Psyche logo

The Art of Pretending You are Fine.

I swear i'm okay

By Nat Published 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Art of Pretending You are Fine.
Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

If you look at me you will probably think that I am okay. I look pretty put together. In reality, I am far from okay. Sure I get up and go to work every day but I do not want to be there. I have a good life. I have a good family and I love my friends. I like my job and enjoy it but I would rather be somewhere else. Where that somewhere else is I do not know. I was always good at running away.

I know that it's not going to be any different, nothing has changed. Nothing will change, it will always be this way. For a long time, I felt like I was coming up short all of the time. I sometimes still think that I am coming up short. I always hated taking so I always gave. I gave way more than I could possibly take. I wake up and it breaks my heart. I wonder where is that girl that I was last year, two years ago? What would she think of me now? Would she think I made the right choice? Am I becoming the one person I hoped I wouldn't?

I recently discovered that I am tired of being a person, not just tired of the person who I was but any person at all. I'm not going to do anything about it but it's the truth. I began to forget myself in the middle of sentences. I get told that if you want to be happier you have to try but I did try I am trying I have tried every day for the past 1o years. I am just so tired. I am not doing well but I am not doing well in a typical way. I can get dressed and go to work and act like nothing is going on but once I get home, I don't want to leave. I know that me being not okay has been worse but it's not the best. At some point, I realized that no one deserves this but I did not include myself in the anyone part.

If you keep storing that anger and grief. Eventually, it spills over or you will drown in it. I don't really talk about what happened. I look at old photos and believe it is still happening. it affects you differently once you realize that you may not be normal ever again. I just repeat that tomorrow will be a better day over and over again till I might actually believe it. Maybe someday I will believe it.

I knew I was getting depressed again when I stopped doing the things I once loved. I noticed that I have been doing that recently. I stopped going to therapy because I knew my therapist was right and I wanted to keep being wrong. I wanted to keep my bad habits like charm bracelets. I did not want to be brave. I think I like my brain best in a bar fight with my heart. I think I like myself a little broken. I'm okay if that makes me less loved. I like writing better anyway. It healed me more than therapy. So I get up and feel a little sad and get to get on with my day while feeling a little awful. I haven't fully given up yet. I know that things might get better. I am most likely going to be okay in the long run. I have faith that everything is going to turn out okay in the end. I am very good at pretending though so I guess that counts for something.

depression
Like

About the Creator

Nat

She/her/hers

writing about adoption, mental health, and chronic Illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.