Poets logo

The Washed-Up Violinist

Or So I've Been Told

By Angel AdagioPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
4
The Washed-Up Violinist
Photo by Joel Wyncott on Unsplash

I remember when violin was my entire being.

Morning,

noon,

and night.

Years of my life consumed by this object that would somehow provide a new future for me.

Being burnt to a crisp, I decided I no longer wanted it to be my goal, but the fire I burn only out of love.

Afterwards, everyone fled,

the dollar signs were no longer bright in their eyes when they looked at me.

I was of no value to them anymore,

a constant reminder of the failure haunted me.

Until I picked up my pen and began writing every emotion I couldn't play.

The dollar signs flashed in their eyes again, but I walked away.

Sweet soft melodies can be played or spoken,

it's all in the articulation.

I am the washed up violinist. I own it.

But I will forever be that little girl with a big dream,

yearning to be heard by the world.

Odeinspirationalart
4

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Thank you for taking the time to read some of my work. It may not be perfect, but it's real. I hope you'll stay a while.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran14 days ago

    This was extremely powerful! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.