Beat logo

Rebound

A Real Record Shop In York

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 3 months ago 3 min read
Rebound York

Introduction

Whenever I am away I always hope to find somewhere where I can buy a record or two, with a preference for vinyl, if I find it interesting enough. I do have a huge CD and digital collection so I seldom buy things in digital format, and the reality is that I don't need any more vinyl but often find something that piques my interest.

Despite the resurgence in vinyl in recent years, largely fired by Record Shop Day, record shop numbers seem to be on the decline, and often it is charity shops where I pick up my purchases.

I am lucky that in Newcastle and Gateshead I have access to several independent record shops which I will list at the end of this piece.

Like Newcastle York has an HMV (HMV stands for His Masters Voice and the logo is a dog looking at an old record player) but look in the shop and there is no music prominently displayed. It is like a bad cheap market stall

So onto the positive aspects of this story.

The Back Room In Rebound

Rebound - CDs and Vinyl In York

Rebound has been a fixture in York for as long as I can remember, and it is great to see it thriving. Its address is 5 Gillygate York and there is a weird Facebook page which says it is unofficial, so you best bet is to phone or call, but will still share the Facebook page which is here.

I know this is awful, but I didn't catch the guy's name though we were talking for ages.

The music that was playing while I was in was jazz, but all genres are catered for in the racks and are easily accessible, and Rebound guy is extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

I looked through the vinyl and thought I wasn't going to get anything. There were a lot that were already esconsed in my record collection. Then in the eighties section I saw the album "Laser Love" by After The Fire. So it was a successful visit.

While he was getting the album I saw the Beatles montage behind him and asked if I could take a photograph of it as my friend Keith Whalen is a huge Beatles fan. He then told me I could have one myself, and he gave me two, one for me and one for Keith.

Lionel Barry Agar created a painting called "The Trojan Horse" in the early 1980s, that has a fascinating story that's never been told, which goes right to the heart of the Beatles Apple Corps.

Andrew Dixon, tells us about it in the video below:

If you are ever in York this place is worth a visit, whatever your music tastes. I came away with a piece of vinyl that I will enjoy, an interesting Beatles poster, and some great conversation.

Though the shop is not huge it does have a feeling of space, and you feel completely at ease browsing there. So many shops, even big ones make customers feel incredibly cramped because every bit of space is packed with products they are trying to get you to buy. Ironically Apple stores are full of space but they are as attractive to me as a vacuum.

If you are in York, give Rebound a visit, you never know what you might find.

Conclusion and that Record Shop List

Thank you for reading. I really appreciate your support. Here is a list of record shops in the area that I frequent and I will finish it with my online second-hand CD shop. There will be ones I have missed but I will add any I have forgotten at some point.

The music is "JOy" the second track on the "Laser Love" album that I bought.

Reflex Newcastle

vintagevinylproduct reviewpop culturehistoryfeaturebands80s music60s music

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Chloe Gilholy3 months ago

    One of my fav things about going to cities is visiting the independent book and record shops. York is somewhere where I’ve wanted to go for a long time.

  • Wonderful & serendipitous find, Mike. And the video of "The Trojan Horse" is fascinating (though Apple doesn't come off very well, lol).

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I don't think we have any shops like this anymore round here 🤔

  • Christy Munson3 months ago

    All of my favorite local and regional music and record shops have closed, and it breaks my heart. I had to go into a replacement store last week and I felt such uncontrollable heartbreak at seeing the new goods standing in for the old goods, which were better than good. I feel for the generations that came along after record stores were the place to find anything and everything. Anyway, loved your story!

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.