Poets logo

The Grass is Greener in 2009

(When looking through a child's eyes)

By Bella NerinaPublished about a year ago 2 min read
3
The Grass is Greener in 2009
Photo by Jan Tinneberg on Unsplash

To 2009,

You’re holding me. Carefully, I hope. In a cradle. The young, knee-scraped, crooked-toothed version of me. Can I speak to her? To me? I have something to ask of her. To tell myself.

I don’t know how else to get to her. I’ve been trying, searching. And I realised you’ve got her, 2009. It came to me like a gasp, a startling awake. Suddenly, I could see her, trapped between January and December. Smiling, laughing, crying; bare feet sticking to a linoleum floor, knees stinging and stained grass-green, hands blistered from the sun-hot monkey bars. Smiling, laughing, crying. Looping, over and over. Stuck in the same memories. So, please, could you show her this letter?

To me, if you’re reading this. Where did it all go? That golden film lens that coated everything? That bright, sparking mind that ticked all day, almost drove us mad? Remember when we felt pulled to things, like our heart was outside our ribs, reaching out, grabbing, latching? Remember how it always felt like there was a door left open, sunlight spilling in?

How was it that the world was so much closer to us, back then, but everything felt so big, expansive? Reach out, touch the leaves, smell the detergent on the clothes hanging on the line, feel a raindrop land on your forehead and slide all the way down to your chin. Everything a breath away.

But the sky felt unreachable, every street stretched on forever, each cracked-open window could send you climbing out into an ocean, an abyss, out to space.

It was all poetry.

Where has that gone? Vines grow outside my window, the sun falls through the gaps, onto my desk, my hands, in speckles. Isn’t that poetic? But I feel like I’m looking at it all from underwater, from a separated room, elsewhere, with my face pressed against the glass. I miss when I could feel myself right up behind my eyes.

Do you know how I can be you again? Do you think you could leave 2009 and come meet me? I know it’s possible, because I feel you there, sometimes. I step out and the reel stutters and suddenly I’m seeing everything through your eyes. It all takes on a different shape, colour, a softer edge. You’re right there, behind my face. Slipped through a gap in December, fell into me. I can almost hear you breathing.

It's only for a second, but it really does change everything.

To 2009, can we make it happen? Please write me back, show me a sign. Give me, the back-then me, a bigger gap to fall through. I know we can make it work, and that we’ll find poetry once more.

But if we can’t make it work, could you just keep holding me gently?

Yours truly,

Me, in 2023.

sad poetry
3

About the Creator

Bella Nerina

Australian. Writer.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Test4 months ago

    This was so deep and powerful!

  • Gigi Gibson10 months ago

    This piece is raw and vulnerable Bella. Well written. You have a keen sense of your mind and body changing and growing. That is a blessing and a curse… but mostly a blessing I think. I’d rather know who I am than be unaware as some people are of themselves. You may feel a sense of loss of your younger self right now. You have learned that your innocence has gone, and that can be sad. Let yourself feel that and keep moving forward in your journey. There is a lot more good coming along. I love your use of descriptive words in this poem. I could feel and smell, and experience every action through your eyes. I think that’s the greatest success that a writer could ask for. Here’s one of my favourite parts of your work… “Reach out, touch the leaves, smell the detergent on the clothes hanging on the line, feel a raindrop land on your forehead and slide all the way down to your chin. Everything a breath away.” You have a natural talent for writing. This piece made me think, and smile. Thank you for that.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.