Viva logo

Love Is .

What if God is a Wom(B)an?

By LOVE IS SERIES . šŸŒ¹Published 4 years ago ā€¢ Updated about a year ago ā€¢ 24 min read
Like
šŸŽµLOVE-Jhene AikošŸŽµ

ā€˜Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.

Iā€™m not cute or built to suit a fashion modelā€™s size

But when I start to tell them,

They think Iā€™m telling lies.

I say,

Itā€™s in the reach of my arms

The span of my hips,

The stride of my step,

The curl of my lips.

Iā€™m a woman

Phenomenally.

Phenomenal woman,

Thatā€™s me.ā€™

Phenomenal Woman 1995

-Maya Angelou

THE CHOSEN ONE āœØ

šŸŽµ Sara Bareilles - She Used To Be MinešŸŽµ

My name is Trashae Layaneseā€™ Bradley. Iā€™m 23 years old and I am a woman. Everything feels , looks , seems so drastically different from the life I created and the version of myself that existed a year ago. A day ago. A moment ago . For every second that passes by I am evolving . Constantly transforming and peeling back the layers of pain, anxiety, heartache, trauma, and generational cycles/curses that kept me bound, spinning in circles on a wickedly wild marry-go-round . Iā€™d like to think these days I am as grounded as the roots of the wisest weeping willow tree . A graceful work in progress . . . Thatā€™s all me .

Iā€™ve discovered that my story truly is no different from HER story. How speaking my truth and sharing it with another woman creates a safe space for her to do the same. My story plus her story becomes history.

I am the creator of the entire concept of ā€˜LOVE ISā€™ . Itā€™s a movement and a way of thinking, being, and doing. I am love. I live it , breathe it , and share it wherever and with whomever is open to receive me. Love is everything. Love is communication, speaking your truth and listening when someone else is speaking their own. Love is a hug, a forehead kiss, a random phone call from someone you miss. Love is apologizing when youā€™ve hurt someone and taking accountability for your actions. Love is unity and support , creating space for someone to express emotion. Love is vulnerability , raw and fucking uncut. Love is messy. Love is beautiful. Love simply. . . Is.

šŸŽµ I Am Changing-Jennifer HudsonšŸŽµ

I am the Storyteller . Love is the movement . These are our truths.

šŸŽµSpeak-Jhene AikošŸŽµ

Women are the most precious jewels on this planet. We literally have managed to create all life that exists. If youā€™re reading this, you came directly from the womb of a woman. A Queen. A Goddess who went through 9 long months of body altering, spirit shifting, emotionally taxing and mentally draining ups and downs just to ensure that you made your way into this world safely.

We are limitless .

THE HEALER šŸŒ¹

šŸŽµ She got her own - SydšŸŽµ

The greatest lesson Iā€™ve learned about being a woman is that loving myself, embracing myself, and putting myself first, is a revolutionary act. I grew up believing that my greatest attribute, the greatest compliment I could receive was, ā€œYou are selfless. You choose to put other peopleā€™s needs before yours, and that is beautiful and makes you valuable.ā€ Realizing that losing my sense of self and constantly believing that everyone elseā€™s needs were more important than mine did not make me valuable. Learning that just as I strive to make otherā€™s feel safe and comfortable, I also deserve to be comfortable, happy, take space, say no, be unapologetic, be emotional, be assertive, put myself first, and so much more, is the greatest lesson I have learned, and am in the process of learning, as I move through my life on this earth.

I love that I value kindness, compassion, and emotional intelligence in myself and in other people. I am deeply sensitive and emotional, and I love the connection those qualities give me to other people and the world around me. I listen very closely to people and am determined to constantly be open to changing my views and opinions based on new things I hear. I am reconnecting to the very fierce and vocal little girl I once was.

