Psyche logo

This Love Story About a Bipolar Girl Made Me Cry Like a Baby

What was the last thing you watched that actually made you cry?

By Justiss GoodePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Photo Credit: Canva.com

All of us enjoy choosing movies and entertainment that moves us in some kind of way. That’s probably the biggest reason that people enjoy watching romantic comedies; they know they’re going to have a good laugh, plus feel something at least close to emotional.

Maybe, that’s the same reason some of us don’t watch that many romantic comedies. That’s how I felt, but I saw a show recently, that made me take a different view about what I do and don’t enjoy. The show was called: Modern Love. It came out in 2019 and Flixtor describes it as:

“…unique stories about the joys and tribulations of love, each inspired by true events.”

Personally, I’m a sucker for movies and television programs based on or inspired by true events. I’m pretty sure that’s what prompted me to give the show a chance, since I don’t particularly care for romantic comedies.

I actually like more traditional romance films, but sometimes I’ll break down and tolerate a rom-com, which is what I assumed Modern Love was, but it really isn’t.

I watched all 8 episodes in both Season 1 and Season 2, and some of them I liked better than others. I have to admit, none of them were what I expected, even the ones I wasn’t as interested in.

That was a pleasant surprise for me, especially being a writer. You writers know what I mean; the way we sit back and watch a movie, is like we have a red pencil, ready to critique every scene and piece of dialogue.

But as I said, I found the show to be anything but predictable. I thought it did a great job of casting and storytelling, and I applaud it for the sense of realism.

Mental Health Theme

Having watched 16 episodes of the show, I was able to notice that quite a few of them dealt with some sort of mental health issue, though not directly. In real life, the issue of mental health plays a big factor in relationships, including romantic relationships.

I think it’s good when writers and film makers work the theme into the shows we watch and the movies they produce.

But even more than just mentioning, or talking about the problems people face everyday, but showing these challenges in a real way. That is what the episode that prompted me to write this story did. It was:

Episode 3: Take Me as I Am Whoever I Am

Even the title speaks to you, doesn’t it? The story was really good. In fact, it was the closest thing I’ve seen in a long while, to really depict such a serious subject in a truly authentic light.

Anne Hathaway does a splendid portrayal of a young woman dealing with bipolar, while living in New York and trying to find love.

If ever there was a bittersweet story, this one was it, and I honestly couldn’t believe how much raw emotion they were able to stir up, in this short 34 minute program.

Although the focus of the story I told you about was on the girl’s struggle with finding romance, the saddest and most emotional part was when she finally confides about her condition to someone.

While that may have been the saddest part of the movie, the saddest part of the experience of watching it was knowing her bipolar behavior mirrored my own episodes; not as extreme, but still the same.

Ever since I self-diagnosed my symptoms several years ago, I’ve been able to cope with my feeling better. I’m able to appreciate my good days, and understand my bad ones. Seeing programs that address some of the very real and very scary things that people experience is really refreshing for me.

Art Mimicking Life

Since art has a way of mimicking life (or vice versa), it makes sense that we find creative ways to help people understand the daily reality of those who suffer from mental health issues.

Through entertainment, we get glimpses into the life of people who struggle, and yet manage to overcome adversity, including people with various mental and emotional challenges.

That’s another reason I liked watching the show Modern Love. It was definitely all inclusive. The lovers and people in their lives were diverse, and the casting was sensible.

I felt like I was watching everyday people dealing with their sh*t, and not actors. Maybe those of you who already know about the show think I’m on the late freight, and I probably am.

Since the show came out in 2019, many people have probably seen it and gave it a thumbs up or down. But for those of you who may not have heard of or seen this show, I recommend giving it a view, and see what you think.

You can even start with the episode I told you about. It won’t matter if you hop out of order — not a lot. The episodes don’t really connect that way.

Watch the scene I mentioned and see does it make you cry — I dare you 😄

humanity

About the Creator

Justiss Goode

Old crazy lady who loves to laugh and make others smile, but most of all, a prolific writer who lives to write! Nothing like a little bit of Justiss every day :-)

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Justiss GoodeWritten by Justiss Goode

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.