Poets logo

Love Unrequited

Overgrown in the garden of desire.

By Bella NerinaPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
5
Love Unrequited
Photo by Dan Stark on Unsplash

Ask me this once.

Bottlebrushes wither over the grass,

Carrying weight there, on their bent stalks, my bent back.

Do you love me?

Evening calls to us and I wait, I wait, I wait

For you to ask.

Gasping out around us, the dusk

Holds out it hands, the tendrils of the setting sun

I wait, I wait, I wait

Just ask.

Kangaroo paw unfurling in your garden and

Lovelorn, the dawn will come and

My mouth watches your mouth.

New growth,

Old roots,

Please ask.

Quell the stir, the hunger, this invasive species

Reach in and grasp the seeds

Say it so I can say yes and then, please,

Tell me that you don't.

Unearthed, the shoots will dangle from your fist like

Veins, and the pulse of it will cease.

Watch me, watch you, lie back in the garden and speak of the

Ximenia fruits and their rarity, how we will grow them too.

You just need to ask and our garden will be at its

Zenith, just kill the weeds inside of me that grow to you.

nature poetryStream of Consciousnesslove poemsFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Bella Nerina

Australian. Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Lovely words Bella. Hopefully weeds give way to lovely blooms.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.