I learned self-love after being raped when I was eighteen and getting out of an emotionally and physically abusive relationship. I was left feeling empty and disconnected from my body. It took two years to start unfolding how those experiences shaped me and how they affected my ability to connect to myself and other people. Through a very slow and painful process, I have realized that those two experiences contributed to me losing trust for myself and placing my sense of value in other peopleā€™s hands. I realized I was holding shame and blaming myself for things that had been done to me and that I was looking everywhere for attention or a distraction to escape from feeling so disconnected. Through meditation, dance, therapy, vulnerability, tears, anger, journaling, and an ongoing process of constantly striving to listen to myself, trust myself, love myself, and choose my own safety and desires over making other people comfortable, I am slowly moving towards a sense of connection to my body and a sense of deeply rooted love for myself.

-Saskia Ferrara

July 21st, 2020 9:45 AM

THE INFINITE ONE šŸ’«

šŸŽµLose Myself- Marsha Ambrosius šŸŽµ

The greatest lesson that I have learned is that itā€™s okay to put my needs first. As women, we often forget about the small things that bring us gratification and peace and it can be something as simple as a massage, a new pair of shoes that you caught on sale, or a self care day at a spa. I can almost guarantee that 99.99% of us women have felt guilty after weā€™ve treated ourselves. Do we not deserve to have nice things? Donā€™t we work hard from the second we open our eyes until the moment that our heads hit the pillows? Donā€™t we sacrifice ourselves to ensure that our loved ones can have a better life than we had growing up? Usually the answer is yes, once we are done being The Mother, The Wife, The Maid, The Doctor, The Teacher, and The Financial Advisor. So the next time you start to feel guilty because you splurged a little on something that you would enjoy, ask yourself a very serious question... did anyone bother to the clean the kitchen so that you could cook dinner?! HA! Guilt Justified! Put yourself first Queens.

I was previously in a very toxic relationship for one too many years. Itā€™s crazy because I know that there are so many women that have been in difficult situations and they find it very hard to break away from the very person that held their heart. So I stayed because I desperately wanted him to change, or because I felt unworthy and my self esteem was shot due to all of the verbal/physical abuse. I had to finally look at my children and myself in the mirror and see what was actually happening and what I tried so hard to run away from. I had to realize that I could run all day long but it didn't change the fact that I was damaged and so were the very people I was supposed to protect. I just couldnā€™t allow us to continue to disintegrate any longer. With that being said, I had to get out of the situation. I did and never looked back! I have never been more free in my life *10years free*.

Evelonne Ray-Smith (Aunt by Marriage not Blood) is one of the most inspirational women I have yet to know. All the praises to the most high, this Sista right here was definitely a force to be reckoned with. She was the type of woman who didnā€™t care if she got to ride in the same lane as everyone else. She didnā€™t need to because she was willing to create her own lane. She did just that, up until she left the face of this earth. She was the epitome of what true beauty looks like. A Goddess in human form. When she opened her mouth to speak, the poise words of wisdom commanded your attention. Now donā€™t get it twisted! Just because she knew the word didnā€™t mean that she wouldn't pull your ear and lace you with some serious game! I could not help but to sit at her feet and soak it all in while admiring every single aspect of her. My beloved auntie took me under her wing and raised me like I was her very own to the best of her ability as she dropped gems on me that I have carried inside of me my whole life. I can only pray that I do the same for any young lady that that crosses my path as well.

Evelonne was the very first woman in my life that has ever said the words out loud "You are Beautiful". Letā€™s take a moment to sit in that please. I believe I was about 10 years old when I first met her and up until then , I really cannot recall a time when any other female in my life has said those words to me. Not my own Mother, Grandmother, ect! She taught me that my black was beautiful just the way it was. She gave me the confidence that I needed and always let it be known it was ok for me to be different and that I didn't have to look like the other girls in my class. It was like music to my ears because she was the exact opposite of my mother at this time. My mother was very cookie cutter-ish and appearance was everything to her. If she didnā€™t approve it, trust and believe it was coming off. My Auntie was on some, "Do what the the fuck you wanna do" type shit. Well maybe not totally but that's how I interpreted it. When I finally got the green light to pick out my own clothes I was like a smoking gun.

