Writers logo

Hey, you!

A letter to any Vocal writer that needs a little reassurance

By BellePublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 2 min read
https://ca.pinterest.com/pin/826269862915919995/

Psst! Hey, you! Yes, you! There's something I want to tell you! I don't think you've heard it today, maybe not even this week, or this month! Ah, how dreadful... But I need to tell you!

You are an amazing writer. I know, I know, I know. You think I'm just saying that. I'm not! Scouts honour!

You are an amazing writer! You don't give yourself enough credit for that, you know! You have some great things to talk about. You really do! That draft that's been sitting in your Stories for the past week, it's a good idea! Don't scrap it! Keep workshopping it!

I know you've been stalking your stats page like a hawk. I'm here to tell you, don't sweat it! The reads might not be there right now, but your work isn't dependent on that! You've got this great streak going. Don't lose it! Keep at it!

That post you made a few days ago that only got a couple of likes? It's going to be a Top Story next week! Just you wait! I know it!

You weren't on the leaderboard this week? Hmm... Well, you're on a roll right now! Keep it up and you'll be on there in no time!

Also–that thing you're going through right now that's making it hard to write, that's draining your energy, it's going to pass soon. It's a hard thing, but it won't be here always. It's going to pass quick, and you'll be right back on track in no time.

That one draft you've had for a while that you wanted to edit but never got around to it... Post it! It doesn't matter if it's a little unorganized or if the grammar isn't perfect. I bet it's better than you think it is! Just go for it!

That one post you made that you're a little bit embarrassed about–maybe you think it's not solid enough or that there are too many mistakes, or you're anxious that there are plot holes, or maybe that it isn't flowy enough, it is better than you think it is! You have more talent than you give yourself credit for! Don't be so hard on yourself!

You're doing amazing as a writer! So keep it up! You've gotta relax a little bit, ease up on yourself, okay? That person there is strong, and worthy, and valuable, and I need them here on Vocal! They deserve to be here, and they deserve to feel good about what they post! Don't make them feel so bad, okay?

You've got this in the bag! That challenge you've been staring at for the past week and aren't sure how to tackle it, DO IT! You've got it! That idea you've had or that draft you haven't gotten to... DO IT! All you've gotta do is start, and the rest will work itself out. You've got it down pat!

And I'll be right here waiting to read it! I'm sure it is going to blow me away!

Please feel free to comment one of your works that you'd like to boost a bit, especially those that you weren't quite sure about or wanted some feedback on! I'd love to read it.

Sincerely,

your Vocal cheerleader.

LifeWriter's BlockVocalShoutoutProcessInspirationGuidesCommunityAdviceAchievements

About the Creator

Belle

I host unofficial challenges and enjoy writing microfiction and poetry.

ALL EYES ON RAFAH. 35k+ murdered in Palestine. 80k+ injured. 25k orphaned. ~10k missing/under rubble.

Top Stories:

2023 - SEPT

2024 - MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY | JUNE

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Khan30 days ago

    I really needed to hear this. This was such a sweet piece. 😘 I'm definitely gonna read some of your stories. ❤️

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Well-wrought! Encouragement is a great thing to add to the grab bag, and an introduction to your excellent work is welcome there in the comment section of my CREATION MYTH! https://vocal.media/poets/creation-myth-m8dm0x8d I've seen many improve their craft here, as well as their selves! It's a wonder to behold!

  • Silver Serpent Booksabout a month ago

    This is really such a sweet post! Every writer needs to hear it, so don't forget to say it back to yourself! You're a great writer and a wonderful part of this community!! 🩷

  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Great idea and you're so sweet to put this out there. I'm going to flip your idea on its head, tho, if you're okay with that. I'd like you to respond to my comment with three pieces of yours that I've not read/commented on already. I'll be happy to read those! Thank you!!!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    Awww, this was so sweet of you to do for us. I don't wanna share anything of mine for you to read but I do wanna dedicate this letter of yours to you! 🥰🥰🥰

BelleWritten by Belle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.