Humans logo

Grounded Dreamer, Realistic Idealist.

The musings of a Taurus Sun, Cancer Rising, Gemini Moon.

By Bella NerinaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Grounded Dreamer, Realistic Idealist.
Photo by Baraa Jalahej on Unsplash

A child is born. At a certain time, on a certain day, in a certain place.

Why can’t that mean something?

Astrology is a funny thing. For some, it’s a lifeline; for lost, trouble souls, those who feel unknowable, filled with a deep, gaping void. Around them is only more unknown – empty eyes, empty faces, filled with that same void. So they look to the stars for answers. The position of the moon, the orbit of the planets.

For others, it’s a game. A fun round of Where’s Wally – find the traits that mean the most to you. Connect the dots. I’m a Taurus sun, and thus stubborn, thus uncompromising, thus sure and steady, thus the best person for a manager position. It’s a look in the mirror, a quick reflection. Check how you look, how you’re perceived, find something you haven’t noticed about yourself before. Light. Silly, even. Not something that lingers.

For a few, it is the very bane of their existence. The thought that some people would hold so much weight to what is read in the sky. How ridiculous. Stupid. Self-centred. How could something so distant, so ancient, so different, such as a planet, have anything to do with you?

Is it really that deep? Is it that fun game to play?

Is it really that strange?

Humans seek out connections. Look for meaning. Dig to uncover truths. It only makes sense, for us to pose a question of the ancient soul, and then turn our faces upwards, to look for answers in the ancient stars.

The position of the sun affects the personality of the Earth – summer, winter, spring – why not believe that astronomical bodies could affect us in a some way, too?

I mean, I was born on April 30th, and I’m totally a Taurus.

I’m a homebody, I’m a little lazy, I’m most at peace under a cozy blanket, a cat curled up beside me, a warm drink in hand.

Taurus’s are stubborn. Our symbol is the bull, after all. And I find myself to be a bit bull-headed, sometimes. I’m good at digging my feet in when I don’t want do to something. I know what I believe and I don’t believe, what I like and what I don’t like, in such a fixed way that it presents itself as stubbornness. I can be very sure of myself.

As an earth sign, I often find myself surrounded by other earth signs when it comes to friendships. I value the realness of Virgos and Capricorns. The honesty. What you see is what you get. The steady earth sign isn’t one for tricks and deception, though, being of the earth, they hold a surprising, captivating depth. No facades, but there is always more.

Taurus Sun, Gemini Moon.

I’m a grounded dreamer. A realistic idealist. I need routine but can go with the flow. I will work to finish a project, even if it takes me years, and I’ll start a new project so often that I’m always working on multiple things at once (probably why it takes me so long to finish anything). I love physical comforts and a stimulating conversation.

And, yes, I love food.

(I remember my mum telling me a story of myself as a baby; the way I would hum in delight, mmm and ahhh my way through each meal. Eyes closed, savouring each bite. Because little baby-me loved food so much. The planets aligned in such a way that I have exquisite taste-buds, I guess).

With a Cancer ascendant, my family is the most important thing in my life. As though they are extensions of myself, my own limbs. My Gemini moon likes to believe I’m a thinker, caught up in a whirlwind of ideas, caring most about having a stimulating conversation when it comes to interacting with people. But I’m a nurturer, really. Deeply in tune with the needs of others. Pulled towards their feelings as though caught in a tide, always seeking to catch them before they drown in a wave.

Maybe astrology is a silly little game. Maybe it is the product of lost souls desperate to find meaning. But I read my birth chart, and I find myself. I read the charts of the people around me, and find them, too.

My Taurus ascendant boyfriend, the green thumb. My Libra moon sister, the social butterfly. My Taurus sun cat, who adores treats more than any other cat I’ve owned.

What is the harm in trying to understand yourself? Reading on personality theory and resonating with it? Bringing aspects of your self into consciousness that help you develop your identity, your ego, your faults, your psyche, in the long run.

Since humans have existed, we have been looking at the stars.

Let’s keep looking.

family
3

About the Creator

Bella Nerina

Australian. Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    That was exceptionally well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.