šŸŽµBet She Looks Like You-Nick HakimšŸŽµ

-Yolanda Q. Bradley

July 21, 2020 10:40 PM

THE CAREGIVER ā™„ļø

šŸŽµ Sometimes-H.E.RšŸŽµ

My role in life is to make a name for myself so I can care for my family and help those in need. I am breaking the mold of working for the white man. Instead, we work for ourselves and will demand the same respect for our business. Being able to do that and become successful enough to take care of my family will mean the world to me.

After I moved back home recently, I was in a dark place. I had been abused by my ex bf and I knew the only thing I could do is leave. It was hard, but my friends and family supported me through it. I learned self love and learned who I was all over again. I pushed myself to start working out every week and started focusing on what I want for myself. Iā€™m actually starting therapy soon to help. Once I learned to love myself again, it didnā€™t matter what anyone else thought.

I actually have learned and Iā€™m still learning ways to give back to my Grandmother and making sure sheā€™s happy. One thing that I decided to do is create a business named after her so we can give back to so many other amazing Grandparents. My website is up and Iā€™m starting to reach out to assisted living centers and non-profit organizations to see how they can work with me. We focus on their disabilities when weā€™re creating the baskets. If they are blind, we will focus on gifts they can smell and touch. If they are deaf, we focus on stuff they can smell, touch and see.

Three women that inspire me are my Grandmother, my secretary from middle school until I graduated, and my sister. My grandmother took me in and worked hard to give us a life in the US. Even though we barely saw her we knew she loved us. My secretary was my mother at school after my mother left. She pushed me to be better and never gave up on me. She had my back and reminded me how strong I am until the day I graduated. My sister has been through everything with me. She has helped me so much and taught me to speak up for myself. I donā€™t know what I would do without her. We have each otherā€™s backs no matter what.

šŸŽµLa Diaspora-Nitty ScottšŸŽµ

-Elizabeth Maria [ Liz ]

July 13th, 2020 11:34 AM

THE MYSTERY āšœļø

šŸŽµDemi Lovato - I Love Me šŸŽµ

The world depends on us... but we do not get that credit.

I am dedicated to showing love in every way possible in order to impact people with positive energy in such a negative space.

I can honestly say that only one woman has inspired me to say the least. This woman showed me myself. She has motivated my growth. She has always had open arms and an accepting heart. My soul sister, Shae.

Iā€™m very much a beast in the ring when it comes to beating myself up. I love that I am unapologetically me. I love that my heart is still fighting to be righteous when itā€™s so natural and easier to be of the world. I love that I havenā€™t let my life experiences make me completely give up. I go through hell and back and WANT to give up a lot . But I Donā€™t... and itā€™s astonishing to me.

July 18th, 2020 12:37 pm

-Erika Bowland [Hilda ]

šŸŽµ Can I- Alina BarazšŸŽµ

ā€œI have been watching her move with such grace; physically and spiritually

Iā€™ve watched her love with such empathy ; both emotionally and mentally.

Iā€™ve watched her be the woman I strive to be. Iā€™ve watched her portray a healthier me. I have watched her lay down the path so that I can BE. My soul sister šŸŒŸā€

-Erika Bowland [Hilda]

June 29th, 2020

THE MISUNDERSTOOD šŸƒ

šŸŽµUnfold - Alina Baraz šŸŽµ

Iā€™ve learned my patience and my respect is more important.

Iā€™m actively investing in my community center and homeless shelter due to my experience being without shelter and a community of women to help. My end goal is to have multiple centers across the world helping hands.

When I lost my first daughter I had to utilize my train of thought to remember this world isnā€™t right for every pure soul.

My role in this life is to live MY life. You only get one, and in the end of my journey I will share it with others so that they wonā€™t make the same mistakes I made.

-Iyon Elkins

July 22nd, 2020 5:02 PM

šŸŽµ Born Tired - Jhene Aiko šŸŽµ

THE ORACLE šŸ”®

šŸŽµGimme the wheel- Alina BarazšŸŽµ

There is no perfect woman so be true to yourself and love yourself in the moment and every moment of your life. OWN IT ALL !

