Psyche logo

Your Life Isn't Over, You're Twenty Three

Aging and The Trees

By Bella NerinaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Your Life Isn't Over, You're Twenty Three
Photo by Simon Wilkes on Unsplash

I’m supposed to be writing.

Instead, I grip the sink and heave gasping breaths, head bent to avoid my own reflection. If I look up I’ll see myself standing there, doing nothing, being nothing. I heave in, heave out. And each heavy breath is another second lost.

What am I doing? Time is slipping away. I stumble from the bathroom, sit at my desk and stare out at the vines that hang over the window. I should go out and trim them back, so more sunlight can get in. Spill over my hands as they tap, impatiently, over the desktop. Restless, moving. I should be doing something. I get up to trim the vines back. The sun is so warm as it soaks into my skin; the smell of the garden, the buzz of a bee as it passes me by. I close my eyes, tilt my head back. And for a moment. I can just be.

I am not me. I am not twenty three. I am not an aging being. Not touched by time. I am a tree, growing roots deep into the ground. Touched by the wind, nudged by a bee. I am a flower, a vine. I am grass, the dirt. I am the sunlight.

I open my eyes. A butterfly dips toward the garden bed of strawberries, rests on the flowering plant. What is time, to the butterfly? To the strawberries. To any of it.

I wonder what is it, that makes me feel this way. Where has this pressure come from?

My ten year old self, I think. The little girl who wrote stories into the late hours of the night and dreamed of my older self. As old as twenty. That’s how far my mind would go. Twenty and smiling at a camera, my bestselling novel held up in one hand. How much fun I would have, older but young, beautiful, telling stories, travelling the world, all lean legs and long hair, the picture of success.

I think that was the problem. Success can come at any age, yes. I knew that. But I was stuck on this thought; that it was only when I was young that I could enjoy it. How much fun could I possibly have if I was successful at sixty, travelling the world not quite as beautiful, my legs not quite as lean, hair not quite so long?

At twenty three, heaving, bent over the sink, that thought still plagues me.

I’m running out of time. I need to be successful now. I need to accomplish something. To write a book, to travel the world, to be young.

Do it now before you’re old. Old. OLD.

That word like a curse in my head. Like something tainted, shameful, something to be unsaid.

I trim the vines back. The tree in my front yard bows its head to me. I wonder how old it is; what it has seen. Was it here, as strong and tall, before this house was built? Did it see the paving of the road, the sweat on the backs of the construction workers, the way they wiped their brows and called out to each other? How many children has it seen, riding their bikes down the street, laughing, shouting, pulling their hands from the handles? Has it seen those same children grow, age, walk along beside it years later, with a dog on a leash, a baby in a pram?

All those skies it has seen, all those stars, those moons. Flowers and birds and faces.

Age seems so beautiful when it belongs to the trees. I wish I could wear it just as beautifully.

Oh, my little ten year old self. Always causing problems.

But I am twenty three now, and I don’t have to think the same way. I can take all that pressure away, trim it back, let the light in.

I know so much more now, at twenty three. I know can see deep wisdom, beauty, in the trees. I couldn’t see that at ten years old. What is it that I can’t see now, that I will see at thirty? Forty? Sixty?

I hope I’ll see that each heaving breath isn’t another second lost. That I don’t need to panic that I’m losing time, then panic at how my panic is losing time.

I hope I’ll see success and enjoy it. I hope I’ll see that I can enjoy life without success.

There is far more light over my desk when I go back inside.

I sit down and write.

selfcare
1

About the Creator

Bella Nerina

Australian. Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gigi Gibson9 months ago

    Bella… a well-written and thought-provoking piece! I too have suffered from anxiety in my life. At sixty-six years old now, some wisdom has come. Sometimes I still get caught up in this world’s view of “success”, but with time and life experience I can say one thing about it… when we strive for money or fame, it is an illusion. Sure, we need some money to provide for our basic needs, and recognition for our work feels good, but sometimes we fail to do just exactly what you said… just be. At the end of each day, if I have enjoyed rocking on my patio swing with the warmth of the sun on my face (or even a sprinkling of rain on my face!} and a fresh breeze, while looking at my garden, and seeing a baby rabbit or chipmunk enjoying a treasure from the garden, and having hugged someone who I love, and smiled at a stranger, and offered up a prayer of gratitude, then I know, and I feel it in my soul, that I have achieved true success. I wish you a lifetime of happiness and peace. Keep writing Bella. You’re good at it.

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    After reading this small essay, the line "What is success..." from some song I knew but forgot stuck in my head. Thought it's by Linkin Park but after some digging realized that it's NF's "Hate Myself". Not a very cheerful piece, but the "lyrical" hip-hop style is quite interesting. About aging, I'd say aging is beautiful in general, not only when talking about trees. For example, if you are a human man, you can grow a stylish beard, or grow shiny-bald. That's beautiful, but without aging not achievable :-D Anyway, good luck with becoming successful!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.