It does sound ominous but is a narration of looking down from heaven, but it is still a wonderful song with lots of pertinent points in the lyrics.

Look up here, I'm in heaven

I've got scars that can't be seen

I've got drama, can't be stolen

Everybody knows me now

"Angels" by Robbie Williams

Probably his best-loved song, and a good way to complete this playlist, full of emotion, and hope that you have enjoyed these selections. They are all favourites of mine.

I know that life won't break me

When I come to call

She won't forsake me

I'm loving angels instead

playlistsong reviewscelebritiesbands90s music80s music70s music60s music
8

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    All these songs were really good! I enjoyed themA

  • Lovely playlist, Mike.

  • Rasma Raisters7 months ago

    An awesome playlist. Nice song choices.

  • Veronica Coldiron7 months ago

    Another wonderful playlist. All of the lyrics in this list were amazing. I'm "attached" to Melanie Safka in kind of a weird way. At one of my shows, I had done a lot of Janis Joplin, Joan Biaz, and Sarah MacLachlan and a couple caught up with me while I taking a break. They asked me if I could do "Lay Down, (Candles in the Rain)", but I'd never heard it. I did promise to do it for them at my next show though and learned it. There was something so soulful about it, I work very hard not to cry when I'm performing that one. She has some great tunes. All of these were gorgeous and do really make you feel good. On a side note, I loved David Bowie. He wasn't just an excellent performer who influenced millions of young people to be who they are, he was such a great supporter of his fellow musicians. They just don't make them like him any more. Thank you for posting this! It made my morning. Now I have to go read a bunch of Cathy's stuff so she can get to her 13k mark. LOL! Have a great day! 🥰

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Interesting song choices! Enjoyed 🩷

  • Mariann Carroll7 months ago

    Awesome 💓

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.