I admire Michelle Obama for her poise, self respect and respect for others. Her ambition and drive. Her ability to be just as powerful and impactful as Barack Obama .

Iā€™ve been in a few less than worthy relationships where, in a sense, I lost myself. Each time it has allowed me time for growth and self- reflection. I think the biggest thing you can do is ask yourself what you like about yourself as well as what you donā€™t and how to modify that to create better outcomes in your life.

I am a healer , a nurturer. My light shines brighter by helping others find their strength and growth. Iā€™m a light-worker to be.

-Mary Zemenye

July 20th, 2020 6:21 PM

THE GODDESS šŸ’

šŸŽµ BS- Jhene Aiko šŸŽµ

Women are natural caretakers. I am a strong single mother. Ambitious. Smart. Artistic and a natural caretaker.

I used to allow people in my life to take advantage of me and it was messing with my mental health. I let go to focus on my mental and spirituality. Meditating and reading yada yada book club.

I am actively creating a shift in the world by continuing to be the best person I can be. Iā€™m starting by being a good mother and making sure I keep my nephew , who Iā€™m looking after , on track because the children are our future.

-Teressa Patterson

July 22, 2020, 1:21 AM

THE REVOLUTIONIST āš”ļø

šŸŽµ Girl on Fire-Alicia KeysšŸŽµ

THE CONNECTOR šŸ“·

šŸŽµA Rose in Harlem- Teyanna TayloršŸŽµ

The greatest lesson I have learned since becoming a woman is learning my true power as a woman, and not just physically but mentally and emotionally. We, as women, obtain the power of persuasion, and can literally create vibrations in a room with our light, turning every head and having the strength within to live without fear. To use our natural nurturing ways to give love in exchange.

I am actively leading women and working with them to achieve their dreams using my connections, knowledge, and wisdom. By my abilities to heal myself internally, I am able to help others learn to do the same.

Three women that inspire me are Tyra banks, C. J. Walker, and my mom. They have all impacted my life by never giving up when it got tough. Being entrepreneurs as well as women in a time in society where being a woman was deemed to not have the same power as we do now. They all impacted so many lives around them and made me a stronger woman seeking answers and solutions rather than being stuck on problems. I love my strength all around, my high intelligence, and the desire I have to always seek knowledge and wisdom. I love my beauty, and my big heart.

I had to use self love to leave a very abusive and toxic relationship. I had to love myself first and stop being afraid of what this person could possibly do to me. I faced death, and I won. I healed with the power of God and the universe. My amazing friends and family. Working on my dreams. Focusing my energy on working out, bettering my body and mind, as well as meditation.

-Ashton Farris

July 21st, 2020 12:19 AM

THE CONQUEROR āœŠšŸ¾

šŸŽµ Bruised But Not Broken -Joss Stone šŸŽµ

The greatest lesson Iā€™ve learned about being a woman is to love MYSELF. Having self love is easier said than done though. Of course youā€™d be like ā€œOh I do have self loveā€, but does one have the ability to truly grasp an over-standing of what that means?

Itā€™s more than thinking you love yourself because youā€™re you, it includes setting and abiding by standards that you set for your success. Itā€™s about listening to your subconscious and trusting itā€™ll guide you appropriately. It includes taking care of your health, both inside and out. Protecting your mental health! Last but not least , itā€™s about holding yourself accountable and moving forward by applying the knowledge that youā€™ve gained.

Being a woman has more than just one hat, however, finding your true purpose allows you to grow into the wom(b)man you were created to be!

I am actively making sure to be the best me I can be to create a shift in the world. That consists of holding myself accountable for all short comings and ignorant choices. It includes sharing my knowledge to ensure no one is left behind. Sharing my talent in modeling for those who seek similar aspirations. I love to give back and be apart of something bigger than myself! I also practice putting out good energy because I believe that energy is contagious and what you give youā€™ll receive!

My mother, Naomi Campbell and my oldest sister, are my three most inspiring women.

