Beat logo

A Song Of Vocal Tales

A Playlist Of Vocal Stories. Some Music That I Think Goes With Some Vocal Stories

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
7
Some Stories That I Liked

Introduction

Almost every piece I publish on Vocal has a piece of music to go with it. I used to have a Facebook page called "For Everything In My Life There Is A Song" and very often when I read stories, a song or piece of music will come to mind.

So I thought, why not pick a few stories and a song that, for me goes with them? They won't all be top stories and many may be by close friends but I would love to know what you think of the story/song pairings I share, especially if one of these is yours.

I've just realised that I had commented my thoughts on these pieces when I liked them so all I can really say is who it's by, a few words and then the music I have chosen, so this may have a few more songs than my normal playlists, my apologies for the lack of words and surfeit of stories and music.

For this piece, I have chosen "Yor Song " by Elton John.

The first one that jumped out at me was Caroline Jane's "Haiku Honey" in which she introduced a challenge in The Vocal Social Society, and if I had written this I would have accompanied it with "Just Like Honey" by The Jesus and Mary Chain.

This positive Rap poem from Darkos made me think of "Harder Than You Think" by Public Enemy and hard-hitting piece of positivity.

This wonderful poem from Lena Borondia called to mind the wonderful "Learning To Fly" by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers.

This lovely canine-related poem from Judy Kalchik brought to mind "I Love My Dog" by Yusuf Islam when he was Cat Stevens.

This is a wonderful self-introduction by Dawn Earnshaw that definitely deserves many more reads. This morning I was listening to "Who I Am" by Beverley Night and I used it for my Instagram #TabletArt. This is a wonderful acappella song.

Lamar Wiggins ode to the comfort of pillows led me to the first Pink Floyd song in this playlist, "A Pillow Of Winds" from "Meddle" and I think that the video is just perfect for Lamar's poem.

The image that Call Me Les used for this wonderful creep folk tale made me think of the Hut of Baba Yage from Moussorgski's "Pictures at an Exhibition"

In Slavic folklore, Baba Yaga is an ogress who steals, cooks and eats her victims, usually children. A guardian of the fountains of the water of life, she lives with two or three sisters (all known as Baba Yaga) in a forest hut that spins continually on birds' legs.

I have decided to use the Emerson Lake and Palme version because it is the first version that I heard.

And I should really include the orchestral version

I loved this wonderful ode to a Tomato from Emma Kate Coleman which also features a beautiful drawing of hers as well. This piece is being done on the fly and I knew that UI had to choose this to include and with no immediate idea for music, then remembered one of my favourite Northern Soul pieces, "Sliced Tomatoes" by The Just Brothers.

I love Gina C's takes on mythology always accompanied by beautiful images, and I think "Rain and Tears" by Aphrodite's Child is a perfect accompaniment for this story.

A darkly humourous piece of microfiction and for this I would choose another Pink Floyd song "Julia Dream" just because of the dream connection. The song is beautiful but I do get dark undertones when I listen, but I still love it.

Conclusion

I have missed so many great stories from this, and for that, I apologise. You know how much I love you. If you check my Vocal profile there are seven great Vocal Creators that you can check out there as well.

I hope you have enjoyed this.

playlistsong reviewsraplistclassicalcelebritiesbandsart90s music80s music70s music60s music
7

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    You are so freaking creative! I'm always amazed at the things that you come up with like the Plagiarist series and now this. So brilliant and I loved it!

  • Excellent selection, Mike. I'd read several of them already, but the reminiscences were nice.

  • Lamar Wiggins7 months ago

    Excellent piece, Mike. With such a variety of music genres in you vast memory banks, you are the music master! Thank you for including me among these great creators. I love Pink Floyd but have never heard that track. And the video was surreal. In fact there are several groups here that I’ve never heard of. I’ve made it through a few of them so far, gonna come back to this after breakfast. Thanks again, Mike! This will probably become a top story.

  • Lilly Cooper7 months ago

    I love this concept! It speaks to how you experience the world. I think we often experience the world with music, but not quite to the same way. A unique idea and really fantastic.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.