Poets logo

love anew

a poem

By Bella NerinaPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
5
love anew
Photo by Jérôme BEHUET on Unsplash

Love was once

a tree in wilt, a door kept shut.

Fist to the wall,

I'd look up and find dust.

No roof, it fell

when the hand hit.

Love was once,

my gut in a roll,

as if the sea when

I'd put my eye to the dock

and in the gaps I'd see it

eddy and foam.

Now love is a palm held open,

the sun on your neck,

rain down your arm,

you lift it to keep me dry.

It is a bud ripe to turn, each tree tall.

Your hand on my hip,

a foot in the door

to toe it wide.

Now love is you

over me like skin

on bone. You

grow to me like moss

on stone.

Now eye to eye,

we peer in the gaps,

and the sea lies still.

nature poetrylove poems
5

About the Creator

Bella Nerina

Australian. Writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    Fantastic poem!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    Wonderful & edgy piece! 👏😀

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Amazing. Absolutely gorgeously written. I was told there was bitterness here, and perhaps that’s true; but I'm left with hope and peace at the end. The sea still, even when peeked at warily, was just beautifully linked to the foaming from the beginning. This is a truly remarkable evocation of redemption. I do hope this places in the challenge. 👏👏👏❤️

  • Gigi Gibson10 months ago

    I love this piece Bella! It’s real and relatable. I recalled my life of abuse and also of healing, through your words. Well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.