My mother has impacted my whole life tremendously. She is my best friend, my first role model, my everlasting education, she is the part of my spine that ensures alignment. She has instilled strength , dignity, integrity, responsibility and so much more into me. Not only does she remind me of how much of a strong woman I am, she holds me accountable and never allows me to feel sorry for myself but allows me to know how to correct any errors!

My sister is a strong single mother of three little women and a full time student working diligently to obtain her Masters degree. Her dedication to becoming financially independent is endless and admirable. The way she mothers her children is extraordinary and displaying that, It allows me to follow tactics that I apply within my journey of motherhood.

Lastly, Miss Naomi Campbell, one of the worlds most favored supermodels. As a little girl and currently, I watch her walk the runway over and over via YouTube and other social platforms. Taking trips and allowing my eyes to feed my mind to allow my body to manipulate her skills. Modeling has many areas, and Runway modeling is something I long to make my main career. With practice, diligence, and dedication one day I will manifest everything I am wanting within my modeling career in hopes to meet the great, which is what I refer to her as! There is so much Iā€™ve learned from Miss Campbell, the biggest thing though, is the ability to gracefully portray fierceness, and confidence that speaks volumes while strutting down the runway. Being able to allow what you are modeling to speak without having a mouth that words come out of. Obtaining so much self esteem that it makes viewers want to purchase the item to only look half as good as you did in it! I love being able to display self love and confidence through runway. And I will forever love the talent Naomi holds!

Self love has helped me move forward from a bad separation with my childrenā€™s father. I can say I did not have an over-standing of self love during the time of our departure. I did not know what it meant to love myself more than any other soul so therefore I have everything yet had nothing left for my kids or MYSELF.

Having self - love has carried me to my current position in life and is the basis that allows me to push through after each disappointment that occurs within that situation. I now know how to handle dealings with that individual which makes it easier for my boys and I to move on without his presence. What Iā€™ve learned from that separation is that nothing happens WITHOUT REASON. A person is in your life for either of three things: a reason , a season , or a lifetime. I have obtained a clear sight on the fact that maybe his purpose was to give me something I can love unconditionally and something that forces me to continue growingā€¦ my children. Maybe I was to endure those events because that was a part of life that molded me and continues molding me into the woman I am today and in the future. And for that I will always give appreciation and allow my self love to be a guide through motherhood.

July 29th, 2020 10:23 PM

Cheyenne Davonae

THE NEOPHILE šŸ“š

šŸŽµ Headlock- Imogen Heap šŸŽµ

The greatest lesson Iā€™ve learned as a woman is to care for one another. To create a shift in the world I try to do everything with intention and purpose. I take care of my mind and body so I am available to help others. I try to spend my time and money with intention and purpose. I try to educate myself daily. I'm on my 62nd book of 2020. I vote with my dollar and fork.

My mom and granny inspired me to volunteer and do for others. Alexis Tucci inspired me to be magical.

July 16th, 2020 5:00 PM

-Laci Bostick

THE CHANGE šŸ”‘

šŸŽµ Becoming - Diana Gordon šŸŽµ

Being a woman is a great privilege but it also has unique challenges that come along with it. Therefore, Iā€™ve learned that being a woman is completely underrated in so many aspects. Together or independently, women can achieve anything with determination and dedication. I use the gifts I was given as a woman and the gifts I acquired growing up to pass on to others so that they may be their best selves and love themselves entirely on their own. Whether itā€™s with dance, my words, the way I carry myself, or other attributes within who I am and what I bring to the table.

My mother has inspired and impacted my life the most. Briefly, she opened my eyes to see... I donā€™t need anyone but myself no matter what. She showed me what a versatile woman is and can be. My mother is strong, powerful, and very much independent. My mother is also compassionate, caring and delicate.

My grandmother aka La jefa, inspired me to chase my dreams and fight for what I believe in. She showed me the fire within her and me in different ways. Iā€™ve learned how to be wealthy within myself with her knowledge. She impacted me by making sure that I am okay first so that I can then make sure everybody else is right there with me on top !

