Psyche logo

The Wonderful World of Me

Part 4: The End is Just the Beginning

By Brittney MckinneyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hey, y'all, it seems this part of my mental health journey is over and while it was a crazy ride with ups and downs I know the journey is just getting started and I have many more facets to explore when it comes to me and my mental state. Summing everything up, we learned that my childhood has a lot to do with how I behave like an adult and that I have not only ADHD but also anxiety which lead me to want to learn more about mental health and get my degree. For this last part, I want to talk about where I am with all of this and where I want to go from here because I have a lot more to learn about myself and I know that I can’t stop now that I have started. My exploration into a world that I knew nothing about was one of my greatest decisions, and I can honestly say that I am glad that made that decision although sometimes I feel like it made the choice for me. As for now, I just want to sit with what I have learned about myself and use that as a way to make me a better person and really dive deep and work on what I need to, to feel half like a normal person.

Figuring out that there is something wrong with me and feeling like I can’t talk about it with family is one of the hardest things for me because I really want to tell them what is going on with me but I know they will just use it against me. I know that they are just doing what they know and that mental health is not something that was talking about a lot when they were growing up and it was not something that was talked about a lot when I was either. Mental health in the African American community is not always received well with people acting like it’s not a real thing or that it is something only people with money do. Neither of those things is true with more and more blacks falling victim to depression and stress given out current social state, the use of religion as a way to fix everything is cause fewer people to seek out help. I truly want to change that help more people of color to realize mental health is a real obtainable thing that if given the chance could help them to feel better about who they are and how their life may be going.

I know that I have a lot more to learn about myself and I and ready and willing to do the work to get there and find what I need to find, for now, I will take what I know and apply it to my everyday life and try to help others to get to the same level I am at. At the time that I am writing this article, I am saving up the money to go back to school to get my master's in psychology so that I can get my license and really start to help people the way that I know I can. Once that journey has started I will feel like I am finally doing what I was meant to be doing because I have always loved helping people and I truly believe that is what I am supposed to be doing with my life. Where this journey will take me next is a mystery to me but I can’t wait to continue on it; my life is just getting started and I know that there is a way out there for me to see once I get over my fear of the unknown. All I know is that when the right time comes I will find what I need to find and be able to share it with the people that need it just as bad as I do and that is all I care to know for now.

I really want to thank those of you who stuck it out with me and read this far into my story, I know that I probably rambled a lot and maybe even said the same thing more than once without even realizing it but I just wanted to talk about where I was at with mental health. I will be trying to explore more of psychology and mental health as a way to help me better understand it and I hope that you come back and read when I do, until next time, don’t hesitate to look into mental health.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Brittney Mckinney

I know that I am not the best writer on here or any writing platform but I do have a unique to me point of view and I would like to share it with whoever is willing to read it, I mostly like writing fiction but will share my opinion too.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.