Fiction logo

Just a Minute

Strange Stories Series

By V DeviPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2024
24

"Allie, can you get the extra plates from the basement?" Mom yelled over the music while quickly pouring the food she had just spent five hours cooking into the new fancy gold serving plates and bowls.

"Okay, as long as you're okay with risking my little hands dropping a few along the way." I rested the Nintendo Switch on my bed and made my way to attend to her requested task.

"Please love, the guests will be here soon." She said, lowering her voice the closer I walked.

"Oh I have no problem doing it, I'm just warning you of the possible consequences." I grabbed a piece of cut up mango with an obvious smirk on my face and sped up towards the basement door before she could reach me to snatch it out of my hands.

She shook her head side to side but with a smile so wide that I knew I didn't need to hide on my way back. I heard loud banging at the front door, even louder than the music they had playing in the background as entertainment for their first dinner guests in our little cabin. I ran down the stairs instead of walking to save on time considering the guests are at the door already. I climbed up, skipping steps along the way and closed the door behind me, still firmly gripping onto the plates for their safety.

I went towards the dining area to place them onto the table but walked into a dark, silent room. What happened to the lights? And the music and where is everyone? There were too many questions going through my head. I placed the plates onto a nearby chair and looked for a light switch with my hands along the wall. I turned on the lights and started calling for my parents and siblings. I ran into different rooms one by one calling out all of their names with no response in return.

An intense silence had settled throughout the cabin, leaving my voice to be the only thing that echoed off the walls. This sudden change had me feeling scared and alone. That was the fastest I have ever gone up and down those stairs so where could they all have gone so fast? Did I sleep through the whole dinner and miss it? I was so confused but after checking all the rooms, exits and seeing the car still parked in the back, I knew I needed to get help. I ran to the phone and called the police.

Dispatcher: "911, what's your emergency?" A lady with a soft, clear voice picked up before the first ring could even finish.

Caller: "My family disappeared." I said, watching the sand fall through within the hourglass we use to time our turns on the shared Nintendo.

Dispatcher: "Okay, are you lost? What's your name and where are you located?"

Caller: "Allie. I don't know, we are at the summer cabin."

Dispatcher: "How old are you? Is there anyone else around?"

Caller: "Five. No, they're all gone. It's just me." I looked around once more to confirm.

Dispatcher: "Okay, can you describe your surroundings to me. Do you see any signs?"

Caller: "Just trees. Lots and lots of trees."

Dispatcher: "Okay, Allie, just stay on the line. We are going to find out where you are and send someone your way."

Caller: "Wait, I think I see something out there. Should I go check to see if it's them?"

Dispatcher: "No, Allie, stay on the line for a minute. We are going to find your location and send help."

Caller: "I see something, I see something!"

Dispatcher: "Allie, don't hang up. It's only been 30 seconds. We still need you to stay on the line a little longer so we can find you."

Caller: "There's a hole! There's a big hole in the ground! It messed up all the grass. It's bigger than a plane!" I screamed from the front porch so they could faintly hear me on the phone.

Dispatcher: "Hello, Allie. Are you still there? What hole? Hello?"

MysteryShort Storyfamily
24

About the Creator

V Devi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani7 days ago

    Oh! Congrats on top story!

  • Anna 9 days ago

    Congrats on your Top Story!

  • congratulations on your top story.

  • Oh dear, poor Allie! I was sure she was going to do my trick... trip & smash those precious plates.

  • JBaz13 days ago

    Way to leave us hanging. Well done on the quick suspense that built into a nightmare. Congratulations

  • Jarrett Smith13 days ago

    Very eerie. Great job!

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    Oh Allie! Nice job.

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Ohhh Twilight Zone vibes very scary 😧

  • Kendall Defoe 14 days ago

    Great opener to something much bigger... ;)

  • Omgggg what whole? That was so scary!

  • Andrea Corwin 15 days ago

    Whoa!! She was only five? 🫣😳 Nice job.

  • I like this! Good work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.