My Papa is my last inspiration. He is a kind respectable gentleman . He showed me the complete opposite viewpoints of a woman and how it doesnā€™t matter what anyone thinks especially as long as you are happy. The stereotypes of ā€œ Bitch bad, Women good, and Lady betterā€, psshhhh please... every woman carries all of these aspects ! It is about the image you personally want to portray what others think of you. The flip side to this is.... EVERYBODY is different so someone else could have a different perspective of what you portray. You canā€™t please everybody, so why not be happy ?

Being the youngest and only girl with three older brothers has its ups and downs. I was a Tom-boy growing up but also too girly to be a true Tom-boy. I never ā€œfit inā€ growing up so I stayed to myself. I dealt with a lot of insecurities and the challenges that came with it. Specifically depression. However, with the help of the three figures I earlier said, they supported me through my phases. With their support I slowly came out of my shell and became more confident in myself despite what others thought. Ultimately learning everyone is different in every way, so be you. Everyone appreciates a genuine person.

šŸŽµI Believe I Can Fly-R.KellyšŸŽµ

-Isabella Valdivia

July 22nd, 2020 5:12 PM

THE INNOVATOR šŸ’”

šŸŽ¶ Superwoman - Alicia Keys šŸŽ¶

Self-Love is a never ending journey. As I evolve, the love for myself shifts. My experiences have taught me that love and your perception of what it means and feels like will always come from within. That the love you have for yourself is reflected in the love you choose to accept from people. You determine how you love and are loved in this world. You choose how you view it and how you share it .

I practice self-love by choosing to be myself. Sharing my gifts and talents to inspire others . Utilizing my creativity to ignite passion. Knowing when to slow down to be still when I feel overwhelmed. Surrendering to gods way, the perfect way. Practicing the art of forgiveness to show people and remind myself that it is the key to keeping your heart tender. Have mercy on your own soul. I use my words to penetrate the mental and open the door to healthy conscious conversation and growth. I use my hands to become a catalyst for the healing of another person through massage because touch is important and we sometimes forget or underestimate the value of it. I create enough space to allow someone else to be vulnerable. To cry on my shoulder if they need to while giving myself permission to do the same without shame. I set boundaries constantly to protect myself. To respect myself and command that same respect from others. I've discovered the truest love one will ever experience in this life is the love for oneself. Having compassion. Thatā€™s peace .

Thatā€™s Love and Love is.

Trashae L. Bradley

August 4th, 2020 in the Midnight hour

šŸŽµIā€™m Every Woman- Chaka Khan šŸŽµ

CREDITS

The Author: Trashae L. Bradley Instagram: theethereal_empress Facebook: Trashae Bradley

The Photographers

Myles Vann: https://www.mylesvann.com Instagram: Iammylesv

Kurtis Wheeler Instagram: K.artimages

Amere Taylor

The Goddesses:

Elizabeth Michel [Instagram: @Lizztennis96 ] [Facebook: Elizabeth Maria]

Yolanda Bradley [Facebook: Yolanda Bradley]

Mary Zemenye [Instagram: @QueenMaryCosmetics] [Facebook: Mary Zemenye ]

Isabella Valdivia [Instagram: @Valdivia.isabella]

Laci Bostick [Instagram: @lacieverywhere]

Erika Bowland [Facebook: EJ Bowland]

Ashton Renne Farris [Instagram: @ashtoopretty] [Facebook: Ashton Renne Farris]

Teressa Patterson [Facebook: Teressa Patterson] [Instagram: @Mzinvisblehigh]

Iyon Elkins [Facebook: Iyon Imā€™unique]

Saskia Ferarra [Instagram: @SaskiaFerrara]

Alaina Summerlin [Instagram: @icebaby8166]

Perrin McTye [Instagram: @_per.rin ]

Katiyanna Instagram: @Katyannaa]

Ariana [Instagram: @ _.annam]

beauty
Like

About the Creator

LOVE IS SERIES . šŸŒ¹

Open your heart . Feel something .

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    Ā© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.