Psyche logo

The Impact Of A Compliment

Compliments are little things that make a huge difference in a person's life.

By Haylee MarickPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Impact Of A Compliment
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

This is a personal story of a compliment that has changed my life and that I think about quite a bit. Let me set the stage. I live in the rural part of Colorado and recently graduated from high school. I have been working at a small diner for 3 years, but they cut my hours so, I needed supplemental income. So, I kept looking for a job, but with little experience, I kept getting rejected. Finally, I got a job at a hotel working with food. This job pays well and is really fun. I have been working there for around 3 months.

I'm working one day and my manager pulls me into her office. I was nervous. She said, " Hey I know you have a second job, but would you be willing to go full-time?" I hesitated and she looked slightly disappointed. She then said, " You can have a few days to think about it." Then, I was dismissed. Most people have felt torn between two things and I was feeling it. I spent the next few hours mulling over going full-time and quitting the diner. I finished my shift said I would like her to know and went home.

The next day I go in and get to work. My mind was still scrambled. I was flustered. I come into contact with a lot of guests at the hotel. Rough ones, nice ones, quiet ones, loud ones, and more. So, when there is a knock on the associate's only door I wasn't expecting to see an older gentleman asking me to help him for a second. I stopped what I was doing and went to help him. He needed help scooping oatmeal because he couldn't hold the scope. After that, I helped him get juice and even carry it to his room with him. The compliment came from a man who had been in the breakfast area for a little bit.

I went back to the kitchen and continued doing what I was doing. When another knock rang out. I walked to the doorway to see the man. I asked, " Hi there is there something I can help you with?" He smiled and simply said, " I saw what you did for that elderly man." I smiled and said something along the lines of how it was my job and that I enjoyed helping people. He smiled and said, " It's not a requirement, you probably changed his whole life by being nice and for that, this is for you." He stuck out his hand, it had a 5-dollar bill in it. I explained how he didn't have to. He smiled nodded his head and left.

There I was standing in the doorway awestruck with a 5-dollar bill. I stood there for a good 5 to 10 minutes tears welling in my eyes and threatening to fall. At that point, my mind was made up. I knew what I was going to do. After composing myself I walked into my manager's office and told her I was going to full time. She was elated. I quit my diner job where I was barely making anything and moved full-time to the hotel. All because a man I had never met was nice enough to point out something good I did. Recapping this story makes me feel so powerful. I feel as if that man was put there just to change my life. I am now the kitchen manager and working full-time. I got a pay raise and have finally been able to save up some money. My next step? Buy a house.

All of this is because a man took the time out of his day to bring to my attention that I probably just changed that man's life. It still makes me so happy to think about it. To that sweet man thank you for impacting my life in a way I didn't know I needed.

worksupporthumanityadvice
Like

About the Creator

Haylee Marick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.